We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful food with stunning sea views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tides

The Tides
Holetown | Balmore House, Holetown BB24011, Barbados
+1 246-432-8356
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 37 Restaurants in Holetown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
sheffield england
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful food with stunning sea views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We visited the restaurant with our 4 year old son.
Location- lovely seaside restaurant in holetown. Outside dining is always magical!
Food-I had a spicey shrimp bisque whichh was creamy and bursting with flavour. Main was prawn, scallop and mussels. Decadent dessert of chocolate covered peanut butter mousse-fantastic.
Good children's menu.
Cost-Quite expensive for us but I have to say worth every penny (80 barbados $ for a main).
Service- excellent. Staff attentive and helpful. My son was desperate for some jelly worm sweets so they got him a few sweets before we left-my son was delighted.
A fantastic restaurant, definately worth a visit especially if there is a special occasion to celebrate.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,807 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,273
    344
    132
    43
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Must visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

My girlfriend and I visited this restaurant yesterday night for our 4 year anniversary. Boy was it worth it! Got a great table with a beautiful ocean view. Our waiter was the most polite we have ever met! Away from the venue/ambience and attentive staff, the food and drinks were second to none. Had the prawn and crab cakes to start and then the "catch of the day" for our main (chargrilled and blackened). Both were delicious. Oh and the mohito and roxanne cocktails weren't too bad either. All in all, a great restaurant (dinner came around £100). Pricey but worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great meal, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Really lovely meal in a great setting. Loved the setting, really great. Food was delicious, I had the open sea food ravioli to start with and blackened baracua to follow. Both delicious..... Wish I'd had longer to look at the jewellry and the pictures on the way out. I'll just have to go back. No great hardship

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

This is a class restaurant the food is excellent service very good atmosphere super what more can I say. If you are in Barbados visit this restaurant

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Most enjoyable among the places we dined”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We also dined at Champers, Bajen Blue (Sandy Lane), and The Fish Pot and this was our favorite. The service was quite attentive, and the menu imaginative. I had the pork tenderloin and others tried the scallops and barracuda and they were all great; and very attractively plated. We had starters of fish cakes and salads and the portions were quite generous and we could have shared two among the four of us. The wine list was international and reasonably priced. The ambiance was good and the noise level acceptable. It was somewhat hot that evening and we wished for some more air from the ceiling fans.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tides also viewed

Saint James Parish, Barbados
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
 
Holetown, Saint James Parish
Prospect, Saint James Parish
 

Been to The Tides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tides, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.