We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievably disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Sunset Beach Apartment Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Tropical Sunset Beach Apartment Hotel to your Saves list
Tropical Sunset Beach Apartment Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tropical Sunset Complex, Holetown BB24016, Barbados (Formerly Sunswept Beach Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Miami Beach, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Unbelievably disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

So many things went wrong that I checked out and went to another hotel. This place is good for students and budget budget budget travelers. The staff are nice but are not empowered and importantly are not there overnight.You will be dependent on a security guard

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    72
    18
    6
    1
See reviews for
29
115
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brackley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Mum and I have just got home after a fabulous week here!! I chose here because of the Trip advisor reviews and they didn't disappoint!! We had a lovely first floor room with stunning sunsets every night!! Yes as has been mentioned before the hotel could do with a lick of paint but rooms are clean and if you want you can have sheets and towels changed every day. The kitchen was adequate for us as we only had breakfast in and made up rolls for lunch. The staff are very friendly and so are all the other guests. It's like one big family. Yes the pool area is small and my only one complaint would be that if you wanted to sit by the pool rather than on the beach their we're no umbrella's for the sunbeds. We however sat on the beach and umbrella's are available for there at no cost. Yes you do get the normal beach workers touting for business by selling their wares or offering snorkelling and turtle trips but they are not pushy. Marc was a character and took us to Oistins on the Friday which is a must !! It's the place to go on a Friday night in Barbados, He also cooked some of us a BBQ on the Beach one night:-)
Although the Restaurant that is right next door to the hotel and owned by the same people was closed for September for renovation we still had no trouble in finding good places to Eat. Just Grilling across the road was excellent and cheap . Surf side which is also next door to the Hotel on the Beach again has good food and strong drinks!! It has a great atmosphere and a steel Band plays on a Sunday night. Along the beach in the other direction are two more upmarket restaurants. Tydes which looks beautiful but expensive then next to it is The Beach House which is just as beautiful and half the price!! I would say a must.
We didn't travel around much as we just wanted a week to chil and recharge our batteries!! This place certainly did it for us!!! Who needs all inclusive when you have everything you need there. A Super Market straight across the road and a little
Shopping mall. Just 5mins walk away is also Line Grove which is an upmarket mall and has a lovely courtyard cafe and bar.
Apparently the Hotel is closing next April for refurbishment!! Rumour has it it is becoming all inclusive!!! I and so many of the regular customers we met are really hoping it won't as it is fine just the way it is. So please owners do it up of course but leave it as it is!!!
We are already talking about returning but may have to be before April before it changes. Whatever happens will deffinitly be going back to HoleTown. :-)

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Not a lot to add to the other recent reviews - we have just had a fantastic holiday at the Sunswept. The location is superb & although the hotel & rooms aren't fancy they are clean & the facilities more than adequate for your needs - (who wants to be doing lots of cooking on holiday) - the kitchenette is enough to make a bit of breakfast & the huge fridge allows you to stock up with the essentials (ie banks & rum). We hired a car which meant we could visit a lot of the other beaches - Dover Beach on the south coast was our favourite & Bathsheba & Cranes Beach on the east coast are stunning. Holetown beach is OK but there are lots of beaches on the west coast to discover all of which are free to use (if you can get to them) but you have to pay for sunbeds & parasols elsewhere. No beaches in Barbados are private but the hotel developments make it hard to get to some of them - note sandy lane beach can be reached by an adventurous climb over a few rocks - they're not going to keep us out!!! but ultimately same sea, same sand & same fish and turtles for anyone to see anywhere off the coast. The Golden Anchor is a great bar in Folkstone (10 mins walk) with a quiz night, live reggae and karaoke (but don't let that put you off!!), the drag show in Ragamuffins on a sun night is fun & fish fry in Oistins on a Friday is a tourist must do but we found it too busy & the food is better on the other nights of the week. A lot of the restaurants in & around Holetown & the west coast are fairly middle to top end but the rum shacks serve delicious & very good value food around 20B$ for something like flying fish, fries, coleslaw & salad. In the supermarket opposite the hotel prices are pretty similar to the UK if not dearer & weirdly stock waitrose branded stuff! Surfside burgers are an absolute must have & both Zaccios & Surfside have good happy hours to sit & watch the sun go down with cocktails at less than £3. WiFi works well in reception & in a couple of the closest ground floor rooms & the little get together on a Thursday is a nice way to meet fellow guests. Go before they change it & hopefully it won't become an all inclusive; the staff were all friendly & helpful as were the beach guys - obviously always touting for business but are willing to negotiate - especially in low season (now) and be aware a lot of restaurants & shops shut in September as it is very quiet.

Room Tip: Ground floor for direct access to pool & beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Just returned from two weeks at The Sunswept Beach Hotel in Holetown Barbados and you couldn't ask for a better spot.Right on the small Holetown Beach sandwiched between two bar/restaurants Zacchio's(owned by the hotel and bit pricey) and Surfside(highly recommended-good food strong drinks great atmosphere.)The hotel is a basic self catering establishment but more than adequate for your needs.Clean and roomy.We requested ground floor rooms(2) one with twin beds one with double and they met all our requirements.We stepped out of our room onto well furnished terrace.Two steps and we were in the small and comparitively shallow pool.Great for kiddies.Another couple of steps lead to steps down to the beach.Bliss.Opposite hotel is supermarket and shopping mall.Bus stops outside but if you hire car as we did there is plenty of parking..Garage and KFC also just across road while bank and post office next door.Hotel is supposed to be undergoing refurbishment next year but we'll definaltely be returning as will all the repeat visitors we met while we were there(some have been coming back for nine years!)Boys at beach sports shop deserve a special mention.Never pushy but great fun so hi Trini Mark and Henderson-looking forward to seeing you all next year.

Room Tip: All rooms have big balcony or terrace but no lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We chose this after careful consideration of all reviews. It is a terrific place in a great location with wonderful staff. We had a fabulous time and this would be our first choice if, and when, we return to the island. The rooms all face the sea and have great views (we were on the second floor). There is no catering but the kitchenette is just right for breakfast and the occasional easy meal. The a/c works which is not always true of some hotels in the Caribbean. The rooms are clean, the beds comfortable and the bathroom works. The staff are all courteous, friendly and helpful without obviously expecting tips. Check-in was efficient and requests met promptly. We thought there was no wi-fi and had two wonderful, much improved weeks without it; but it does exist in a very small radius in reception which we found out on the last day when we needed to check in for our flights. This to my mind is a perfect compromise and makes for a very relaxing holiday. So why do some people complain? The approach to the hotel is not very pretty but I don't want to pay for that. It is in a nice area though with all the facilities you could possibly want; it is probably the best situated hotel in Holetown. It is an old hotel which has seen better days but this does not mean run down and neglected in the way some suggest. The pool area isn't the best, but why anyone would want to use the pool with a fab beach two yards away is anyone's guess? We never used it once. And it simply isn't possible to criticize the staff in any way whatsoever...

Once slight disappointment was the relatively small swimming area protected from the motor vehicles. That disappeared however when we found it to be the richest snorkelling area around. I won't go into details as it might put some bathers off!

All in all, the four of us have been unable to come up with any serious complaints. A few wishes perhaps, but these are very minor and would merely make it more expensive. We fully intend to return here but not if, as one rumour went, it turned all-inclusive. We deliberately chose non-inclusive for this holiday and are glad of it; the area is blessed with alternative eating establishments like The Roti Den (fab), Just Grillin' (basic but excellent), The Beach House (posh and fine but not too pricey). The roadside food past Lime Grove is also worth checking out.

We're working on a plan to return already...

Room Tip: Higher floors for better views, less noise. Rooms at the far end from reception so you can leave the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed here for a fortnight in July 2012 - and could happily have stayed for another few months! We had a room on the second floor with incredible views out over the Caribbean - even better than the views at the exclusive Sandy Lane resort less than a mile down the coast. I must've spent at least an hour each day just gazing out onto the water.
The rooms are very well equipped with a slightly-dated but perfectly functioning kitchenette, a ceiling fan in the main bedroom area, an excellent, modern air-con unit and a really good powerful shower in the bathroom. We had a couple of issues with the loo not flushing properly, but any problems were fixed immediately by the helpful staff. The hotel also arranges a weekly cocktail party with entertainment and nibbles for all guests, which was a nice touch.
An in-room safe with electronic combination lock is available for a small fee, and fresh beach towels are available daily for a $20 returnable deposit. There is also free wifi available but only in reception, so take your iPhone or iPad with you.
Bath towels and bedding is changed every 48hrs by the fantastic cleaning staff - we had Avril looking after us and she was just brilliant. The hotel staff were all incredibly friendly and helpful, especially Shakeera, Lisa and Justin.
My only quibble is that the pillows were not very comfortable, but it didn't stop me enjoying a good night's sleep - in fact, the only thing that ever kept me awake was the sound of the waves lapping against the shore.
The best thing about this hotel is quite simply its location - right in the heart of Holetown with a vast array of bars and restaurants nearby. The cost of living here is high, but there is still good value to be found at some of the local bars such as One Love on First Street and the Golden Anchor at Folkestone. Our favourite restaurant was the Beach House, just two minutes walk away, where a fantastic three-course meal for two, plus a bottle of wine, cost around $200BDS (about £35 per person). We also drove down the coast for lunch at the swanky CinCin, which came in at a similar price including drinks.
Happy hour in Zaccio's next door to the hotel became a bit of a habit, with bottles of Banks at reduced prices from 4-6pm. We also enjoyed an unexpectedly brilliant meal at the local beach bar, Surfside - someone in that kitchen definitely knows how to cook!
There is a supermarket across the road from Sunswept Beach, but even here prices were occasionally eye-watering. Despite this, we tended to buy our breakfast and lunch there (they do pre-packed salads for around £4, whilst six bottles of Banks cost around £5).
Five minutes walk away is the LimeGrove Shopping Centre with stacks of designer shops, and a lovely bar in the middle where you can get decent cocktails.
But the real entertainment is on the beach - look out for big Mark Jackman when you get there, he has a boat called Karamar moored just off the beach and he runs terrific snorkelling trips to a nearby shipwreck and to swim with the turtles, which was a brilliant experience - I also hired a jetski on a couple of occasions, again right off the beach. The jetski costs around £30/hr. Mark is a real character and he really looked after us brilliantly during our two weeks on Barbados - he is one of the funniest guys on the island. A lovely guy called Trinny also runs a great little beach shop next to the hotel, selling snorkels, ice creams, etc.
There is no rush for sunbeds in the morning, so take your time enjoying breakfast on your balcony and take in those stunning sea views.
We understand that the hotel is closing down in April 2013 for a refurb, only to reopen next summer as an all-inclusive (or semi-inclusive) resort, which is a bit of a shame, because the current set-up certainly encourages visitors to get out and about, to meet the locals and to sample the hospitality of Holetown.
We hired a car via Drive-a-Matic (based at the airport) which came in useful on a couple of days when we had a bit of rain, as it allowed us to head out further afield and explore more of the island.
This was the perfect beach holiday for a good price in an amazing location, but it is the people we met on Barbados who really made this trip special for us. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose an upper floor for the best views, but the ground floor rooms are slightly bigger with easy a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We checked in at the hotel, and everything seemed fine, and it was. The room was okay, we got a room at the first floor. There were no internet, no breakfast, and the room needed a renovation. But everything negative turned positive because of the location. The beach 20 yards away, lots and lots of resturants nearby, a golfcourse to jog/run along not far away, bus stops and a supermarket just across the street. In a brief; everything you needed just around the corner. And the lobby did have internet, so we got online. And I'm pretty sure that those who had rooms upstairs had a beautiful seaview! The beach was also beautiful, with calm, crystall turquise water, and an aura like nothing else than paradise. Just wonderful! And I've also heard that they're going to rip the hole hotel apart, and build a new, better hotel.

Conclusion: Simple standard on the hotel itself, but the location makes nothing of that care, and it definately worth a stay! :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropical Sunset Beach Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Sunset Beach Apartment Hotel

Address: Tropical Sunset Complex, Holetown BB24016, Barbados (Formerly Sunswept Beach Hotel)
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Holetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropical Sunset Beach Apartment Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our philosophy is to provide the comfort of a home while you enjoy the luxury of a holiday...Tropical Sunset (formerly known as Sunswept Beach Hotel) is situated in Holetown, the west coast's primary hub for visitors and locals alike. Set on the shoreline of the Caribbean Sea, guests can enjoy the breathtaking view from the comfort of their private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Tropical Sunset Beach Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sunswept Beach
Sunswept Beach Holetown
Tropical Sunset Beach Apartment Hotel Barbados/Holetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Sunset Beach Apartment Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.