We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beg to differ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mango Bay All Inclusive

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mango Bay All Inclusive to your Saves list
Mango Bay All Inclusive
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   2nd Street | Holetown, Holetown, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Beg to differ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed at Mango Bay recently and wish that we had been served the " good / excellent" food that some other reviewers experienced during this time. This would have meant that we were able to enjoy more than one meal in the seven days we were there. The food was poor overall.

Room Tip: Upgrade to " ocean view room" essential.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    625
    264
    84
    30
    21
See reviews for
189
595
10
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My wife and I have just got back from the Mango Bay Hotel, having stayed there as part of a cruise and stay with Thomsons. We stayed from 3rd to 10th of February. The Hotel was one of the friendliest and best that we have stayed in. The food was of a good standard, and wide ranging, with waiter service most times but twice a week there is a buffet service. My wife says that the house wine was lovely! Our room was in the main block, and we were not troubled with any noise.The hotel is kept very clean as is the beach area, and there are ample sunbeds for everyone. The rooms are of a good size, with enormous beds, and are kept immaculately clean by the staff. The aircon. is very effective and was certainly not too loud. You can adjust the fan speed to whatever suits you. The bars and entertainment were also very good, Some of the acts were of an extremely high standard and were very professional in both sound and appearance. Because it is a smaller hotel you get very good personal service. For example, my wife and I had booked a trip through Thomsons, and we were waiting in reception to be picked up. After we had been there a while the receptionist asked us what time we were meant to be picked up. When she realised that they were 10 minutes late, she tried to contact the Thomson rep., without success, and then arranged for a Taxi to pick us up, take us to where we were going and returned us to the hotel, at no cost to us. I cannot imagine that any other hotel would have taken the initiative and arranged that without any request from us.The whole hotel experience was excellent, and we would certainly go back and we have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We have just got back from staying at mango bay we were there for eight days from the 3rd - 11th feb, we have never been to Barbados before and from the moment we arrived we couldn't have been made more welcome it is like being there with one big family. It is only a small hotel it is all inclusive but if you couldn't find anything to eat on the menu they would cook you something else, there was know problem with reserving sun beds while we were there so we didn't have to get up early to get a bed.if you do go on the beach you will get asked to buy things but all you have to say is no and they walk away it was not a problem, the rooms are very big and have the biggest bed I have seen. Would we go back the answer is yes we are hoping to go back next year, well done mango bay don't change a thing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed for a week and were very disappointed with the hotel. The food ranges from average to poor. Some items were unedible. Thankfully there are restaurants nearby where one can find excellent options for dining. The air conditioning units in the room are old and make quite a lot of noise through the night as they hum and click on and off. The room and furnishings were worn out. Website photos make the place look better than it is in reality. The beach area of the hotel is not clean. We were quite disgusted by the condition of the chair cushions / covers. Get extra towels to sheild yourself from whatever has been left by previous loungers. The beach sand is also not cleaned up - found glass and cigarette butts at every turn. Tried to find another hotel but rooms were fully booked.

Room Tip: Look for a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We spent two weeks at Mango Bay in an ocean front room at the same time as a recently posted highly critical review. It was our fourth visit and we came away with a somewhat more positive perspective. In no way does the hotel market itself as a five star hotel and the website photos are a relatively accurate portrayal of the property. Mango Bay is categorized as a 4 star hotel. I would classify it as an excellent 3.5 to 4 star hotel. I tend not to exaggerate these things. Unfortunately, marketing people often do.

We know from past experience that mosquito and sandflies can be a problem in Barbados but only experienced very few bites this year. We are not big users of the bar, but over the years have not been aware of others having problems, and this year there was special emphasis on taking orders from those sitting around the pool and on the beach. Special thanks to Peter and others who provided this service. The furniture in the dining room may appear a bit tired to some, but it needs to be pointed out that at dinner the tables are covered with elegant white cloths, accompanied by cloth serviettes and candle centre-pieces. As has been mentioned several times the hotel has a booking policy for lunch and dinner for a reason. It is a relatively small hotel and not everyone can eat at the same time, just like the best cruise boats. We have always found the staff to be accommodating if we really had trouble finding a time that worked for us.

The few recent negative reviews of the food at Mango Bay are where we take most issue. We are not gourmet diners, but characterizing the food as “tasteless cheap muck” is insulting to Chef Peter and his staff. The hotel is always trying to provide a variety of options and an acceptable mix between buffets and full service. We have never had a problem finding something we were happy with on the menu, but they are always willing to try and accommodate special requests.

Sometimes things do run out at breakfast but often if you ask it can be provided. We would like to specifically mention Mary who makes eggs anyway you wish . . . what a joy to have someone like that greet you in the morning with a cheery welcome while you are still half asleep.

As has been stated many times before the staff really makes Mango Bay such a wonderful hotel. This includes Shireene, the manager, all the assistant managers, and the reception, restaurant and housekeeping staff. They are efficient, helpful, courteous, and always pleasant. Even when the hotel is filled to capacity, as it was in the second week we were there, the staff manages to cope with grace and good humor. Sure, you may have to wait a little longer for your food to arrive but who cares, you are on vacation. It is still the same excellent food, tasty and carefully prepared.

Go to Mango Bay with an open mind and reasonable expectations and you will have a wonderful time. The staff will make sure of that.

Room Tip: As has been said by others and upgrade to a deluxe or ocean view room is well worth the extra expend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We booked this for our honeymoon back in the Summer and a week before we left for Mango Bay we read a couple of very complaint riddled reviews that got us quite worried but having just got back I can't see what people were complaining about.

Straight off the bat let's cover some things that the complainers highlighted:

The age of the guests: Yes we were the youngest couple there by some way but should this bother you? We weren't there to hang out with other people, but the people we did speak to were lovely. A lot of the guests are repeat visitors who have been coming for years, but one couple we spoke to have been coming to Barbados for 30 years to another hotel that closed recently and they seemed to be having a good time.

Booking your meal times: You arrive at breakfast in the morning and they ask you what time you'd like for lunch and dinner, you take a pick of 15 minute intervals. This never caused us a problem and even on a day when a morning excursion to Bridgetown ended early we asked if we could eat earlier and they said yes. As for the format I think it's good, it means you don't get a mass rush to a buffet of food that's been hanging around. Most days you order a la carte and so it's not like food will run out.

Reserving of Sunbeds: Yes people do this but this isn't anything to do with the hotel and, if you read the booklet on arrival, it asks that guests respect others by not doing so.

The Road side rooms: Our room was 411 and was near to the bars in the street but not as close as other rooms, the balcony of our room over looked the pool so we were sort of in the middle of the front section. We found that the noise on the weekend was pretty loud, especially the Karaoke bar on Sunday but this is something you can plan for in advance by booking poolside or beach side rooms. Again this is no fault of the hotel.

Every Wednesday they have a sunset get together with a steel pan band where the guests and staff mix and the manager Shireene speaks about things going on on the island and reminds guests to talk to the staff if they have any complaints. They are obviously concious of the people who don't say anything and just air their grievances anonymously on here.

Overall we really enjoyed ourselves and our holiday was summed up when we went into the lobby one night to wait for a taxi, we stood around for a moment or two when the gentleman on reception asked if we were alright? We told him we were waiting for our lift to which he offered us a seat and replied "Relax, you're in Barbados" Perhaps everyone could take a leaf out of this book.

Room Tip: Rooms Pool side or beach side are more expensive but quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We had very high hopes for our holiday in Barbados but sadly we were very disappointed. Our ocean front room was fine with a huge comfortable bed, plenty of storage and good bathroom.. There is so little space at Mango Bay - side by side on the beach and in the restaurant and very tiny bar space.

Not bad so far, but the food!! I am afraid we found this terrible, the cheapest of all food badly cooked and you had to book a table for both lunch and dinner. They were constantly running out of things, first the muesli, then the Banks beer and finally the Gordon's gin which was replaced by a cheap variety.

The staff were friendly and very good but there appeared to be a problem higher up.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are good but noisy until the entertainment stops
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mango Bay All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Bay All Inclusive

Address: 2nd Street | Holetown, Holetown, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Holetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mango Bay All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango Bay Barbados is ideal for those seeking the convenience of an ALL-INCLUSIVE beach vacation combined with the personal and friendly service of a small resort. It enjoys a sought-after beachfront setting in St. James, on the famous west coast of Barbados.There are restaurants, bars, boutiques and cinema just steps away from Mango Bay in lively Holetown, including the brand new, upscale, LIMEGROVE LIFESTYLE CENTRE across the road from the resort. Mango Bay is approximately a 45 minute drive from the airport, and a 25-minute drive south of the hotel takes you to the capital Bridgetown. Mango Bay definitely gives you added value for an all inclusive hotel- included is a complimentary two-hour catamaran cruise to see the turtles, waterskiing & a glass bottom boat ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mango Bay All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Bay Hotel Holetown
Mango Bay Barbados
Mango Bay Saint James
Barbados Bay Mango
Mango Bay Hotel Barbados
Mango Bay All Inclusive Barbados/Holetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mango Bay All Inclusive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.