We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional setting and service and great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tides

The Tides
Holetown | Balmore House, Holetown BB24011, Barbados
+1 246-432-8356
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 37 Restaurants in Holetown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
atlanta
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Exceptional setting and service and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

The Tides is an intimate setting right on the water. Service was outstanding. 6 of us all agree on this 5 star rating. While the setting at the Cliff is grander, the intimacy of The Tide is better. Lobster risotto, blackened dolphin, Carribean Lobster were all wonderful

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,811 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,275
    346
    132
    43
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An explosion of flavors in your mouth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

We were fortunate to have dined at The Tides Restaurant last night and discovered a superb dining experience. The dishes looked as beautiful as they tasted. The restaurant was artsy and elegant at the same time. The staff was very friendly and non obtrusive. Corey was our waiter and provided excellent service. We were very happy to meet the chef at the end of our meal and found him to be very friendly and interested in our dining experience.
We started with leek and potato soup, which was amazing! We also had the Mahi Mahi and the shrimp and crab cake starters. They were both superb. For our main courses, we savored the Baracuta, the Blackened Tuna, the Pork dish, and theThai Shrimp. The dishes were fantastic and felt like an explosion of flavors in our mouths. Finally, for dessert, we enjoyed the Apple Tart and the Toffee Pudding. They were unlike anything we had tasted.
We highly recommend that you visit this wonderful restaurant if you are in Barbados! It is a can't miss!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy B, Owner at The Tides, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Tides again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Upscale dining on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

The food and service were excellent. I loved the open-air dining...it felt like we were having dinner on a friend's deck. Gorgeous.

Visited December 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wonderfully outstanding, a better value and just as good as Cliff House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Wonderful, outstanding restaurant, a must if you go to Barbados. The owner is delightful and works just as hard as the busboys. Menu is very creative and make sure you save room for dessert.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
409 reviews 409 reviews
298 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“Best meal so far”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Went last night had g8 meal, smoked mahia mahia 2 start and filet beef 4 main both cooked n presented well. Rest of table enjoyed food 2 aswell.
Menu choice very good, impressed with portion size 4 these usual fine dining places.
Staff very friendly n helpful and very good in knowing specials as there were 6 I think in total.
Atmosphere good lively busy restaurant , tables good distance apart, service very fast. lovely decorations n great location on the seafront
The amuse bouche of lime sorbet n popping candy didn't really undastand 2 start with mayb would of been better after main meal. 2 beef filets also requested medium were abit rare in middle but other than that best meal so far and miles better than lonestar which is 1/3 more expensive.
Only thing which i thought was very bizarre was the minimum food spend of b$100 as that means u have 2 have either a starter or dessert with main. I think that takes the pi** slightly .
Overlall 8/10

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tides also viewed

Saint James Parish, Barbados
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
 
Holetown, Saint James Parish
Prospect, Saint James Parish
 

Been to The Tides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tides, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.