We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No - but then again Yes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mango Bay All Inclusive

Save Saved
You added Mango Bay All Inclusive to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mango Bay All Inclusive
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   2nd Street | Holetown, Holetown, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Holetown
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“No - but then again Yes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Mango Bay Hotel – Holetown, Barbados

My wife and I have just returned from Mango Bay Hotel in Barbados, this was our first visit to the island. We arrived at the hotel in the early afternoon and received a warm and cheerful greeting from the receptionist on duty.
A welcoming cocktail helped in the completion of the check-in procedure, a short guided tour of the hotel and its amenities followed - a warm and pleasant introduction to our holiday.

Room:
We had upgraded our room and this proved to be an excellent decision, the room was spacious and comfortable, getting the balance of the air-conditioning proved a little tricky (not sure that the thermostat was working correctly) the room overlooked the beach and sea, with its own verandah housing a couple of reclining chairs.
Fresh beach towels were provided daily on an exchange basis.
The bathroom was adequate housing a, toilet washbasin and a combined bath/shower, the complimentary toiletries being refreshed daily. Toweling provided was adequate but could have been improved with the addition of a couple more towels, also, on a couple of occasions housekeeping failed to clean the room until very late in the afternoon.

Dining:
The hotel had only the one restaurant, however in general the food provided was excellent with a good choice of menu – a couple of minor complaints,
1) You were required to book your dining times for lunch and also for dinner, I would have preferred to have the flexibility of choice.
2) Service was in general slow, and the staff generally (with one or two exceptions) gave the impression of being inconvenienced by your presence.
3) Breakfast menu was disappointing in choices of fresh fruit - for a Caribbean Island I would have expected a greater selection.

Pool/Beach:
The hotel has been built on a very compact site, as a result the surround to the pool is a little limited and the number of sunbed/loungers that can be accommodated is restricted, the beach like all beaches in Barbados is public, and the hotel does well in providing sun loungers/umbrellas for all guests. It would have been improved if they could also have provided small tables – you do need somewhere to park your Rum Punch!
Of course the usual problem of people reserving sun loungers and then disappearing for a number of hours was encountered, the hotel made a lot of noise to discourage this – but no action followed.

Entertainment:
Daytime
Sunday – Glass bottomed boat, a complimentary trip - not great but it passed some time, after a while of seeing nothing it’s amazing how enthralled you can be on seeing a fish go past
On the Tuesday we went on the complimentary catamaran trip, swimming with the turtles, it was excellent a truly fabulous experience, on our return we immediately booked for the same trip on the Thursday, this too lived up to our expectations.
Watersports were complimentary and included water-skiing – an activity often excluded from other resorts, and the usual Hobie Cats.
The pedalos and surf canoes just seemed a little bit too energetic.
Evening,
Cabaret style entertainment is provided on most nights – excellent.

Overall:
On completion of the hotels survey at the end of our week we said that we would not return, on reflection that’s incorrect!
Even though there were very minor irritants, the overall impression of this hotel, staff and facilities was very, very good, if not quite excellent!
We would be very happy to go back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

971 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    598
    242
    82
    29
    20
See reviews for
181
563
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at Mango Bay for 10 days in October. The hotel is in a great location. Food is lovely and well presented. My only complaint is the waiting staff , they seem to be programmed like robots. All they ever say is your welcome without actually listening to what you are asking for. Once more with feeling springs to mind.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at Mango Bay late October 2012, we just had a week to celebrate my 50th birthday. Being a Brit I shall start with the moan....

1. We didnt get a fresh bottle of mineral water in our room every night.
2. The restaurant was so good we didn't really try the local eateries.

Thats all there was to moan about.

The hotel has around 70 rooms I guess, and about 60 of them were occupied so the hotel was busy ish, but certainly not crowded. Never a long wait at the bar and always a good time for each meal.

Breakfast was as you'd expect a full buffet with everything you can reasonably expect and all of a lovely standard. Lunch was enough, all you really want is a salad or something light after that breakfast and a hard morning by the pool or in the lovely sea. Dinner was fantastic every night, a fine dining experience with managable portions of beautiful food, the fish was to die for.

Things I really liked.
Peter... he comes on to the beach to take your drink orders, very welcome.
The never empty wine glass...... actually this was the girls serving at the restaurant. They were so attentive and cheerful. Never did we see one not smiling and nothing was too much trouble. You could even have a nice but of chat and banter with them. Excellent.
Management.... there all the time, nothing was too much trouble.

I'm not one for returning to a location, but this would really be top of my list. A fantastic hotel, excellent staff and its right on the beach. What more could you want from a holiday.

Room Tip: All rooms are all good with either a pool or beach view, but we only spent sleep and dressing time i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

When we first arrived at the hotel we were immediately greeted by Ansley. He offered us a drink and explained the resort and gave us a tour. We were a little hungry from our trip to Barbados and asked if there any snacks, he went above our expectations and asked if we wanted hamburger and fries. He called the kitchen to make us a couple of burgers and fries and we began the tour of the hotel. When our food was ready, we ate and then continued the tour.

We highly recommend a deluxe room on the 4th floor, great views and the noise from the nearby bars is not bad.

As other reviews have mentioned there is a dress code for dinner. Guys, just bring a pair of pants and a shirt! If you don't, you eat in what we and some other visitors dubbed the 'banished area'. It as a table on the boardwalk under a fluorescent light, like a spot light, and brings even more attention to your table.

For an all-inclusive the food was decent, although there were not many Caribbean food options as it seemed they cater to visitors from the UK, for example, one day they had liver as a dinner option and sheppards pie for lunch (was just meat sauce surrounded with mashed potatoes). They even have a tea time and dessert always had the option of cheese and crackers. But if you know what you want, you can plan ahead and the kitchen will cook it for you. For example, I requested jerk chicken and a chicken roti on separate occasions for dinner (both very good). For those with larger appetites, I did not have a problem ordering two meals or having extras on the side. I often ordered the fish fillet on the side. The meats and fish were sometimes overcooked, but everything came with a sauce so it was still an OK meal. Breakfast was good with someone cooking eggs the way you like it, bacon, sausage, waffles etc.

Our best meal was at the fish fry on Friday night in Oisten and a must when in Barbados. Pat's place is the best place to eat and the only place at the fish fry with a constant line-up. Also get the macaroni pie. There are also a lot of vendors to shop at. Great atmosphere.

The front end staff were amazing, Ansley and Erika were by far the best and they were ‘trainees’. They have a passion for the island and always willing to help. The guys at the bar were also exceptional and creative when I asked for something different. It would have been nice if the guys had mint to make mojitos. If you are a big drinker, bring a travel insulated mug since the drinks are given in a small plastic cup. The staff during the meals were hit and miss, sometimes the service was great, and other times we waited long periods to get our dessert. On the last day we were there, it took 30 minutes to get our lunch and we were left scrambling to check out.

The beach was great, small beach but we never had a problem getting a spot on the beach after breakfast. If the resort is full, then make sure you get your spot in the morning. The last couple of days we were there, the beach was washed out so there were no loungers on the beach. There were some locals who often stayed in the beach area or often came by to try to sell you things. When we first came we were not sure if they worked at the resort. Remember nothing is free if someone comes to offer a coconut or bracelet.

The entertainment was OK, a couple of nights were disappointing with a DJ playing ‘elevator’ music or music for an older crowd and a guy playing a piano in the restaurant. This is a quieter resort and we did not expect too much. By 11 pm the bar area was empty and the bar closed early. If you like going to bars, Sunday night seemed like the best night to go to the bars outside the resort.

It is easy getting around by bus and it only cost $1 USD. Just be aware that the buses get pretty packed at rush hour and on Friday nights going to Oisten for the fish fry. Bajans were very friendly and always willing to help to give directions. We always felt safe travelling within Barbados. We took a tour from the hotel to the Harrison's Cave and wildlife reserve, both very good and our private tour guide, Cleston, was amazing!

They also have a great duty free system throughout Barbados. Certain stores will give you a duty free price and send alcohol to the airport for your departure. All you need is your passport and departure flight number.

Overall, we had a great stay in Barbados. Even if the weather is not good or if the beach is washed out, there is lots to do (Holetown, Bridgetown, other attractions).

Room Tip: Get a deluxe room on 4th floor, better view and less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncater
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Just spent eight nights in a fourth floor room with a partial sea view. Room was comfortable, clean and reasonably quiet.
Only decisions we had to make were times to have the lovely meals and whether to chill out in the sun or shade.
Staff were all attentive and pleasant, drinks were limited for choice but sufficient. Plenty of activity provided for the adventurous if desired.
Planning to return for a week next year,hopefully to the same room. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Fourth foor with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My husband & I spent 6 nights at Mango Bay on our honeymoon in mid-September & absolutely loved it! This was my third trip to Barbados (first to Mango Bay) & my husband's first - September is a quiet month on the island, when most of its larger hotels close down for yearly repairs, but we were happy for it - after all the stress of planning a wedding a week of relaxing at Mango Bay was just what we needed.

Mango Bay is a rather small resort on a beautiful strip of beach on Payne's Bay in Holetown. Within walking distance from the hotel are many restaurants, a new, upscale shopping mall, & a strip mall with a grocery store & souvenir shops. Buses going into Bridgetown run right past the hotel every few minutes, & they are a local experience not to be missed.

We were greeted upon arrival with rum punch, a nice touch, & given a tour of the grounds while our room was being readied. We opted for an upgraded room & were very happy for it - it ended up being a poolside room, very convenient, & kept spotlessly clean during our entire stay. Champagne in a bucket of ice with a congratulatory note awaited our arrival, another nice touch.

All-inclusive meals were great - a full buffet breakfast every morning, plenty of choices at a sit-down lunch every day, & a three-course dinner every night - the menu is posted outside the restaurant every morning so you won't be surprised, & you will find it hard to pick from the many choices. If you have any special dietary requirements & give the staff some notice, they are happy to prepare a special meal for you. All-inclusive drinks are not top-shelf, but not a problem. Evening entertainment is very low-key, but there is something different every night & nice if you don't want to go off-property.

Many activities at the hotel are included - the catamaran trip to swim with the turtles is not to be missed. Take the glass-bottom boat trip if you have a strong stomach - it is definitely not a smooth ride. Not included is the hotel spa - we had a couples massage, my husband's first, & it was outstanding. The pool area is small but well-kept & centrally located right near the restaurant area. The beach is beautiful, arrive early if you want to get choice spots & lounge chairs - a firm "no" to the many vendors hawking everything from massages to aloe vera gel will keep them at bay - they are not allowed on Mango Bay's property.

What made our stay at Mango Bay so special was the staff - they cannot do enough for you. Most notable - Ryan at the Front Desk, Dennis & Francois at the bar, & Maureen at both bar & restaurant, plus Shireene the Manager, who made it a point to remember the names of all those staying for special occasions like honeymoons, anniversaries & birthdays. Our fellow guests, mostly British, were some of the nicest people we've ever met, so friendly & welcoming.

In short, we were very happy we picked both the beautiful island of Barbados, & Mango Bay, for our honeymoon, & look forward to going back again soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Returned a few weeks ago from a terrible holiday at this hotel. This was our 8th holiday to Barbados having stayed at 5,4 and 3 star hotels on the island previously. We chose Mango Bay because it was a small hotel and its great west coast location and ticked all the boxes in the brochure description . We booked our holiday through Best at travel paying around £5000. After reading all the great holiday reports on Trip advisor we were both very excited about our 2 week holiday.

On the second day after arrival all the holiday makers in the hotel were called to a meeting in the restaurant with the hotel manager to be told that there would be some refurbishment work going on during our stay starting the next day. Nobody knew about this and nothing had been mentioned when we booked the holiday and no one else was aware of this. The reason given to everyone was that the hotel was only at 40 percent occupancy and senior management had taken the decision to go ahead with the work. The manager was completely out of her depth when questions were put to her. As you can imagine the majority of the holiday makers were not happy about the decision to go ahead with out consultation. I remember one couple almost in tears as they said a holiday of a lifetime had been ruined. No attempt to compensate us for the inconvenience and disruption to our holiday was given by the hotel other than a room upgrade and as the hotel is small this would have made no difference to the noise from the what we called the Mango Bay building site.

The work to be carried out was as follows
Replace mosaic tiles in swimming pool this took 3 day alternative options offered use a small pool next door or a pool 10 minutes walk down the beach at travellers palm resort which was closed.
Replace roof on restaurant and bar area. no alternative given. This went on for most of our stay and had not been completed when we left.
Refurbishments not mentioned at the managers meeting
Diamond drilling in standard room block between 3rd and second floor. A petrol generator was placed outside our room and fumes from it stank our room out.
Refurbishment to rooms in standard rooms with drilling hammering and sawing noise.
Other people complained of noise in the deluxe/ sea view block during our stay.

In my opinion the hotel should have been closed for a week or two for all the refurbishment work to be blitzed. The manager said this was not possible due to the lost revenue.

The managers cocktail party at the hotel owners plantation house was a cynical attempt to compensate for all the inconvenience, noise and upset caused by the refurbishment work at the hotel.

Accommodation

We stayed in a standard room which over looked the pool area. The entry looked over 2nd street and the One love bar more about that later in my report. It was clean and spacious. Facilities in the room were standard. Television, hairdryer, safe, tea and coffee making equipment. No fridge in the room but you could hire one for around £80 for your 2 week stay. This was the first hotel we have stayed in without a fridge and the fee to hire one was quite expensive. The room was serviced well by the housekeeping team.

Bar

Staff
Most of the staff at the bar were good at there job with a good knowledge of cocktails namely Dennis, Rondel, Peter and Maureen.

Drink quality and variety
The quality and selection of drinks was poor for a 4 star hotel in my opinion. Very few branded labels. On the first night I asked for a mojito and the bar man said that they had no mint as the management would not authorise the purchase of mint he said he had asked for this several time in the past. All the cocktails are made from cheap island brands again not what you would expect for the price of the holiday and the 4 star rating.

The bar was kept clean and tidy during our stay the bar furniture was dated and not very comfortable.

Restaurant

Staff
The staff at the restaurant were mostly attentive Jurnell, Cindy Ann were good at there jobs one person who we found quite rude was Samantha who had a very bad attitude. One thing I would say is ban staff using mobile phones from the restaurant area its not very professional and annoying hearing message alerts and seeing staff checking there phones when your having your meal.

Food quality and variety

Breakfast
Hot and cold help yourself breakfast available this was average quality but quite limited on the selection of items.

Lunch
buffet and menu mostly on alternative days. sandwiches, burgers, hot dogs, chips. pork or chicken stews, rice, veg, salads, fish.

Dinner
Menu or Buffet/BBQ night This was disappointing.

Quality of menu is poor as is the food most meat cuts are cheap at no time during our stay did we see a chicken breast or prime cut of meat. Size of portions are small. The best night for eating at the hotel was BBQ night.

Dress code requirements for dinner are outdated and pretentious.

We ate out during our stay at The Cliff, Tides and Daphne's all were fantastic and well recommended.


Night time entertainment.
This would start at around 8pm and go into 10-11pm mostly local bands and singers. I have to mention the limbo dancers as this was funny usual thing pull people up from the audience only 2 people participated with the 2 dancers the pole went down twice the participants sat down clap clap well done. The pole was then lit and the dancers went under twice and that was it !! 10 minutes floor show what a joke.

Sunday night
If you are staying in the standard room block you will not get to sleep before 12pm due to the noise from the one love bar on 2nd street. Sunday night is Karaoke night at this open air bar. I would recommend staying up late leaving the hotel and joining in the fun with the locals.

Areas of concern around the hotel
Broken tiles around poor area
light fitting with exposed wires around the hotel and pool area.
Rubbish not cleared from garden areas
lack of security with an open gate to the street un-guarded.
No active fire break glass units in standard room block.
Sand flies and mosquito's from stagnant creek that runs alongside hotel you will need plenty of repellent.

summing up

I would not recommend this hotel due to the nightmare stay that we had. In my opinion this hotel is a 3 star hotel and not a 4 star.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mango Bay All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Bay All Inclusive

Address: 2nd Street | Holetown, Holetown, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Holetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Holetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mango Bay All Inclusive 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango Bay Barbados is ideal for those seeking the convenience of an ALL-INCLUSIVE beach vacation combined with the personal and friendly service of a small resort. It enjoys a sought-after beachfront setting in St. James, on the famous west coast of Barbados.There are restaurants, bars, boutiques and cinema just steps away from Mango Bay in lively Holetown, including the brand new, upscale, LIMEGROVE LIFESTYLE CENTRE across the road from the resort. Mango Bay is approximately a 45 minute drive from the airport, and a 25-minute drive south of the hotel takes you to the capital Bridgetown. Mango Bay definitely gives you added value for an all inclusive hotel- included is a complimentary two-hour catamaran cruise to see the turtles, waterskiing & a glass bottom boat ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Mango Bay All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Bay Hotel Holetown
Mango Bay Barbados
Mango Bay Saint James
Barbados Bay Mango
Mango Bay Hotel Barbados
Mango Bay All Inclusive Barbados/Holetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mango Bay All Inclusive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.