We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best sports-bar on the island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfside Restaurant & Beach Bar

Surfside Restaurant & Beach Bar
Holetown | Sunset Crest, Holetown, Barbados
1-246-432-2105
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 33 Restaurants in Holetown
Price range: $1 - $35
Cuisines: Caribbean, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Best sports-bar on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Best (and possibly the only) place on Barbados to watch live rugby and football. Plus steel band playing each Sunday evening. Not to be missed.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    152
    92
    26
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Afternoon ~ Watching the Footy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Surfside is a great beach side bar to watch the football ~ especially after a day on the beach ~ with kick off at 3:45pm local time for mid week games ~ plenty of screens showing various games ~ the bonus is happy hour from 4:30 to 5:30pm ~ with a bottle of Banks 3bds ~ good atmosphere....enjoy

Thanks to Mikey & the Surfside team...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

I've been here on a few occasions over the last couple of years, nice view and my bf was happy with the football, but that's where it ends. After being offered drugs several time persistently outside the bar (I know that's not their fault but they let him drink in the bar?) we couldn't get served dispite us being the only customers waiting and 4 people behind the bar calling each other names and texting. After finally being served much to their annoyance, she forgot one of our drinks which she then remembered 15 minutes later and forgot to charge us. We sat by the tv to watch football but I was literally pushed off my seat by a waitress sitting on the stool next to me even tho all the others were spair, I'm assuming to get us out the bar so her friends could all sit with no tourists to overhear, it worked and we sat outside, this was between linch and dinner time. sorry to rant as it was average the last few times I've been but this time I am embarrassed for the owner, ive never written on tripadvisor before but i was so annoyed to be treated so rudely! my bf has never been to barbados before and i had assured him what lovely locals there are. that place has a lovely location and the potential to be a real treat for a night out, they should just rethink the staff!

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dwayne H, General Manager at Surfside Restaurant & Beach Bar, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
I sincerely thank you for your brutally honest reply. We have been battling with some bad weeds among the bunch in the past recent months and as you may have read where one customer commented on only being offered good service when the manager brought over a comment card we are trying our hardest to filter out those excellent employees and get rid of the bad ones.

In a customer service oriented industry we cannot, must not loose customers to simply having bad disgruntled staff.

We do hope you give us a try again as we continuously trying to improve our staff crop and we do hope if you see a change you will also post the good news on trip advisor.

If you feel the need to share any more information pertinent to the event you described in question please e-mail us at surfsiderestaurant@caribsurf.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We walked up to Holetown for lunch on our first day in Barbados. We wanted something quick and easy and this place was perfect for simple food and a few drinks (with some sport on in the background).

Surfside did just the trick and we would go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

A great location spoilt by over priced food and service was a touch slow with Zaccios so close why would not be 100 yards away.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surfside Restaurant & Beach Bar also viewed

Holetown, Saint James Parish
 
Holetown, Saint James Parish
Holetown, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Surfside Restaurant & Beach Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfside Restaurant & Beach Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.