We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Reef Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Coral Reef Club to your Saves list
Coral Reef Club
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St James Beach, Holetown, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

A holiday at the Coral Reef Club is a wonderful experience. Set in beautiful tropical gardens the accommodation is excellent. The room was spotless, roomy and very comfortable. The restaurant was first class, with an excellent variety of food, excellently prepared and presented. The highlight was without doubt the quality of the staff, who worked as a team to make the guest so welcome. We could not thank them enough. The welcome was genuine from the moment of arrival to the very last day. If you want a relaxing holiday where the guest is made welcome, then this is the place!
Staying here is exceptional and this is an amazing hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    50
    14
    10
    10
See reviews for
47
145
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
uk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We had an amazing holiday at this luxurious hotel in barbados over Xmas and new year ...
The service and staff were exceptional in every way and it was definitely a five star compared to others we have stayed on the island .....also the maid service was impeccable too!!
This is the only place I would go back to !

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Coral Reef Club is not just a hotel. It is an experience.
If you have stayed here then you will understand what this means.
From the individual attention given to each guest from the English hotel directors right down to the person that prepares your sunbed for you... This is customer service at the highest level.
Coral Reef is set amongst beautiful landscaped gardens with its own long sweeping private driveway making it an exclusive and tranquil place to escape.
The rooms are beautifully designed and decorated in a Plantation House style.
The restaurant delivers an extremely high level of cuisine consistently with 25 chefs working behind the scenes.
This plantation house theme runs throughout the whole hotel from the tastefully decorated lobby and reception area to the Spa.
Coral Reef Club is located in the parish of St James on the West Coast of Barbados and enjoys a beautiful beach setting.
I cannot recommend Coral Reef Club highly enough.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlestown, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We were here for our 20th anniversary. The room was beautiful, in the morning monkeys would walk across the roof to the palm trees for nuts. The restaurant was one of the best on Barbados.
The beach was narrow as many are now in the Caribbean.
While we were there turtles were nesting on the beach.
All water sports were available right there. The pool area was quiet and lovely.
The grounds are beautifully keep up and the entire staff was very nice.
Bring the BIG check book.....

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Lovely Caribbean resort, run really well with great attention to detail. There was always enough sunbeds and umbrellas. Super staff, and the busiest watersports I've seen. We ate out quite a lot and really enjoyed the restaurant at their sister hotel, The Sandpiper next door. If you want a family style caribbean Xmas in the sun then this is the place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

My wife, our son, his Godmother and I are leaving this Tropical Paradise tomorrow with our customary heavy hearts. We have been here since mid December, and of all our many fabulous trips here, this has been the best. What makes the Hotel is its people - the surroundings are first rate, as are the facilities, etc etc, but over the years we have come to regard a number of the staff here as our friends, and keep in touch with them throughout the year. Nothing is too much trouble, and this stems from the Top, from Mrs O'Hara and her sons Patrick and Mark. Particular mention should be made of the cuisine this year - it has been so good that, when we have ventured out to any of the numerous top class restaurants in the area, none has come close. We cannot recommend the Hotel highly enough, and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The Villas are a hidden gem!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Coral Reef Club has a long standing reputation as one of the very best hotels in Barbados and you can see why.It moves smoothly forward like a well oiled machine.Much of this is to do with the staff.Not only are they well trained and efficient but they are cheerful ,friendly and keen to please.
Add this to the stunning beautiful gardens and the beautifully designed bar and restaurant and it is hard to go wrong if you decide to holiday here.
The rooms are very comfortable with pleasant terraces,good bathrooms and all the necessary amenities like wi fi.TV's and tea/coffee making kits are available on request.The cocktail party at the O'Hara's house,the tennis coaching and the daily sorbet run on the beach are welcome touches and when the boardwalk is finished there will be a delightful walk into Holetown.This coast is too built up now for huge sweeping unspoilt beaches that still exist on some other islands but the beach here is still very lovely.Sadly even in the pre Xmas quiet time some guests still 'bag' their favoured beach loungers even though there is plenty for all.
The food is first class and efficiently and skilfully executed.A few more local Caribbean ingredients would have been welcome and ,for our taste,even though the barbecue night was very good,two buffets a week was a touch too much.But you can always eat in their sister hotel the Sandpiper where the food is also excellent,if you want to avoid buffet excess.
All in all this is one of the best hotels in the whole Caribbean and we would not hesitate to stay here again. However the risk must be that the regular returning guests like the formula so much that the hotel is never quite able to change when it needs to.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coral Reef Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Reef Club

Address: St James Beach, Holetown, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Holetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Coral Reef Club 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Coral Reef Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Reef Club Hotel Saint James
Coral Reef Hotel
Coral Reef Saint James
Coral Reef Club Barbados/Holetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Reef Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.