We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantatsic time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mango Bay All Inclusive

Save Saved
You added Mango Bay All Inclusive to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mango Bay All Inclusive
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   2nd Street | Holetown, Holetown, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Holetown
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantatsic time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The beauty of this hotel was its size, being smaller there was a much warmer atmosphere than I have experienced before. The food was amazing, true quality. We visited for a joint celebration of my husbands 50th and out silver wedding anniversary.Our standard rooms were indeed noisy on the Sunday night but not for the rest of the week and the outlook from the front door of our room was not pretty however the pool and beach area were lovely and the included boat trips fabulous. The only thing we struggled with was getting 4 sunbeds together and this was mostly because people still reserved sunbeds even when they were not using them. Although the management issued notices regarding this no steps were taken to remove the offending towels and i think this was mainly as it involved people who were repeat visitors and they did not want to upset them.
Evening entertainment was good except for the saturday night when I know they were auditioning a new dance troupe. The weather was against them, however they were truly awful and as a dancing teacher I do have an idea of what I am talking about. Anyway the manageress asked us for feedback which is why I have mentioned it. Don't hesitate to visit this magical place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    590
    241
    82
    29
    20
See reviews for
178
559
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
oxfordshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed with friends at the Mango Bay Hotel in March 2013 after a weeks cruise it is a excellent choice of hotel congratulations to the management team they know the recipe for fantastic service and made a great effort to convey this. The staff at every level are 1st class and can not do enough to help you. The Bar staffs cocktails are the best ever. The Waiting staff are very attentive and gave great service. The food is 1st class plenty of choice for everybody at all meals well done the Chefs they work very hard. The cleaning ladies keep the rooms and hotel immaculate. The reception staff very knowledgeable and helpful (Hermione we loved you ) The pool area is beautiful and clean and no trouble getting sunbeds pool man always happy to help you find somewhere
Unfortunately the sea was very rough whilst we were there and we could not use the hotels catamaran but Sheereen was marvellous and organized a trip into Bridgetown for us to snorkel over a wreck the seas were a lot calmer there and it was all free of charge, however on our last day the seas calmed down and we were able to go out on the hotels catamaran and swim with the Turtles it was awesome
Don't hesitate to book this hotel its one of the best we have ever stayed in Sheereen you have got it right well done

Room Tip: superior rooms are quieter away from road noise sea view rooms are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 8 nights and checked in at 11pm. We stayed in a 1 bed apartment which has 2 rooms with a king size bed in one and twin beds in the other. There was loud music from the bar up the road which went on until half past midnight on three nights out of the 8 that we stayed. We did request a room change after the first night but were told we would have to pay an extra USD 50 per night and it would only be available on night 3 of our stay so we didn't bother. The staff at the hotel are a real asset - they are helpful and friendly. The food is of a good standard and a mixture of buffet and table service. The bar is great and there is entertainment most nights, however this is mostly people singing covers from the 80s - we would have loved some Calypso. The hotel looks a little tired in places and there are improvements that could be made. We would definitely go back to Barbados but would try a different hotel next time.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This hotel is mainly waiter service, which makes a change. The food is good quality but not many pastries for breakfast. BUT, the area on the terrace near the bar could do with little tidy up by staff and some areas, including our patio could do with a clean. It actually made our feet black! Not much beach here, but the main pool was a good size. Gardens not very bid to walk round

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed at the Mango Bay for 1 week of our 3 weeks Honeymoon. We were greeted by some very friendly reception staff & offered cocktails & a cold towel before been shown to our room. Our room was spacious and clean with plenty of room. The bed was comfortable and the air conditioning was great for keeping the room cool - 35oC outside! The bathroom was small & we were glad we brought our own bathroom products as the products supplied were in open pottery jugs that were refilled. The balcony looked out onto the hotel driveway & to the front door was onto a street (with bars & restaurants).

This was our first time to stay anywhere all inclusive but we needn't have worried about the food. Overall the food was very good. The portions were small but that was ok when lunch and dinner were 3 courses each and breakfast was a buffet. The theme or type of food changed every lunch & evening and we always found something we liked. We tried some local Caribbean food and fish. which were all very nice. Their ice-cream was delicious.

Every evening there was entertainment - we preferred the entertainment with a Caribbean flavour. The majority of guests were retired couples so the entertainment seemed to be aimed towards them.

The pool and loungers by the sea were perfect to spend the hot sunny days. We always found sun-loungers without any issues and every evening we sat in a circular sun lounger for two and watched the sun set over the sea. The staff circled the complex mid afternoon providing the most beautiful peach sorbet & taking drink orders - I would highly recommend their Fruit Punch (smoothie) or Rum Punch (which packs a punch).

We booked two free trips through the hotel - snorkelling over a small reef and swimming with turtles. Swimming with turtles was a highlight.

Reading above you may wonder why I rated this only average - & it is based on the location of our room. The room door was out to an open corridor/ walkway that then looked out onto a street with bars & restaurants. It was loud most evenings/nights, but on our last night we literally didn't sleep a wink - the music from one of the local pubs was so loud it felt like were in the pub & it went on till after 4.30am when we were leaving to get our flight. We had spent the week in Mango Bay relaxing and catching up on sleep after our wedding but ended up leaving Barbados looking & feeling tired. Those rooms need to be sound proofed. Also we think we were only offered certain tables in the restaurant based on the fact that were had booked standard rooms.

Room Tip: Our noisy room was room 405
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Saint Michael, Barbados
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I checked into the proprerty one Friday after 3.00pm just in time for afternoon tea, the staff were friendly and everyone treated you as if you were family. The hotel is located in a side street and within 2 minutes you can be in the hive of activity. You are near a bank,the police station and some churches. Less than 5 minutes you can cross the street and you are into the upscale Limegrove centre. The rooms sre good mine was a beachfront one,from my room I could enjoy the Friday and Saturday night shows without leaving. The food was good, breakfast needs a bit more variety but there is enough to sustain you, the bar staff was excellent and drinks were plenty. I had a good time in the sea but did not go out in the boat for the trip. My stay was an enjoyable one and highly recommend this hotel to visitors and locals as well.

Room Tip: Beach front rooms allow to share in the activity and can be therapy for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

We loved Mango Bay. We travelled with our 8 year old and 5 year old and my husbands parents.

We arrived at the hotel on Easter Sunday and the children were immediately whisked off to look at the rabbits and chicks that had been brought in for the morning. This left us free to get checked in without getting hassled by bored children. Our son was feeling travel sick, so although our room wasn't ready, the staff organised another room for us to use so that he could have a lie down (this was done without us asking which made it even nicer).

We stayed in one of the condominiums at the side of the main hotel. These are privately owned but are let out to Mango Bay. Ours was very spacious and had an extra bedroom which was fabulous. The general decor was slightly tired but still very nice. The bathroom was in need of an update but was immaculately clean.

The pool area was lovely. It had lovely wooden sun beds with squishy 'mattresses' on them. Although the pool is not very big, it was never crowded. Around the pool are lots of lovely plants which made the area look very tropical and we even had hummingbirds visiting the flowers which was wonderful.

The restaurant was very good. We always found something on the menu that we liked. There is a separate children's menu which is quite extensive. We had no problems with birds. We thought we'd write this comment as some other holiday makers had complained about them. The black birds will eat food from the table if it is unattended but are quite shy and won't swoop down and steal food whilst you are eating.

The real bonus was the kids club. Movie night was a fairly regular event. This was excellent as the children were fed by Dawn and then they watched a movie. The adults could then have a nice meal together and a bit of a relax. Other activities were also organised for the children including Easter Bonnet making, Kite making and flying, craft activities and even a trip to the nature reserve (my husband and I also went on the trip but we didn't have to - I would recommend the nature reserve though as the tortoises are fantastic).

The free trips on the catamaran are brilliant. My in-laws took the children on this and the staff took the children snorkelling from the boat. My daughter got to touch a sea turtle which she thought was wonderful and both children loved the fish. My husband and I were booked on a different day but we got the time wrong so we missed it which we were very disappointed about.

If we were very picky, we could find a few things to complain about but we have been to a few 5 star hotels recently and we have had much more to complain about at those.

Overall, we felt that this was an old fashioned 5 star hotel where service and comfort is paramount. The staff were all fantastic!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mango Bay All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Bay All Inclusive

Address: 2nd Street | Holetown, Holetown, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Holetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Holetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mango Bay All Inclusive 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango Bay Barbados is ideal for those seeking the convenience of an ALL-INCLUSIVE beach vacation combined with the personal and friendly service of a small resort. It enjoys a sought-after beachfront setting in St. James, on the famous west coast of Barbados.There are restaurants, bars, boutiques and cinema just steps away from Mango Bay in lively Holetown, including the brand new, upscale, LIMEGROVE LIFESTYLE CENTRE across the road from the resort. Mango Bay is approximately a 45 minute drive from the airport, and a 25-minute drive south of the hotel takes you to the capital Bridgetown. Mango Bay definitely gives you added value for an all inclusive hotel- included is a complimentary two-hour catamaran cruise to see the turtles, waterskiing & a glass bottom boat ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mango Bay All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Bay Hotel Holetown
Mango Bay Barbados
Mango Bay Saint James
Barbados Bay Mango
Mango Bay Hotel Barbados
Mango Bay All Inclusive Barbados/Holetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mango Bay All Inclusive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.