We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, Modest Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts to your Saves list
Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   St. James Beach, Holetown, Barbados   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
New Year Offer-Be Quick!
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Good, Modest Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed at this hotel at the end of May, and the hotel was about to close for the slow summer season. So there were very few people staying at the hotel at that time.

The beach was very nice with white sand and clear blue waters. You could go for a walk along the beach for a distance. The location of the hotel is also good because you can walk to the small town, restaurants, bars, shopping, and historical sites.

The hotel overall was nice. It is a two story hotel with open air corridors. Each room has a balcony, and we had a nice ocean view. The grounds are well maintained with tropical plants and palms. There is one swimming pool which is fairly small, but it was never crowded when we were there. There was live music in the evenings, but the hotel was mostly quiet at night.

The food was good and fresh, but there was no buffet available and only one restaurant open for each meal. The choices were very limited, and they would sometimes run out of the most popular options. There were almost no vegetarian options. Breakfast was our favorite meal.

Overall, it is a good option for those looking for a good value in a good location. The all inclusive option is good because the restaurants in the area are expensive, but be aware that there is not much selection at the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    177
    87
    53
    52
See reviews for
59
222
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

We travelled with our year old son. The size of the room was perfect for our family. Get an ocean view if possible. Clean and comfortable with a great sized bathroom and closet. We signed up for the all inclusive package and were sadly disappointed the first night at dinner. The food was so lack luster, no seasoning and everything came into the restaurant pre packaged. We barely got through dinner. The staff though is amazing!! Great service and were excellent with our son. Returned again for a breakfast that was basic but again lack luster. We dined off tw resort the rest of the time. The pool and beach were great! Would stay again just wouldn't eat there if I was starving. There are so many great restaurants within minutes

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

this is our third holiday on the west coast and know it quite well now . discovery bay hotel is probably one of the oldest on the west coast . the rooms are clean but tired . we stayed in the rooms facing the beach on the ground floor . very handy for popping in and out from the beach . some mornings i got straight out of bed over the small wall and into the sea !!perfect .we stayed on a room only deal as holetown is a very short walk . you can get all you need from the supermarket . we purchased our own drinks etc from shops which the hotel did not mind us doing . all the restaurants are a 3 minute walk away and are all about the same price - £30 each for a meal and a couple of drinks . we were generally happy with the hotel ...

good points - friendly staff , rooms cleaned daily very well , nice big garden , plenty of sun loungers on beach (although it was the the put your towel on a bed first thing in the morning job ) ,very very good location for beach and town centre , lovely beach with hardly any stones -easy to get in sea (perfect ) , good snorkel beach a short walk away ,

not so good points - average rooms , tv channels not always work , maintenance staff , sorry to have to say but i have to be honest , one evening a guy came to our patio for a cigarette so we gave him one and he chatted for a while which was fine , later about 10.30 he knocked on our window and shined his lighter in our room , we were in bed and it was a bit scary ! he turned out to be harmless but it still made us feel a bit uneasy for a few nights - get a first floor room if i was you !! also some days the beach guys became a bit much and a bit insulting , dont usually mind but this time it became a pain - also some of them are really nice people too .

all in all a great holiday and would recommend it . barbados is a lovely place and the bajans are lovely friendly people too . we will come here lots more times (next time we will go self catering ) the hotel is good value , probably the cheapest with the closest rooms to the sea .the guy at the window was alarming but i suppose that could happen anywhere . i did notice more security after we told staff .

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in February before going to Rex Grenadian forthe rest of our holiday. The quality and presentation of the food was pretty poor. For a Caribbean island the amount of fresh fruit was very limited. The lock on the patio door was broken and we were expected to use a metal bar to keep the door secure. The night we arrived everything in the bathroom was totally saturated, clean towels, bath mat etc. On the 2nd day we discovered water pouring through the ceiling when the occupants of the room above took a shower. Clean beach towels were regularly in short supply.

Room Tip: find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012 via mobile

Just been on Stamford School Cricket Tour here! Absolutely fantastic from start to finish! Easily coped when 38 of us arrived and all rooms were or rectify equipped with 3 beds! Food was good at evenings but after a week it is too familiar with chicken and rice every night! Breakfast does the job but also very repetitive! Rooms for a 3 star hotel are a decent size but looking tired!

The staff are friendly and make sure you enjoy your stay! Considering they had another school of 20 & 2 county teams (Warwickshire & Derbyshire) they performed outstandingly to cater for all!

Internet is not great! Can only use DBH Fdesk which rarely works! I recommend heading to the wooden seating area near the beach where you can get Mango Bay WiFi!

All in all a fantastic stay and would recommend if you are staying near Holetown, Barbados

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathostie
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Having stayed at other all inclusive resorts around this area which were a little more pricy I would say you get what you pay for here. I was on a bit of a budget ,so stayed here for 3 nights then Almond Beach Village for 2 nights with my son.
The room was large, comfortable and clean with more than enough space for me and my son. Food was adequate but lacking in choice (chicken on bone normally/fish). They did provide a hot dog/burger/toasted sandwich as well as small buffet for lunch.Lots of guests ate out instead in Holetown. Not really much in way for entertainment for adults or children.
ays wireless internet but lots of guests couldn't get on it and used Mango Bays instead (sorry Mango Bay!)
Staff so - so but not unusual for Barbados. It all seems if you are getting in the way of them having a good slouch.
If your looking for an cheap all inclusive in Barbados, this is ok. But for me I will pay the extra £40 or £50 per night to get a better holiday experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Food is terrible, I can say the worst experience I've ever had. Nothing was good accept burgers made near the pool (even if the quality of the meat was poor). After the first meal we had to decide to eat out for the rest of the holiday! And thanks to that decision we went in a wonderful restaurant called il Tempio, just what you need when you're on holiday, a fresh, healthy and delicious meal!!
The hotel needs to be renovated, and staff trained. Poor professionality also in small things like an adaptor asked and assured that I would have one for the next day and never received it!

However my holiday in Barbados could have been the best one of my life if it wasn't for the food of that hotel!

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts

Address: St. James Beach, Holetown, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Holetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique hotel situated on St James Beach, the Discovery Bay consists of charming plantation-style houses set in beautiful landscaped gardens. Located on the fashionable West coast, days at this resort are centred around the beach and the pool, the upscale Limegrove shopping mall and nightlife on Holetown's first street a short walk away. The resort is all-inclusive and family friendly, popular with couples also. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Bay By Rex Hotel Saint James
Discovery Bay Barbados
Discovery Bay Hotel Barbados
Discovery Bay By Rex Resorts Barbados/Holetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.