We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mango Bay All Inclusive

Save Saved
You added Mango Bay All Inclusive to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mango Bay All Inclusive
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   2nd Street | Holetown, Holetown, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Berwick
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

What a load of rubbish written by Toshposh - if you are going to complain get your facts right or don't bother. We never heard any complaint all week and despite a problem checking in we had a superb time - management and staff were brilliant. Dressed for the bar during the day is rubbish I was served numerous times in my shorts without a question? I think Mango Bay is better off without the likes of Toshposh who was probably jealous of the very active UK pensioners

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    249
    83
    29
    20
See reviews for
185
574
10
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Holiday was for 2 weeks from 16th January 2013.

This hotel is rated 4* and likes to think it offers 5* service but in reality barely reaches 3*.
This holiday was not cheap and we had upgraded to an ocean front room.
The website pictures are very misleading, the hotel is situated next to a stagnant water area which creates a nasty problem with mosquitoes despite the hotel spraying once during our 14 day stay. They seem disinterested in actively trying to get rid of the stagnant water. I ended up with 20 bites even though I was using jungle formula 3/4 x a day.

RECEPTION
Appearance ok, but the staff were constantly answering the phone during any queries we had, this is quite frankly bad manners and very annoying when the query had to be repeated 2 or 3 times because they lost their train of thought.

POOL AREA
This was acceptable as it had been repainted a couple of months ago.

DINING AREA
A wet bar area needs to be created as it is very annoying having to cover up just to fetch a drink( pretentious 5* dreams on behalf of management !)
We were happy with the evening dress code.

The furniture in particular the dining tables, and table mats were sadly in need of replacement, they were badly chipped and looked very tatty giving an overall impression of a hotel that couldn't be bothered to make an effort.
The service was acceptable but I really object to having to choose a time to eat lunch and dinner, usually the times we wanted were unavailable, We were on holiday and not at school ( no excuses about the kitchen not being able to cope either the kitchen should be properly organised to cater for all their guests ) We have never come across this system before and hopefully never again.
When booking a restaurant the customer chooses the time not the other way round !!

THE FOOD
Where do we start ! quite frankly the most disgusting over cooked tasteless cheap muck we have ever had the misfortune to eat.Has the chef never heard of "Jus" and freshly prepared sauces, everything came out of a bottle, even the vinegar was white spirit vinegar for the French dressing instead of white wine vinegar, balsamic vinegar was nowhere to be seen.All of the meat was of cheap cuts and the chicken bony bits with a smidgeon of meat. Fish was overcooked as well.
Despite the manager saying that if you would like a steak at any time just ask ( my husband is severely allergic to all fish) one night even the turkey had an oyster sauce so my husband asked for a steak explained why and was told no!!! he had to have the ubiquitous over cooked chicken again !! so much for a helpful service.
On an island renown for its coconuts, mangoes and papaya, the hotel barely used them in fact we did not have any fresh coconut or mango. Papaya was served for 3 mornings at breakfast out of 14. The melons which appeared each morning were under ripe and tasteless.
The bread was highly processed American variety and full of sugar absolutely disgusting, cereals cheapest on the market not to mention the cardboard like waffles and we hate to think what was in the sausages , we didn't dare eat them.

All we can say is the chef should stick to singing instead of attempting to cook.

BEDROOM
ocean front room spacious, but oh dear the bedroom and bathroom were badly in need of a revamp, the furniture was old,scratched and chipped. We had a constant problem with the bottom sheets they were 6" too short despite complaining bizarre!! The bathroom needed completely renewing and had a constant smell of drains. Hot water was a problem for the first week even though we made our concerns known to management. The second week there was a mass exodus of guests and so hot water arrived !! obviously the solar powered system needs to be upgraded.

Thank goodness for the sun and sea otherwise we would have come home straight away.
We ate out at Tides restaurant a few times expensive but worth every penny 6* service and food!

A very expensive mistake which we will not repeat and will not recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Always choose pool side or ocean front as there is noise from the bars around the hotel until the ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

There are lots of mixed reviews about Mango Bay - personally I believe your holiday is what you make it! Don't go whingeing to Tripadvisor about the bad times just speak tothe hotel manager (Shireen) who fixes most things. There is a mixed age range at Mango - roughly 35 - 80 while we stayed & believe me the older ones know how to party too!! We are late 30's & I agree the evening entertainment is a little dated but 1st street is around the corner - you couldn't ask for a livelier night (those in standard rooms will know all about this - very loud music on a Sunday night). Peace & quiet guaranteed in the Superior/Deluxe/Sea View rooms which you obviously pay a little extra for. Mango has many repeat guests so not as bad as some of the other reviews make out & the staff are so friendly we are often sad to leave. Yes, there is a dress code for evening dinner - a chance to get dressed up - but you can get served at the bar in the daytime in your beach wear so no issues there. Food is fab & yes you do have to book times for lunch & dinner but the restaurant is small so not all guests can eat at once. Water activities are free with the hotel - water skiing/hobie craft/pedalo/canoe/catamaran/glass bottom boat - only if the sea is calm - red flag out if too dangerous - nature of the West coast unfortunately so no fault of the hotel. Will defo be going back next year so don't let the bad reviews put you off - your holiday is what you make it so dont blame the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms in main hotel are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We arrived Friday the 25-01-2013 for seven days. on arrival We were met at the airport and taken to the hotel, The room was large, The A/C worked perfectly. the shower was good. 7 ft bed.
The beach, although small was sufficient. We always found sun beds in good positions.
A waiter came onto the beach to ask if we would like refreshments. The food was excellent, with
plenty of choice. We will return to this hotel next year.

Room Tip: Our room 407 did not have the best view the hotel could offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

I write this review with a heavy heart. We stayed at a different (non-all-inclusive) hotel on the south coast of barbados for the first week of our stay, and finished our last few days at this all inclusive hotel. I feel badly about writing a negative review on this hotel only because management knew that we were extremely dissatisfied and went out of their way to pay for additional activities to make it right -which the certainly did.

However, other potential hotel guests need to be aware of what they are getting into before they stay here. The standard rooms are tired, dated and are generally poor. Make sure if you are going to spend the money to come to this resort that you book a higher category room (as we were upgraded later and that room was WAY more presentable). The hotel buildings themselves here are tired and dated.

There is an odd vibe here. My husband referred to it as "Club nearly dead" as opposed to "Club Med". Very elderly guests from the UK seem to flock here and return annually. My husband and I are mid 30's age group. Unless you've never stayed at an all-inclusive before, you will hate it here. My husband and I have stayed at many hotels of higher and lower prices all over the caribbean. Some guests were so elderly and frail at the hotel that they relied on us to assist them to get out of the pool. My husband and I work in healthcare back home in Canada in a hospital setting and (at no fault of the hotel) felt as though we were still at work. Even the nightly entertainment catered to the elderly, including singers who sang songs from the 50's and 60's.

The scheduled meal times are a MAJOR drawback of this hotel. It's great if you just want to stay at the resort all day and night (and I guess that's what many of the elderly do) but not if you want to go out and about. The meals (that we didn't end up missing due to the ridiculous pre-booking policy) were decent but nothing to write home about.

This hotel honestly tries to hard to be a 5 star demanding long pants and collared shirts 4 men for dinner yet the meals were 3 star at best. They demand shirts shorts and shoes to get a drink at the bar. Really? It would be ok if there was more than 1 bar - one with rules one with none, but who wants to drag all their clothes to the beach to change after a swim just to go to the bar? Also there is only one restaurant.

Water sports that are "all inclusive" don't run every day -such as catamaran trip or glass bottom boat. They will attempt to make arrangements if you complain mind you. Nobody seemed to take out the hobby cat (probably due to old age) but the water sports centre lies and says they are booked when they are not. Again, if you complain to front desk they will fix that. Ugh. When we were there, there was literally NO BEACH. 3 loungers were all that fit. The rest were on property. Management says it all depends on the time of year as to weather or not there is a beach -but if you do your YouTube research you will see the truth. They want a lot of money to stay here because it the "west side of the island" which is the rich side. Location to lime grove shopping centre is good - they have Cartier and Louie V there etc and it's within walking distance to local souvenir shops too.

Overall we were surprised to discover that many of the other guests were dissatisfied with the resort as well but it appeared nobody had the proverbial "balls" to complain. The hotel will grease your wheel if it squeaks however most people when they spend the kind of money this hotel wants and are on vacation would rather just sit and stew and attempt to make the best of it. People need to be aware before they come here and that's the ONLY reason I'm writing this review. Like I said, the hotel made it right for us but that does not deter me from telling potential visitors the truth.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samtul, Manager at Mango Bay All Inclusive, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Toshposh,

We are not in the habit of responding to reviews posted by our guests as we firmly believe that this is a forum for our guests to write freely about their experiences at our hotel. We accept that not all of the reviews will be flattering and that we cannot be everything to everyone...even though we try really hard to find the mix and balance that will make most of our guests happy. We will respond, however, when there is incorrect information posted about the hotel that could cause future client's concern during the decision -making process of whether to holiday with us or not, and this review has prompted many questions from future holiday-makers. We will try to answer a few of those questions in this response.

You had a problem with your Standard room and we offered to upgrade you to another category of room at no cost as we accepted that the hotel was at fault. You declined that offer and chose to stay where you were. You did not see another Standard room and therfore to generalize that all standard rooms are in poor condition is a very, very misleading statement.

You spent three nights with us and had a problem securing a time to sail on your first full day with us as the slots were all taken by other guests. I explained that because of your very short stay, we would have to make special arrangements to be able to schedule everything that you wanted to do...sailing, snorkeling, catamarman and glass bottom trips into that short time frame. We have 3 scheduled catamaran trips per week and two glass bottom boat trips, which are both contracted services. We were able to get you on all the trips but you opted to go with another excursion which you thought you might prefer and we arranged this for you to take the edge off of your obvious frustration with the fact that we were not the type of all-inclusive hotel that you said you thought we were going to be.

Mango Bay has a wide mix of clientele throughout the year, and like most other Caribbean destinations, our guests do tend to be a little older in general in the winter season. This does not mean that we do not have a mixture of young and old year-round, so to suggest that having some older folk is something bad is a little insensitive. Hopefully we will all be blessed with long lives and the ability to take holidays in our golden years! We respect and cater to all ages, and our entertainment is the same year-round irrespective of age of guests in the hotel. The entertainment is very mixed with different bands every night, with the hope that there will be something for everyone during their stay.

We request restaurant bookings to be able to provide the best service possible in the restaurant, like any stand-alone resturant would do. If we did not do that, everyone would want to have lunch at 1pm and dinner at 8pm. If persons are late, forgot to make a reservation, etc, they will ALWAYS still be seated and fed. If guests are hungry outside of meal times, they can ALWAYS get sometging to eat! No one goes hungry at the hotel ever, and this has been pointed out by earlier reviewers over and over again.

We do NOT require shirts, shorts and shoes at the bar. Never have. Never will. Not sure where you would have seen or heard this. We have a dress code in the restaurant. (Please see our website for information on our dresscode, and hotel in general). We do not do this to be pretentious, but to maintain a decent standard in the restaurant in the evenings. All we require for lunch is a cover up over swimwear and that clothes are dry. Footwear is suggested for safety reasons. Our guests can go to the bar in swimwear (once not dripping) during the day, and in smart shorts at night (even on nights when long pants are required in the restaurant for dining).

We do not try to be 5 star hotel ever. We simply try to provide excellent value for money, and that is what we have become renowned for.

At no time will we have 3 sunbeds only on the beach. If we have a ground swell as we did on the first day that you arrived, the sea will be rougher and we will put more chairs on the boardwalk and grass. By the last day that you were here, you would have seen the sea settled and the beach back to normal.

This hotel is not in the habit of "wheel-greasing". We expect that we may have problems at times, and where we are at fault, we will try to compensate our guests. We encourage our guests to let us know if they are having challenges with anything, early in their stay, so that we have the chance to do something about the problem immediately. We are a small hotel and therefore have the ability to be flexible in many areas. Our relationship with our guests is built on our willingness to tailor-make holidays as far as we can and it is this personalizing of experiences that sets us apart.

We are truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations. You said that you thought you were getting a different type of all-inclusive hotel. At that point, we could only try to make the best of the situation, and we are at least pleased to hear that we were able to make it right for you!

We are also happy that you had a good time on the South Coast and enjoyed Barbados over all!

Yours sincerely,


Shireene Mathlin-Tulloch
Hotel Manager

smathlin@mangobaybarbados.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

My partner and I visted Mango Bay in November 2012. We were immediately greated by very friendly staff who caterted for my hungry tummy even though we arrived outside of dinner hours. The holiday pretty much continued as it started. We met some lovely guests and enjoyed the food, although we did out often as we wanted to experience some of the recommended restaurants. The free excusions were a great touch also. It is situated in a great location, close to shops, bars, a cinema, restaurants and of course a scenic beach. I would return just to see the staff again. Me and my partner were very satisfied :)

Room Tip: Choose a room that is furthest away from the entertainment as you may get disturbed by the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed at mango bay over Xmas and new year having been to Barbados many times we found a little gem in this hotel; great location, good food and nice staff. New years eve party was fantastic they really pushed the boat out from the banquet to the fireworks. We can understand peoples complaints about the noise but be careful of which room you book you need to avoid the rooms at the front of the hotel to avoid street noise .Don't book them all leave one for us!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mango Bay All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Bay All Inclusive

Address: 2nd Street | Holetown, Holetown, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Holetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mango Bay All Inclusive 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango Bay Barbados is ideal for those seeking the convenience of an ALL-INCLUSIVE beach vacation combined with the personal and friendly service of a small resort. It enjoys a sought-after beachfront setting in St. James, on the famous west coast of Barbados.There are restaurants, bars, boutiques and cinema just steps away from Mango Bay in lively Holetown, including the brand new, upscale, LIMEGROVE LIFESTYLE CENTRE across the road from the resort. Mango Bay is approximately a 45 minute drive from the airport, and a 25-minute drive south of the hotel takes you to the capital Bridgetown. Mango Bay definitely gives you added value for an all inclusive hotel- included is a complimentary two-hour catamaran cruise to see the turtles, waterskiing & a glass bottom boat ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mango Bay All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Bay Hotel Holetown
Mango Bay Barbados
Mango Bay Saint James
Barbados Bay Mango
Mango Bay Hotel Barbados
Mango Bay All Inclusive Barbados/Holetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mango Bay All Inclusive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.