We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you will be ripped off here” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Surfside Restaurant & Beach Bar

Surfside Restaurant & Beach Bar
Holetown | Sunset Crest, Holetown, Barbados
1-246-432-2105
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 33 Restaurants in Holetown
Price range: $1 - $35
Cuisines: Caribbean, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
north west England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“you will be ripped off here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I am an old fool. I visited this bar / cafe a lot of times on my visit to holetown in March and I really enjoyed the atmosphere. I have returned on a 5 week trip and how it has changed. I visited on 31st and paid my bill after two drinks because the waitress said she was going off shift. She never came back with the change and I thouht 'well I would have tipped her anyway'

Foolish man. I went again yesterday at happy hour. The bill came to $34 and I placed $40 in payment poche and waited for my change. Now I knew the day before was not an accident because again I never saw the waitress again. What a shame because for the next 4 weeks I have to drink and eat next door but the view is better.The commecial diggers and land works in front of the bar do not help the view

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    152
    90
    25
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall United kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Lovely View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

There is only parking for a couple of cars out front but you can park opposite in the supermarket car park.The foods good especially the pancakes.There is a veranda at the back overlooking the ocean.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Overpriced, unacceptable food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The view is lovely but only go for a drink and do not eat here. The food is nothing short of terrible.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Friendly place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We ate here a couple of times. Food was good on both occasions, setting is lovely, right on the beach and staff are friendly, as are all the people on this island. They have a steel band on a Sunday night which is very pleasant to listen to for an hour or so.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Steel Drum band on a Sunday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Go here on Sundays for a great steel band and some good middle range food. Friendly staff and a good location. It's a little hidden but follow the signs after the police station and you'll find it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surfside Restaurant & Beach Bar also viewed

Holetown, Saint James Parish
 
Holetown, Saint James Parish
Holetown, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Surfside Restaurant & Beach Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfside Restaurant & Beach Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.