We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time of our live,s” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mango Bay All Inclusive

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mango Bay All Inclusive to your Saves list
Mango Bay All Inclusive
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   2nd Street | Holetown, Holetown, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Cannock, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Time of our live,s”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

WOW! where do I start, we had two weeks at mango bay and we could not fault a thing, from the fantastic service to the free watersports what an amazing place.
We stayed in a standard room and we had no complaints bed was really comfy and yes the street behind can be a little noisy buy hey guys your in the caribean, chill out and join in with the party, karokie and piano bay are a great night out, for all you bores out there take a chill pill man!
Big shout out to the resturaunt staff Tanya, Dionne and Sam to name a few, they were all really good, they exceeded our expectations. As a same sex couple we felt really welcome and comfy in the resort which we will be visiting again. food was really varied and always served with a smile, food was really good better than expected, if you dont fancy anything on the menu all you need to do is ask..

We learn,t to waterski while we were there Tyron the guy on watersports is really patient and takes you out when you want.. all the free trips are great well worth the money, thats if your up for it guys.

Entertainment was really good some nights more chilled and others were great. The Virgo girls are amazing we love them! keep it up girls.. the chef even came out out and sang a few songs.

Overall to some it up te staff at Mango bay make it special, they even had a bottle of champers on ice in our room on arrival, cheers guys..

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    625
    265
    84
    30
    21
See reviews for
189
596
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

This is a wonderful little hotel. We took out honeymoon there in July 2011 and we has a great experience. The hotel is intimate and quiet. The staff are all really friendly and helpful. The hotel quickly helped us organize any excursion we'd like. The meals at the restaurant were fresh and had a lot of variety each night. The hotel is also directly on the beach but it close enough to some interesting shops and nightlife if you are feeling adventerous.

Room Tip: We choose the deluxe ocean front room. It is really worth the upgrade price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pevensey Bay
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

My husband and I have just come back from Mango Bay, in Holetown, Barbados. What a fabulous time we had. The staff were lovely nothing was too much trouble. Our room was a little tired around the edges but spotlessly clean and the bed was very comfortable.

The location is right on the beach and so peaceful to just chill and meet and chat to other guests of the hotel. Some of the entertainment was far superior than we expected, really amazing singing and the music was brilliant so like the original artists that it surprosed me. Some of the girl singers had such a wide range of voice styles. We would definaltely recommend this hotel to others for a lovely peaceful and friendly time.

Room Tip: The rooms stepping onto the beach are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canary
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

This is a great all-inclusive resort with a nice pool and beach . The staff are friendly and the service and food are excellent . The restaurant insists on trousers for men in the evenings which is a little unnecessary and implies the hotel is more than it is - let people just relax !! The rooms are fine - nothing too over the top but ok by caribbean standards. Overall though very good particularly pre or post cruise.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

We have just returned from Barbados,where we were originally booked in to mango bay.we were a family group of three,my husband,myself,and my 31year old daughter.i had booked a luxury one bed appartment,and requested a full size bed for my daughter,as she is 6 ft tall.upon our arrival,we were trawled around the hotel in the rain,dragging our cases with us,and located in a dingy small condo,which was totally unsuitable,and my daughters bed would have only suited a 5year old!
Her sleeping area had no air-con,and a broken ceiling fan,to which engineers were called,who promptly trampled on her bed in attempt to repair it,to no avail.tired from our nine hour flight,we did not unpack,slept badly,and requested to be moved.
After no help at all from management,and being told that no other rooms were free,we made plans to return to the uk,totally despondent.
Thanks to tropical sky,and their local rep,we were relocated to a beautiful hotel down the st.james coast,but in the process,lost 3 days of our 1week holiday.the only good thing about mango bay was the restaurant staff,who were lovely,but the hotel itself,the beach,and the management staff,I could only rate as upper 2 star!dont expect luxury here?

Room Tip: Ask for the refurbished block!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samtul, Manager at Mango Bay All Inclusive, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Dear Kanga81,

Thank you for your review of Mango Bay and compliments paid to our restaurant staff.

We are so very sorry that we did not meet your family's expectations, and also truly regret that you were not present for of any of the discussions between ourselves and your husband and daughter.

Without getting into the details of what happened,and for the purpose of our readers who rely on Trip Advisor to help determine whether they should stay with us or not, please allow me to just clarify that the 6 one-bedroom apartments that we sell are all STANDARD rooms, and not LUXURY rooms as you said you thought you booked. Our website explicitly states what each of our room categories comes with, and in the case of the apartments, there is no air-conditioning in the living areas. Extra beds are twin beds as we do not have full size beds on property. The options are always kings or twins.

The fan in your room was a new fan but unfortunately was wobbling slightly when you first turned it on. Our Maintenance Manager promptly went to your room with a ladder to repair the problem.

I am sorry that you left thinking that the three of us from Senior Management did nothing to try to assist your husband and daughter when we met. When we learned that your family were uncomfortable with your daughter sleeping on a twin bed in a room with fan only, we offered an additional room to the one you had, free of charge, for the first night, until we could determine what the next best option would be. That offer was declined and sadly, all of the options we suggested for your family were also turned down. We were terribly disappointed that we were not able to accommodate you as Mango Bay will do everything, always, within its power to ensure that our guests leave very happy with their holidays, and want to return!

We are happy that Tropical Sky was able to intercede, and agreed to provide for you the room and holiday that you wanted, as no one wanted to see you cut your vacation short and return to the UK.

We are pleased that you eventually had a good holiday in Barbados and will return to the island in the future!

Best regards,

Shireene Mathlin-Tulloch
Hotel Manager

smathlin@mangobaybarbados.com
Tel: 246 432 1384
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Mango Bay is a very popular small hotel on the calmer West Side of the island. Its great strengths are the friendliness of staff and the quality of entertainment. Meals were good too - especially breakfast - and varied throughout the week with a sprinkling of buffets and barbeques. Conveniently located in the heart of Holetown which is very pleasant and has nice shops and restaurants. There are two free catamaran rides which take you out to swim with the turtles. Yes you actually do swim with them and they come close enough to stroke. Other free watersports are available and there is a very good sub aqua dive shop just down the road (West Side Divers). We heard that the standard rooms were noisy at night but this only affected us on one night. One slight disadvantage is limited space for sunbeds on the beachfront but we found it was equally nice around the pool.

Room Tip: Go for a beach facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

We have just spent a week at this hotel after a week's cruise. An ideal place to wind down. Unfortunately my husband was taken ill during our stay and I cannot thank the Manageress enough for her kindness. She took and collected us from the clinic and also the Doctors and showed genuine concern for my husband's well being. We cannot thank her and her staff enough. Would definitely stay here again and next time we might not have 5 days of rain!

Room Tip: The streets behind the hotel can be a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samtul, Manager at Mango Bay All Inclusive, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Dear York Janty,

I have been trying to respond to your very kind, personal, "Thank You" note since you posted it, but did not realize that the procedure for Management Responses on Trip Advisor changed in December 2011! ( We are not in the habit of posting public responses as we do believe that this is a forum for our guests to express themselves. We only respond where we think we absolutely need to).

In this case, I just wanted to say again that what I did for your husband was absolutely no trouble to me at all. Any one of us would have been happy to do the same. We were all so very sorry that your husband was not well enough for you both to enjoy your short holiday with us.

We do sincerely hope that you will make it back to Mango Bay one day soon. (Unfortunately, the weather has become unpredictable world wide!)

Trust that your husband is much better now.

Kind regards,

Shireene Mathlin-Tulloch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mango Bay All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Bay All Inclusive

Address: 2nd Street | Holetown, Holetown, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Holetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mango Bay All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango Bay Barbados is ideal for those seeking the convenience of an ALL-INCLUSIVE beach vacation combined with the personal and friendly service of a small resort. It enjoys a sought-after beachfront setting in St. James, on the famous west coast of Barbados.There are restaurants, bars, boutiques and cinema just steps away from Mango Bay in lively Holetown, including the brand new, upscale, LIMEGROVE LIFESTYLE CENTRE across the road from the resort. Mango Bay is approximately a 45 minute drive from the airport, and a 25-minute drive south of the hotel takes you to the capital Bridgetown. Mango Bay definitely gives you added value for an all inclusive hotel- included is a complimentary two-hour catamaran cruise to see the turtles, waterskiing & a glass bottom boat ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Mango Bay All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Bay Hotel Holetown
Mango Bay Barbados
Mango Bay Saint James
Barbados Bay Mango
Mango Bay Hotel Barbados
Mango Bay All Inclusive Barbados/Holetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mango Bay All Inclusive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.