We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect! A room with a view on the beach...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Sunset Beach Apartment Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tropical Sunset Beach Apartment Hotel to your Saves list
Tropical Sunset Beach Apartment Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tropical Sunset Complex, Holetown BB24016, Barbados (Formerly Sunswept Beach Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Perfect! A room with a view on the beach...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This hotel is closing temporarily at the end of April and is re opening under the new name Tropical Sunset early July 2013. We booked a last minute week here early April. Our room was on the first floor and was clean with everything we needed - furniture on the balcony to sit sip a drink and watch the stunning sunsets each night, a huge comfy bed, and a shower over bath with the best water pressure I have experienced on the island, and I have now been four times staying at a different hotel on each occasion. This hotel is a budget option which allows freedom to eat where you choose. We ate at Zaccios several times which fronts on to the beautiful beach and has a bar at the Sunswept pool area also. All staff without exception at the hotel, in Zaccios and in the watersports cabin here are superb and are so kind and helpful ensuring you have just the holiday you want. The location of this hotel is perhaps its very best selling point...right on a perfect stretch of golden powder sand west coast beach with the crystal Caribbean a few steps away. It is paradise and we look forward to returning after the upgrading programme, in fact, we really can't wait! Thankyou Sunswept!

Room Tip: First floor or above for the best views and privacy on balcony, ground floor for those who like a po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    68
    17
    6
    1
See reviews for
28
96
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Lovely hotel in a fantastic location,all staff very friendly & helpful. Huge beds with lumpy pillows, but hey who cares about pillows ! !
Rooms are clean and all amenities supplied in kitchen area
Fabulous views from balcony to watch stunning sunsets
Excellent beach bars really close by Zaccios & Surfside. Good cold beer,rum punch & football at Surfside good food also, such a shame about the miserable bar staff there,saying please,thank-you & smiling is not in their remit, just ignore them & dont let them spoil this great place, go and mingle with the really nice locals, ex pats & holidaymakers that go there.
On the beach look out for Mark the Shark of Seaspray Watersports (you cant miss him he's the biggest & nicest guy on the beach) his boat-trips are superb along with all his other watersport activities.
Sunswept is superb this is the place to stay if you enjoy going out & meeting people & not being stuck in an "all inc"
Will definitely return

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Sunswept is currently undergoing a refurbishment and will soon become 'Tropical Sunset'.
We have already booked for our third winter vacation and can hardly wait to get there.
The location right on the beach is amazing and ocean swimming is fantastic. Lots of beach
chairs and no need to fight for a spot. All the spacious rooms face the ocean only a few feet away
with great views from all the balconies. We love to have our breakfast on the balcony overlooking the ocean and often have lunch right next door at Zacchios, very casual and walk in right off the beach. Their food, drinks and service and location are always top notch.
No need for a car since grocery shopping is right across the street (they will even carry your groceries right to your hotel room for you and refuse a tip). Lots of shopping every where both local and designer goods again an easy, short walk.
1st and 2nd streets are a 5 minute walk away with load of fantastic restaurants serving every kind of dish imaginable. The chefs in Barbados are the 'best'. Do not miss the 'Tapas Bar' restaurant in the Chattel Village where we spent New Years Eve last year.
Tropical Sunset will be our 'home away from home' for many years to come.

Room Tip: The whole place is currently being refurbished and will now be called 'Tropical Sunset'. Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is going to be a short review. I went with my husband, 4 year old daughter, and 2 year old son. We were visiting family also as well as making it a holiday. The hotel is excellent value for money, in an excellent location (right on the beach and near the shops and bars and restaurants) and the kids loved stepping out of the hotel patio room door straight to the swimming pool. The restaurant next to the hotel is quite pricey but the good is nice. Saw a couple of cockroaches but that didn't even put me off because this hotel was such good value for money and was very clean. If you're looking for a budget hotel in a glorious location, don't hesitate to book it. If you're looking for a luxury hotel, this is not for you. The kids will love it! Get yourself a ground floor room for them! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have been holidaying in Barbados now for a number of years and have stayed in various hotels on different parts of the island. A couple of years ago we found Sunswept. We have stayed there now a couple of times and we have just booked to stay next January. We enjoy eating out every evening so room only suits us. Yes the bathrooms and pool area require updating but the cost reflects this and we don't have any reasons to complain. When we were there in Janary this year we met the owners who are taking the hotel over again and there are going to make some updates to the Hotel thi year. Once you have found Sunswept it is hard to stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: You can't pick a bad room as they all have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Sunswept Beach for two weeks in November 2012.

The hotel is in a great location right on Holetown beach. Every room is sea facing and we asked for a high floor to take advantage of the amazing view.

It has been said several times in previous reviews that the rooms are tired, and yes they are but they are not horrendous and they are very clean. The furniture is basic and yes it could do with a lick of paint. And if you expect to be able to cook a 3 course banquet in the kitchen then you will be disappointed.

But let’s face it, who comes to Barbados to sit in a hotel room and cook?! We found the kitchen facilities to be spot on for what we needed. Importantly a big fridge (for the bottles of Banks!) and it was fine for making breakfast/snacks. I have to say I was fairly surprised at the cost of food in the local supermarkets, so it might be worth sticking a jar of coffee/teabags in the case as these were twice as much as in the UK and not half as nice!

As said, the hotel is right on the beachfront. There are beds provided at the front. Nearby, there are plenty of beach front bars/restaurants and others nearby on 1st and 2nd street which are 5 minutes walk away. There is a supermarket opposite the hotel and the petrol station also sells basic supplies.

We had a great time at Sunswept, and if you want to just go to enjoy Barbados and all it has to offer then it is great. If swanky accommodation is more important, then this probably isn’t for you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Not the only beach hotel on the West coast but probably the only 2 star one with such a location.

Staff were good most of the time but the last day was a little disappointing.
The following is fairly insignificant detail but mentioned to balance previous excellent reports a little.
Having a Monday evening departure (no one else was checking out) we asked could we please be allowed a later check out but were told that it was not possible, at the time we were understanding.
We packed our cases and had them outside our room before the mid day check out. At almost 12:00 hours, as we were doing a last check round the room, the chamber maid came in claiming it was after 12:00, insisting our watches (phone time) must be wrong, grudgingly she said she would give us 5 more minutes, which we did not need. We left but her face showed she was still not happy, neither were we when we learnt that no arrivals were expected till the late afternoon flights.

The bathroom was tired with a drain/mould smell. I understand that the hotel will close this summer for refurbishment so expect this will be sorted.

Air conditioning worked on one setting only, which was OK but meant constantly turning on and off, rather than leaving on a low setting when required

Before we stayed we laughed at the report of lumpy pillows, not now, never experienced such a pillow as one of those

These were minor elements of a good stay and are mentioned to explain why we only give a four and not a five rating
.
We would definitely return to this hotel especially for its location, location, location.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are larger than upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropical Sunset Beach Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Sunset Beach Apartment Hotel

Address: Tropical Sunset Complex, Holetown BB24016, Barbados (Formerly Sunswept Beach Hotel)
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Holetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropical Sunset Beach Apartment Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our philosophy is to provide the comfort of a home while you enjoy the luxury of a holiday...Tropical Sunset (formerly known as Sunswept Beach Hotel) is situated in Holetown, the west coast's primary hub for visitors and locals alike. Set on the shoreline of the Caribbean Sea, guests can enjoy the breathtaking view from the comfort of their private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tropical Sunset Beach Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sunswept Beach
Sunswept Beach Holetown
Tropical Sunset Beach Apartment Hotel Barbados/Holetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Sunset Beach Apartment Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.