We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantasic Time - a million times better than we had thought” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts to your Saves list
Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   St. James Beach, Holetown, Barbados   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Ascot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantasic Time - a million times better than we had thought”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We went to Discovery Bay Hotel from 17th-27th December 2014. Myself, my husband and our 15 year old daughter. The beach was the most disappointing thing as it had recently been worked on and was imported sand. Having said this we went into the sea every day this was not a reflection on the hotel but the sea had been eroding and Barbados council had done lots of work on it. The hotel was great, food really good, staff and management excellent. Our daughter was unwell whilst we were there (nothing to do with the hotel)~ and all the staff were excellent and so helpful. The Manager Brian was really good, the reception manager Mikaeal was also excellent, in fact ll the staff were really good. Live music every night - a very high standard. Christmas was great, excellent carol singers and the BEST father Christmas i have EVER seen, he was absolutely fantastic with the children. Pool cleaned every morning, drinks were excellent and many 'proper' makes. The Bajans are lovely people. Would go back to Barbados and would definitely go back to this hotel. Looking forward to going back.

Room Tip: Room number 2 above reception had a great view of the whole hotel grounds and of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
We are very pleased that you and your family had a fantastic stay with us.

Apologizes for the beach being disappointing. As you correctly mentioned, this was recently worked on by the Government to prevent erosion. However, it will take the sea a few more months to "wash" the sand allowing the finer particles to cover the beach.

We are very happy that you enjoyed our Christmas Programme which featured live music, carolers and of course jolly old Father Christmas.

Myself, Mikhail and the entire team took pleasure in ensuring your stay with us was memorable.

Thank you so much for your kind compliments which I will share with all of our staff.

We very much look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Brian Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    209
    98
    55
    56
See reviews for
75
265
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We arrived at our hotel late in the evening in the dark. The hotel looks great from the front as you pull off the road. The gardens looked nice but the hotel is very dated and the public walk ways are dominated by the air conditioning units so it feels like you are walking through industrial corridors. All this though would have been fine except we had booked independently and it was only when we booked in they let us know there were three enormous diggers outside our beach front room(which we paid extra for) and there was no beach. It had been this way since May 2013 but they had not updated the website to allow travellers to make an informed decision. The manager asked us to stay overnight and talk to the general manager the next day. We did, he was so unhelpful and was clearly not empowered to run his business. The noise from the machines was intolerable and so we cancelled our payment on Barclaycard and left! Any hotel who doesn't give a clear picture of its situation is not somewhere I would want to stay.

Room Tip: Don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for your compliments on the hotel and gardens on the night of your arrival.

We are deeply saddened that you were not informed about the Government’s Beach Improvement project. This has now been completed resulting in a beautiful beach.

So please forgive us for not meeting your expectations which are so very important to us.

Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
Brian Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chislehurst, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed here for a week in early December 2013.

It's on a gorgeous stretch of beach

This hotel has a colonial feel, lovely location right by lots of shops and restaurants if you get bored of the hotel food,

It's a smallish hotel so all the guests seemed to make friends the staff at this hotel are amazing they will are so friendly and will help in anyway they can.

The food is very locally inspired but they are happy to rustle you up burger and fries and similar things if your bored of the local delicacies.

Very nice hotel I would go again and recommend

I did two trips whilst there

horse riding on the beach with steves stable.very nice and lovely horses this man loves these horses I would highly recommend going riding with him even if you have never been before its magical.

Also went on boat trip with jammin cruises organised through hotel, the staff on this catermaran trip where amazing I had my 3 month old baby with me so was worried but as big boat I had a shaded area all day.

Room Tip: I had beach front suite it was huge 3 times as big as there basic room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind compliments.
We are extremely pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us.
I will convey your appreciation of the food and service to the entire team
whose pleasure it was to look after you.
And look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Brian Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We are on the last day of our stay and have had no hot water since day one! Constantly being told it will be fixed tomorrow. . Never Happened! General manager very dismissive. Key left behind reception one night and no security staff present so we helped ourselves to our key and could've taken all of them, very poor security. Had a lovely holiday hear last year such a shame. Food has gone down hill too.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardBrysonMD, Managing Director MRI at Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Valued Customer
I was very sorry to hear that you were not happy with your stay at Discovery Bay, especially as regards to hot water.
There were unexpected problems on the boilers which serviced the area of the hotel you were in and we needed to get replacement parts. The boilers are relatively new. These parts were Fedexed to the hotel but unfortunately were held up in customs because of the holiday period. The parts have since arrived and the hot water situation is back to normal. I am truly sorry that this unexpected problem affected your stay.
Regarding Security, we contract this out to G4S Security and I will raise your concerns with them as this is not acceptable.
The feedback on the food has generally been very good since we reopened so I am sorry this did not appear to be the case when you were there. I have raised your concerns with the General Manager and will be visiting the hotel myself in the next two weeks to review this.

Again I am sorry for the problems you had and I thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

This hotel is a home away from home for myself and my family. Discovery Bay staff are always welcoming and willing to help with anything. The food is great, the rooms are clean and newly refreshed. I have been down 9 years now and my grandparents 55 years. I will be returning in Feb. and I am looking forward to seeing all the staff again!

Room Tip: Get a room over the water, its amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We got married in this hotel 18 years ago and have been back several times since, we are also returning again next week. Furthermore each time we return we meet the same people who equally enjoy the hotel, as they too wouldn't keep returning year after year. This hotel is friendly, fun and in a beautiful setting. The place has so much charm and the staff have always been excellent. So please ignore the reviews, its a lovely place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We are currently staying at Discovery Bay, one of our favourite places even though it had been a bit run down in recent years. There is now a new management structure in place and the hotel has massively improved.The General Manager is always around getting things done and dealing with any problems as soon as they arise. When we checked in we decided to upgrade to a Club room - more expensive but worth it - and we mentioned to the duty manager that we loved a particular room on our previous stay. Unfortunately it was out of service but a few days later he returned to us to say that he had been getting it ready for us if we would like to move to it. We were so happy that he had bothered and moved straight away. This is indicative of the new approach that the General Manager has in place and has created a whole new energy in the hotel.
Great place, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea facing room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts

Address: St. James Beach, Holetown, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Holetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique hotel situated on St James Beach, the Discovery Bay consists of charming plantation-style houses set in beautiful landscaped gardens. Located on the fashionable West coast, days at this resort are centred around the beach and the pool, the upscale Limegrove shopping mall and nightlife on Holetown's first street a short walk away. The resort is all-inclusive and family friendly, popular with couples also. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Bay By Rex Hotel Saint James
Discovery Bay Barbados
Discovery Bay Hotel Barbados
Discovery Bay By Rex Resorts Barbados/Holetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.