We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - one of the best meals we had in Barbados this Xmas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lemongrass

Lemongrass
Limegrove, Holetown, Barbados
246-271-8265
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 37 Restaurants in Holetown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Thai
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Excellent - one of the best meals we had in Barbados this Xmas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I'm glad we listened to Ryan and Rebecca (of R&R cruises) who directed us that we must try this place, and ask for Sam.

Lemongrass is in the swish Lime Grove complex which has gradually seen more shops and restaurants open in the last year or so.

The place itself is a small restaurant unit with the seating located in a reserved mall seating area just outside. This lends a contemporary and airy feel.

Prices are reasonable - not cheap, not expensive by Barbados standards. We had some excellent food served with a lovely Chilled Sake. The food itself is fresh and very pleasing, but I wouldn't call it authentically Thai, being slightly-toned down (presumably for the tourist market). I will probably ask for it to be spicier next time.

The service was lovely (thank you Sam and the rest of the staff) and it was a lovely experience. This place deserves full marks.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    67
    22
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bridgetown, Barbados
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Thai food in Barbados (at last)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Lemongrass provides very good Thai food at reasonable (for Barbados) prices in a pleasant setting of the Limegrove complex. Very handy for a pre-cinema or pose cinema dinner. They also have an arrangement with the ice cream and coffee parlour next door.

Service is good. This is not a fast food restaurant, though if you are in a hurry (pre-cinema) and you tell them they will recommend meals they can do more quickly than others. I have now visited Lemongrass a dozen times, mostly with my family, sometimes for a business lunch and a couple times on my own when I was hungering for some spice.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Uncomplicated”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

A gem of the Caribbean. The food here is of a very high quality cooked freshly as you order it. One of the best thai meals I have ever had. They also do take away. It is not on the coast and is very straight forward more like a modern cafe

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food - never disappoints!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Great food at a reasonable price with friendly staff. Lemongrass is a great place to dine at or just to grab some take-out.
My current favourites on the menu are Tuna Tataki and Yaki Ramen...but everything I have had is delicious. Highly recommend! Spread the word you wont be disappointed!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We decided to try Lemongrass on the advice of a friend at the Colony Club.
I'm glad we listened to you Corey....The food was great and although it is set in a shopping plaza, albeit a very expensive one , we never got that feeling. The owner was sat at an adjacent table and seemed to know a lot of the patrons by their name....not bad for being open less than a year.
The food was excellent, well cooked, tasty and well presented.
They even accommodated our daughter which made our meals even more enjoyable.
We will definitely be visiting Lemongrass on our next trip to Barbados.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lemongrass also viewed

Holetown, Saint James Parish
Holetown, Saint James Parish
 
Holetown, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Lemongrass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lemongrass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.