We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awful food at discovery bay barbados” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts to your Saves list
Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   St. James Beach, Holetown, Barbados   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
New Year Offer-Be Quick!
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
A TripAdvisor Member
“awful food at discovery bay barbados”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

first two evenings awful food can only describe as bad canteen food.
hotel change from buffet to menu for evening meals after complaints it go better bu not by much.choice of three starters three mains and three sweets.no imagination and not much choice,same menu day after day.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
I apologize that our food in the evenings did not meet your expectations.

As you stated we were offering a table d’hôte menu in the evenings which comprised of four starters and five main courses. This was changed every two days to offer a better variety. I am sorry that you thought that the food had no imagination. I will discuss this with the Chef to see where improvements can be made.

Thank you for staying at Discovery Bay by rex resorts and I truly hope that you will return in the future.
Sincerely,
Brian Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    177
    87
    53
    52
See reviews for
59
222
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Visited May 2014, with grandma and baby. Staff are amazingly helpful, food plentiful and tasty. Mostly local style but the cooks will whip up all sorts when asked. Not the busiest or fanciest hotel on the island, but charming and leaves you feeling relaxed. Nice smallish pool, plenty of loungers including fancy double four poster bed ones. Resort off season so very peaceful. loved the room safes (free), cocktails on arrival and brilliant staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments, which I will ensure to pass onto the entire team at Discovery Bay by rex resorts.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed our food; we use the freshest local produce and are spoiled with a wide variety of fish.

The entire pool deck was refurbished last year which included new luxury padded sun loungers and day beds. This transformed the area into a relaxation zone.

It was a great pleasure to have you and your family stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
Brian Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Good value hotel, need some more choices for vegetarians. Need more security on room lockers
We had a fab time in Barbados. Room view was excellent you can see sunset from the balcony.


( Watford - U.K. )

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post this review.

I am extremely pleased that you thought that Discovery Bay by rex resorts offers good value. It is our goal to offer value for money by ensuring that we deliver superior service and products to our guests.

I have noted your comment on the vegetarian choices and will discuss this with our Chef. I further note your comment on security and will review our current plan.

It is always gratifying when our guests have a fabulous time with us.
Our beach front rooms could not be any closer to the azure Caribbean sea and yes, the sunsets are brilliant.

Thank you for staying with us and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
Brian Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We arrived at the hotel evening time after a delayed flight, the check in was very good and the welcome drink (rum punch) was very much appreciated, we were showed to our room very quickly, and what a room it was (80) it had a big sitting room with a bedroom off it,the bed was a queen size and the most comfortable bed i have ever slept in on holiday, the balcony was huge, the food was cooked fresh and was superb , big hello to the cooks who always had a smile, the manager of the dining room and staff always had a smile for you too, the bar staff were lovely too big hello to Cassandra and Jeremy who made us some lovely drinks, the beach outside the hotel has the best space out of all the hotels along the beach plenty of space for the sunbeds and it was so clean,thanks to Malcolm who worked very hard on the beach to keep it tidy, we could not have asked for a better place to stay, we had flowers and bubbly given to us from the hotel as it was our anniversary while we were there which was such a lovely touch, thank you to Sarah in the dining room for being so welcoming to us, please do not listen to the negative comments that people make about this hotel as you could not wish for a better hotel to stay in , thank you discovery bay and Brian Carter for making our first trip to Barbados so special

Room Tip: room 80 has a sea view and is a garden room so very good for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
I am very pleased that the check in was very good and that the rum punch was appreciated.
As you have quite rightly mentioned Room #80 is a one of a kind in the hotel, it has a living room and a separate bedroom and two balconies. Very similar to what would be classified as a one bedroom suite.
We have had tremendous compliments about our comfortable beds and I am glad that you thought so as well.
Our meals are mainly buffets; we take pride to ensure that the ingredients used are as fresh and local as possible. Each meal is prepared daily which brings out the best flavours to our dishes. I will pass on your greetings to the cooks, Allison, the dining room Manager, Cassandra, and Jeremy.
After the Government refurbishment, the beach it became one of the biggest on the West coast of Barbados.
Malcolm is a treasure to Discovery Bay by rex resorts and is the longest serving employee. He is up very early ensuring the pool area is spotless.
Then he moves onto placing the beach umbrellas and sun loungers along our beautiful beach.

We are pleased that we made your anniversary special and I will pass on your compliments to Sarah.

I am extremely happy that we made your first trip to Barbados memorable and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Sincerely,
Brian Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Great little secret on the west coast; keep it that way. Lovely low rise Barbados plantation house feel about the establishment. Pool area fantastically refurbished with best loungers ever! Beach much improved following installation of big "rock stones" breakwater & Malcolm doing a good job.Staff incredibly helpful.(Allison, Polly, and Tyrone) Just ask and like magic it will appear! Likewise with the Manager Brian Carter/Lodge Boy always there and always chatty and helpful.

Don't go there to "fine dine" remember what you paid and enjoy it. Best soups in Barbados!

Room Tip: Pity no ceiling fans in bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post this review, your compliments are greatly appreciated.

Discovery Bay by rex resorts has a very colonial feel which appeals to the tremendous amount of repeat guests.
During closure last year the pool deck was upgraded with padded sun loungers and day beds, which has transformed the area into a central relaxation zone.

The Government refurbished the beach last year as well and Discovery Bay has the best beach in the area by far!

Malcolm is a treasure, he takes great pride in fitting his beach umbrellas firmly into the sand and ensures the beach and pool areas are kept spotless.

Your kind compliments about our incredibly helpful staff are greatly appreciated. And I will ensure to pass them on.

It was a great pleasure having you stay at Discovery Bay by rex resorts and I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Sincerely,
Brian. Lodge Boy. Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We travelled from Manchester UK to Barbados with Virgin Atlantic in early May 2014. We upgraded to Premium Economy which is very comfortable onboard. There is plenty of room in the seats with a footrest and very good entertainment system. Everything was on time and smooth throughout. We booked our trip with Caribbean Classics which was quite a bit cheaper than other operators, they quite strangely never contacted me at all, other than emailing my documents and hotel vouchers, not even one promotional email !! The only thing excluded in the package was transfers, but with dozens of taxis outside the airport, it is cheaper to take one of those than book with the tour operator, make sure you use the taxi dispatcher outside the airport.
On arrival at Discovery Bay we were given a lovely rum punch and the paperwork dealt with quickly. We were taken to our room and cases brought along at the same time. With it being evening time, we had a quick wash and brush up and went for our evening meal
Meals are buffet style, always a very good homemade soup to start with (the Bajun soup is a delight) and a choice of fish and various meats, mainly chicken beef or lamb. I felt the salads could have been better, always lettuce, tomatoes, and coleslaw or similar, but there are so many other things that could be offered such as cold meats, onions, eggs etc etc
The pool area has very good loungers and cabanas which are very comfortable, they all look quite new, the area was upgraded and looks good. The pool is quite small and shallow, but that suited us fine.
The beach has been overhauled in the last year or so and it is lovely, plenty of loungers, parasols and tables are put out by Malcolm who appears early morning and who leaves late evening, a credit to the company, as are all the staff who work so hard and with a no problem attitude. The manager Brian Carter does several rounds in the day, ensuring everything is up to scratch and talking to the guests, a truly friendly chap who wants to look after his guests and make sure you have an enjoyable time.
All in all we had a fantastic holiday, Discovery Bay is in a prime location, it is not 5 star and rooms are always clean and comfortable (cleaned daily) and some decoration is tired looking, but all in all great value for money with good food and friendly staff to make sure you have a great holiday, thank you Brian and team.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
We think that the best way to start off a Caribbean holiday after travelling in excess of eight hours is to have a rum punch upon check-in. It is very soothing and relaxing.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your meals, it’s extremely important in an all inclusive to ensure that your meals reflect variety and quality.
Thank you for your observations on the salads, I will discuss this with our Chef.

The pool area was upgraded last year, adding padded loungers and day beds which have made the area very comfortable.

The beach refurbishment was very successful resulting in Discovery Bay by rex resorts having one of the largest beaches on the West coast of Barbados.

Our longest serving employee Malcolm Lanky is there every morning early to put out the loungers and umbrellas and bring that back in, in the early evening.

Thank you for your kind comments about our staff, they enjoy providing friendly efficient service and I will ensure to pass on your compliments.

I am so glad to hear that you had a fantastic holiday; it was our greatest pleasure to meet your expectations.

We don’t pretend to be a five star operation but we believe in providing the highest level of service and products at a reasonable price, so that we offer value for money.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, it was greatly appreciated.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Discovery bay in the near future.
Sincerely,
Brian Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent, united kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for our first yr wedding anniversary. It was good value for money and an amazing be a beach location. We done the island tour the catermaran trip to swim with the turtles which was amazing and the sub trip. The only down side to the hotel was they seemed to run low. On certain food sometimes and drinks the food was always brought out if you asked but you had to ask could have been because it was quiet when we were there. Also the entertainment was pretty poor I was in Barbados and wanted to see steel bands and even after we spoke to the manager and he said there would be some there wasent so we were really disappointed. Also it would be amazing if the hotel done more exotic ice cream they seemed to have lots or choc and vanilla we were hoping for mango sorbet or coconut ice cream and some more fruit would have been nice like fresh coconut we only seemed to have bananas prunes and melon all I am saying is when you go to Barbados you want to experience their culture so this would be awesome if this hotel done that. The staff were good we had some favorites and the manager was seen ist days so thats good too. We would defo recommend this side of the island and if your looking for a bargain it's exactly that but upgrade to a sea view room our friends had that room and it was amazing

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
It was a great pleasure to have to stay at Discovery Bay by rex resorts for your first wedding anniversary.

Our aim is to keep our rates as reasonable as possible to offer value for money.

Location is so important and Discovery has one of the best on the West coast.
The beach is a lovely size after the refurbishment last year. The hotel is also within walking distance to banks, supermarket, cinema, Lime Grove Lifestyle Centre and many bars and restaurants.
I apologize for running low on certain food and drink items. We try and ensure that buffets and bars are well stocked but some times there is a particular dish or drink which is popular on a particular day and that can result in running out of those items. However we do our best to remedy the situation as quickly as possible.

We have found that the most popular flavours of ice cream are Vanilla, Chocolate and Rum and Raisin which are the flavours that we stock. For your next visit, I can arrange to have an exotic tropical fruit sorbet available.
Entertainment is featured three times a week in the low season, where we tend to hire small local groups that can play a variety of calypso, reggae and pop music. I am sorry that this disappointed you.
I will certainly take your breakfast fruit options into consideration.

I am glad that you thought that the staff were good; they try very hard to offer friendly efficient service.

Thank you for choosing Discovery Bay by rex resorts for your holiday and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
Brian Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts

Address: St. James Beach, Holetown, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Holetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique hotel situated on St James Beach, the Discovery Bay consists of charming plantation-style houses set in beautiful landscaped gardens. Located on the fashionable West coast, days at this resort are centred around the beach and the pool, the upscale Limegrove shopping mall and nightlife on Holetown's first street a short walk away. The resort is all-inclusive and family friendly, popular with couples also. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Bay By Rex Hotel Saint James
Discovery Bay Barbados
Discovery Bay Hotel Barbados
Discovery Bay By Rex Resorts Barbados/Holetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.