We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another fun evening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Bar Carizma

Cafe Bar Carizma
12 Chattel Village, Holetown BB1000, Barbados
246 432 7198
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 30 restaurants in Holetown
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A Charismatic Cafe Bar in the centre of Chattel Village Hoeltown. Open for Breakfast , Lunch 7 days a week and Authentic Spanish Tapas on Tuesday and Thursday, with live music. Great ambience , food and wine. We have again achieved Tripadvisor certificate of excellence for last year
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“another fun evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Made a second visit to this Tapas bar. Similar format to last year which worked well for us-decent food at a decent price with good service and entertainment. Good formula-thanks!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    163
    81
    16
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great place for a snack”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We were out shopping in holetown when the heavens opened up and had been to here before so thought we would have a snack and shelter here. Staff very friendly can't do enough for you. Only had a toasted sandwich and cake with some drinks but made a nice change. Would recommend it if you can find it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“wow excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

What a great little place..We had dinner there and food was wonderful and the band amazing.
We were staying access the street and could hear the band when we where cooking dinner ,decided to try and it was wonderfull

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bajananita, Owner at Cafe Bar Carizma, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thanks for your comments, hope the band didn'tdistrub you too much but glad they atracted you over the road to us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fun evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

We had heard of this bar and came for tapas which they do on Tuesday and Thursday . It was a lovely evening . The food was quite authentic , and it is always nice to share dishes . The staff were friendly and efficient. But the evening was made special by the three young men who performed some excellent music. A really pleasant atmosphere . Booked for next week !!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bajananita, Owner at Cafe Bar Carizma, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for your review glad you had a great evening and you enjoyed both the food and entertaiment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Don't pass this by...........!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We have been coming to Barbados for many years and often had lunch at this little cafe. This year it has started doing evenings and we immediately booked for a tapas night............ This place is a hidden gem , full of atmosphere and 'carisma'! The food was excellent ( other reviewers clearly haven't understood the concept of tapas)! The service is outstanding and the hosts Anita and Dave work hard to make everyone feel welcome and special. Their front of house staff are also excellent. There is a real personal touch and Anita goes out of her way to remember her customers and their tastes. The music from 1359 on the tapas nights is OUTSTANDING.....Matthews voice is fantastic and as others have said exceeds the standard of the current x factor finalists!!! The group play music to suit the ambience and interact with their audience which makes it extra special. FANTASTIC! We ended up going to a second tapas night and also a weekend meal where another musician with a guitar was equally good, creating a more laid back vibe. The food on the weekend evenings is fantastic and huge portions! Thank you to everyone for some memorable evenings.......this is really the perfect place.....why on earth anyone would settle for hotel 'evenings' with ' bog standard bands' is a total mystery! We cross our fingers that in the current climate this cafe bar will flourish......so that we can visit again next year.......DON'T CHANGE A THING......it's perfect! Sue and Colin.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bajananita, Owner at Cafe Bar Carizma, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you so much for your review it is really appreciated , it was a pleasure to meet you both and we will do all we can to be here next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Bar Carizma also viewed

Holetown, Saint James Parish
Holetown, Saint James Parish
 
Holetown, Saint James Parish
Saint James Parish, Barbados
 

Been to Cafe Bar Carizma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Bar Carizma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.