We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just loved it!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Sunset Beach Apartment Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tropical Sunset Beach Apartment Hotel to your Saves list
Tropical Sunset Beach Apartment Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tropical Sunset Complex, Holetown BB24016, Barbados (Formerly Sunswept Beach Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Just loved it!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

I wish it was easier to explain how great it was our staying at the Sunswept...
We didn´t expect much. For all the reviews that I had read, I really expected a very simple and old hotel, and that was all. When we arrived at the hotel, and started going up the stairs, we really faced an old and simple hotel. But when we got in the room, the air conditioning was on, the room was nice and neat, with a good storage space and kitchen appliances. Ohh... and a breakfast kit for the next morning - eggs, bread, milk, juice, banana in the frigde. And we went to the balcony. Wow!! unforgettable! we fell in love with Sunswept!!
And on the next morning, we had the lovely surprise of birds singing on our balcony - well, in fact they were asking for food - We realized that after trying to have breakfast outside =)
The staff was very nice, loved to meet Mark, Kenya and Lisa, who helped us a lot with directions, etc.
The only thing that was not too good were the pillows. They were old, thin, but we couldn´t remember to ask for better ones either.
Thank you Sunswept for making our first trip to Barbados so memorable!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    67
    17
    6
    1
See reviews for
28
95
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

I stayed at Sunswept Beach Hotel with my husband in March 2011. We didn't have big expectations for this hotel because we had paid such a reasonable price. We selected the hotel because of its location in Holetown and its proximity to the beach.

When we arrived, we discovered that the hotel was very close to some excellent restaurants - fine and budget, close to transportation all over the island, across the street from a gas station and a supermarket, and on some of the loveliest beachfront with excellent snorkelling.

The hotel room was very clean and had a good sized balcony that overlooked the ocean and most spectacular sunsets every evening. The bed was a king-sized frame with two single mattresses on top. The bathroom was a little bit shabby, with old fittings and fixtures, however it was kept very clean. Our kitchinette was adequate, we just needed to get dish soap etc from the supermarket. You had to pay an extra $6 or so per night to use the safe, which we thought was silly.

There was a cocktail party when we arrived on the Thursday night with live music. The staff were pretty friendly and pointed out interesting places to go and told us where we could get good food etc. The hotel will arrange for car rental for you, so you don't even have to go to the car rental shop across the street.

There was one evening that the water just cut off and we didn't get it back for hours. We followed up at the front desk and they said the properties up and down the road were affected so it wasn't just the hotel. The also provided us with a couple of 1.5L bottles of water and told us we could get more if we needed it.

Our only issue was that we wanted to return our beach towels the morning we were leaving, and there was no staff there with access to petty cash at 8am! We therefore lost our deposit and $20, which ticked us off.

Otherwise our stay was great and the hotel was fine. As mentioned, it's in a great position with easy access to all the essentials.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011 via mobile

Having been switched hotels on arrival at the airport on first impressions we were really disappointed as wasnt quite what we'd hoped for. It was in need of updating. Our disappointment didnt last as we quickly realised we had the best location ever and the staff were fantastic its not 5 star accomodation but we didnt pay 5 star prices... Cant wait to go back and would recomend it highly!!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

Sunswept ticks the most important boxes for us good value,fantastic views,a comfy large bed,friendly,kind staff and clean rooms.

Room Tip: carry a corksrew in your suitcase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

The air conditioner didn't work very well at all -- running full bore it could barely keep the temperature below 80 F. The ceiling fan wasn't mounted quite right, so it rattled off and on. The staff was completely disinterested in doing anything about it; I guess they're used to the heat and didn't understand what the problem was.

Sheets and bed linens were pretty worn.

The safe in our friends' room didn't work.

The location is pretty good, and the beach right at the hotel is nice. There's a shopping area with a grocery right across the street, and public transportation is very convenient with stops right out in front of the hotel.

Some attention to cosmetics and equipment would help this place a lot.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

My wife and I stayed 2 nights here in March 2011, on the 2nd floor. This was our second time in Barbados and we had previously stayed on the South coast in Christ Church, thus we wanted something on the West coast that would provide a more convenient base for exploring that side of the island.

You need to be realistic when evaluating hotels on this coast. Considering one of the most expensive hotels in this hemisphere is located a couple minutes South, you will not find luxury on the "Platinum Coast" for $200/night any more than you would find it for that price in Manhattan, Paris etc.

The hotel is essentially right on the beach. There is a small pool, but I never use the pool when in the Caribbean. You can walk quite a way N. or S. from the hotel along the beach. The water is calm on this part of the island, but there are some rocks on the bottom. It's not the best beach you'll find in Barbados, but it's perfectly fine. There is some boat traffic (people offering jet ski tours, kayaks, small sail boats etc.) but it isn't overly intrusive. There is a fairly lively hotel/bar next door on the beach, and an attached restaurant (Zaccio's, busy, but we didn't go).

All the rooms are fairly large, and face the sea. The sunsets are glorious. The room had a kitchenette with a full size fridge and was very well stocked with pots, glasses, utensils etc. This is very helpful as you can go to the grocery across the street and get stuff for breakfast or anything else if you wish and save some money. The bed was a huge king bed and was reasonably comfy. The bathroom was clean and adequate. Yes, the drainage in the tub and sink isn't great, but again it's not a deal breaker and if you want to spend two grand a night, Sandy Lane is nearby. There was a great balcony with sitting area. TV reception isn't great, but we weren't there to watch TV. The A/C did act up at night one time -- I would test the unit there and ask them to get a technician if there are issues. There is a safe for $6 BDS a night I think, and wi-fi in the lobby. We could not get wi-fi reception in our room.

This place is really about location, both for the views, but also for easy access to other areas. Speightstown is 15min away, and highly recommended. Have lunch at the Fisherman's Inn there, the flying fish is better than in Oistins. There is a mall across the street with a grocery, business centre, and a variety of other shops. There is a collection of other stores a short walk away, and a luxury mall 2 min North, with an impending Louis Vuitton. Gas is nearby, as is a Royal Bank of Canada branch. There are tons of restaurants nearby. We avoided Zaccio's as the menu was not comparatively impressive for the price. The Tides is apparently fantastic, and is a 2 minute walk, but is pricey. The Beach House is further south, also along the beach, and a two course meal is $98 BDS. If you walk North there are a couple streets with 10-15 restaurants on them. We ate at Raggamuffins, and had a well-cooked, very tasty blackened yellowfin tuna meal with drinks etc for about $140 BDS total. The next day we ate at Just Grilling, a place that specializes in surprise, surprise, grilled stuff. It was good and well-priced.

At the end of the day, if you are realistic, don't want/need luxury, it's a great hotel in a fantastic location. You won't get much better for anywhere near this price along this part of the coast. It's close to attractions and there are numerous amenities in the surrounding community. If I was willing to spend $400+/night I'd perhaps look elsewhere, but that wasn't in my budget.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

The location is just perfect. The rooms are basic but plenty big enough for 2 adults. We have stayed there 3 times now & will definately go back. The staff are friendly, local facilities in abundance with plenty of restaurants, Surfside bar just around the corner, a supermarket across the road & 1st & 2nd street just a short walk up the road. Indigo cafe was superb for breakfast & the 2 nights that they are open are excellent value for money & good quality food.
Our only real complaint was the company that we booked it through this time, hotel-caribbean.com . They had not paid Sunswept before we got there & had still not paid them when we left. We were asked to pre authorise a card payment by Sunswept which we refused because we had already paid in full but I can understand the reasons why Sunswet were asking us. This didn't cause us a problem with Sunswept but I did e-mail caribbean-hotels.com several times but they didn't even bother to reply. (I have since e-mailed them & informed them that I would be putting these remarks on Tripadvisor). I only hope that they do pay Sunswept. I would reccommend Sunswept to everybody who wants a comfortable hotel, not luxury, in the ideal position in Barbados.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropical Sunset Beach Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Sunset Beach Apartment Hotel

Address: Tropical Sunset Complex, Holetown BB24016, Barbados (Formerly Sunswept Beach Hotel)
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Holetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropical Sunset Beach Apartment Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our philosophy is to provide the comfort of a home while you enjoy the luxury of a holiday...Tropical Sunset (formerly known as Sunswept Beach Hotel) is situated in Holetown, the west coast's primary hub for visitors and locals alike. Set on the shoreline of the Caribbean Sea, guests can enjoy the breathtaking view from the comfort of their private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tropical Sunset Beach Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sunswept Beach
Sunswept Beach Holetown
Tropical Sunset Beach Apartment Hotel Barbados/Holetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Sunset Beach Apartment Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.