We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“little piece of homey paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Reef Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Holetown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coral Reef Club
Save
You added Coral Reef Club to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Porters | St. James, Holetown BB24017, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Certificate of Excellence
Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“little piece of homey paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We went to this hotel for a 4 days romantic break. What a lovely experience! Staff is friendly and kind, the hotel is elegant and cosy without being pretentious. You can feel that it's family run by the attention to details. Most clients seemed to be habitués. The rooms are stunning, very colonial caribbean style, with a lovely terrace for breakfast and a big nice bathroom.
There is a cute little beach, and they have canoes and paddle-boards at your disposal.
The food at the hotel is quite nice, and the breakfast buffet is AMAZING!!!! There is everything you can wish for, from fruits, to egs in every possible fashion.Highly recommended to have their home made waffles! They prepare them under your eyes and they're the most amazing ones i've ever had.
Perfect for a romantic, elegant but relaxed vacation.
Only little issue is the bird poop on the seats at the restaurant. Seats are very comfy but, since the food attracts the birds, they poop all over them. I'm a bit OCD and strugled with that, but it's not stg they can do much about, if not getting chairs easier to clean.
Concierge is very helpful and recommended us to go on the catamaran tour to swim with the sea turtles. It was truly lovely.
We'll go back for sure, we loved it and next time we'll stay a bit longer!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    56
    14
    11
    10
See reviews for
57
174
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

The O"Hara family have created an idyllic retreat.
Quality from the minute of arrival to the sad departure. I miss this hotel and cannot wait to return!
Beach is small and rather crowded, but nature has seen to its erosion.
What could be improved? Well if ii am really picky ,the evening entertainment.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We are just back from a week at The Coral Reef Club and can't fault it. The hotel and grounds are beautiful - the gardens are worth a visit in their own right. We felt truly spoilt all week and came away feeling very relaxed. The highlight for me has to be the staff. Without fail they were all welcoming and friendly, willing to chat but not intrusive. Every request was met promptly and with a smile.

Our room was beautifully decorated in a slightly plantation-y, English-abroad style and the terrace with chairs and loungers was the perfect place for sundowners before dinner. Towels were plentiful, the shower was powerful (as was the hairdryer!) and the daily iced water was very much appreciated. There is also a small fridge if you wish to chill your own drinks. We requested tea/coffee making facilities by email a few weeks before we travelled and they were duly in place when we arrived without us having to ask again.

There are reviews which note that this is not a young persons resort, but I think they're missing the point. There were plenty of young people staying at The Coral Reef Club whilst we were there, the difference is that they were on a relaxing holiday and were respectful of the tranquility of the resort, not out to party. If you want to drink shots and fall over, perhaps go elsewhere. That's not to say you can't have fun - the cocktails are very free flowing at any time of day and there is usually some sort of evening entertainment, although we went out to eat most evenings so only saw snippets whilst we had a drink at the bar.

My husband had a massage, and I had a manicure and pedicure at the spa - we didn't use the pool area which looks lovely, but the treatments were very good.

We did three days of diving with High Tides whilst we were there and they too are fabulous. Very relaxed, friendly and helpful, and the dives were among the best we've done in the Caribbean.

Location-wise, the hotel is in a great position. It has a lovely beach, not super wide, but plenty long enough to go for a walk, and is within easy walking distance of 'local' style bars, restaurants, shops and the luxury mall. It's also only a short taxi ride to all the high profile restaurants - The Cliff, Tides, Cin CIn etc.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend The Coral Reef Club - it's definitely high on our list for a return visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

As a family we have just returned home after two weeks at this marvelous hotel. It is simply superb! The rooms are elegant ( I love the interior of the whole hotel) with comfy beds and soft towels, no tv, but this is a holiday after all ( and you can have one if you want). The gardens are extraordinarily beautiful. The beach is perfectly adequate and with the added water sports with very helpful staff on hand, we were never at a loss of things to do. Free tennis coaching with fun trainers an added bonus. What really makes this hotel and the island are the staff. From top to toe they are the very best of the best. Our son ( the only teen there) had the most wonderful time as he was treated so kindly by the staff, who gave their time to make sure he was ok. He's much better a back gammon now too! The menu changes daily so there is plenty of choice and the hotel is more than happy to organize many of the fine local restaurants for you.
The other guests were a mixed bunch of parents with young families and the older generation that know a good thing when they find it, hence they keep coming back. We made some great friends and really hope to return one day.

Room Tip: Ask the staff they are more than helpful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
167 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This was our fourth visit to Coral Reef Club and certainly won't be our last as we are already planning to return next year. The O'Hara family members are consummate hosts and hoteliers with charming and considerate staff with the whole place is looked after beautifully. The food seems to get better every time we go there, though, for the sake of our waistlines, we tried to avoid eating lunch this time; however, their Sunday buffet is so amazing and such good value that we were unable to resist it, just try their fantastic Bajan chicken curry with all the wonderful side dishes - the best curry ever. We loved Ylang Ylang, the same room we have been in every time, and the maid looked after us excellently and kept it very clean and tidy. The grounds are immaculately looked after and the whole setting is magical.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 10 days April 2014 and it was just splendid. The hotel was stunning and our apartment excellently maintained. Wee were feet from the beach and had fantastic views.
The food was fantastic and the staff on all levels from cleaners, waiters, reception and restaurant were utterly brilliant nd put to shame so many places across the globe that I have visited.

We took a half board meal plan package and the food at the hotel ensured that we would never be unhappy eating there everyday but avoid tying yourself down to that as there are loads of very special places to eat and experience along this coast line that you'd kick yourself not to try - Tides, Cliff, Lone Star, Cariba, Fish Pot etc.

Room Tip: Apartment near to the beach - brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WILTSHIRE
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this fabulous hotel last month for several days. Our accommodation was close to perfect. We had a very spacious, quiet room with a lovely verandah overlooking the beautiful gardens, very clean and an oh so comfortable bed.
The staff are very special, so helpful, efficient and friendly, fabulous service and nothing is too much trouble.
The food is some of the best I have ever had in the Caribbean, so good in fact that we ate in the hotel restaurant every night, the BBQ was quite amazing and I thoroughly recommend it.. Breakfast is a delight with a very extensive buffet.
My only very small gripe and it is a familiar one is the sun lounger situation, why oh why when you are staying in a five star resort is it necessary to have to rise almost at dawn to obtain a sun bed in a decent location ?. We adamantly refused to play the game for the first few days but then one morning we were unable to find a sun bed close to the beach as all were reserved with towels etc so reluctantly we decided to do the same. Unbelievably, some people will reserve beds everywhere, by the pool, in the shade under the trees and also by the sea, so annoying . Also some would reserve beds at dawn and then not show till mid day or even later. I really do wish this would be monitored better.
However that did not prevent us having a fabulous, perfect holiday and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holetown
0.1 mi away
Colony Club
Colony Club
#1 of 3 in Porters
4.5 of 5 stars 273 reviews
2.2 mi away
The House
The House
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 stars 387 reviews
2.4 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 stars 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#1 of 8 in St Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 stars 1,156 reviews
2.1 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
#1 of 2 in Paynes Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 763 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tropical Sunset Beach Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Reef Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Reef Club

Address: Porters | St. James, Holetown BB24017, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Holetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Reef Club 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst twelve acres of beautifully landscaped gardens on the calm West Coast of Barbados, Coral Reef Club is the epitome of West Indian elegance. This family owned and run luxury resort renowned for its special ambiance and classic island style. A five star hotel, it is one of the finest in the Caribbean. Accommodations are traditionally designed with wooden balustrading, fretwork and shuttered windows. Fine dining and personal service are a high priority at this "Small Luxury Hotel of the World". ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coral Reef Club Hotel Saint James
Coral Reef Hotel
Coral Reef Saint James
Coral Reef Club Barbados/Holetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Reef Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.