We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of JuJu's Sputnik II

JuJu's Sputnik II
St James, Holetown, Barbados (Formerly Juju's)
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 33 Restaurants in Holetown
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Holetown, Barbados
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“very disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Having been to Ju Ju's for lunch on several occasions and enjoyed it, I decided to take two friends who had never been there, for lunch. The restaurant is set right on the beach and was a little busy so all the more "open air" tables were taken, and we were alocated a rather claustophobic feeling table immediately infront of the restaurant. We were then steadfastly ignored for 10 minutes! I finally managed to get a waitress to at least take a drink order, but giving that order was a feat in itself. If someone can tell me how it can take an age to write down a glass of white wine, a white rum and cranberry and an X Old and water, I'd like to know ----------------------especially as when the order finally arrived , it was not as ordered !

The right drinks finally arrived but by this time, we had been there for around 45 minutes without even a whiff of a menu, except to be told that several specials were not abvailable. At this point, hunger set in, and unwilling to wait what was obviously going to be another age for food, we paid for our drinks and departed to Ramshackles, where thankfully my friends thoroughly enjoyed their lunch and saved my embaressment.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    22
    11
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A Caribbean Marvel - serving amazing fish from a tiny kitchen!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

What a find! We visited on many a lunchtime whilst on holiday. The atmosphere was really special, the fish freshly caught, cooked and delicious!

It was visited by locals and holiday makers alike, the burgers smelt great but as there was so many varieties of fish on the menu I never got to try them!

Loved it!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place for sundowners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

We went here for a sundowner and it is a good find. It is near the Lonestar restaurant and you need to ask around to find it. It is right on the beach and its a great place to sit and have a drink after a day on the beach. They also do nice food if you want a relaxing early dinner in your beachwear. Don't get dressed up- just chill out and enjoy the view. I think they stop serving food about 7pm.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Love it alot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Love the location love the food love the staff. Love everything about it. Hesitate to give it this rating because if too many people find out about it it will be hard to get a table!!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
385 reviews 385 reviews
278 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Fantastic !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011 via mobile

G8 bar snack bar along the beach overlooking the sea n turtles!
Friendly staff g8 atmosphere with various special nights with entertaining .
Gd value food all local fish simple menu all tasty!!! Liked the shark !
Sunday roasts n full moon BBQ aswell.
Def worth a visit 4 snack lunch

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JuJu's Sputnik II also viewed

Holetown, Saint James Parish
 
Holetown, Saint James Parish
Holetown, Saint James Parish
 

Been to JuJu's Sputnik II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JuJu's Sputnik II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.