We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another perfect stay - thank you.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Reef Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Holetown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coral Reef Club
Save
You added Coral Reef Club to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Porters | St. James, Holetown BB24017, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Another perfect stay - thank you.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

After many years staying at Coral Reef we have never had reason to complain. The staff are superb as is the food. I am a wheelchair dependant lady and found it easy to get around. The gardens are a delight and the whole atmosphere is peaceful and relaxing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    54
    14
    11
    10
See reviews for
54
164
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Went here with a few friends for their BBQ night, was a great evening and food was amazing (BBQ'd langoustines were to die for). I would say that I wasn't too keen on the self service on the BBQ night and the whole restaurant seemed to be quite a bit older than our table.
They had some after dinner entertainment which I wasn't too keen on either fire breathing, girls doing limbo etc found it all a bit dated.
So all in all great food and service but maybe for the more mature crowd.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, Midi-Pyrenees, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Heaven .....Amazing hotel I wish I could live here. The cottages are beautiful inside and spotlessly clean the staff really look after you . . The hotels beach is small but the grounds are big enough to get lost in. Everything is aimed at you having a wonderful time .. boat trips snorkeling horse riding whatever you want is on offer and the perfect place to chill and relax if thats what you need I cant say enough nice things about it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherford, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

In May 2013 we had a very special vacation at the Coral Reef Club (CRC) on St. James Beach in Holetown, Barbados. It was memorable because my daughter, Erin Fetherston, married Gabe Saporta during our stay. The O'Hara family and the CRC staff treated us like their extended family and attended to each guest's needs. This was no small feat as we were a group of 100 guests, ages 1 to 88, and everyone left happy after a week-long stay.

We chose the CRC because Erin and Gabe became engaged there and loved its romantic environs. We were pleasantly surprised that romance was only one lovely aspect of our visit. The MAP meals pleased picky toddlers, vegans, pescetarians, paleos, buffet lovers, and Weight Watcher devotees. On the all-inclusive meal plan, our merry troupe ate when and what they desired from a delectable selection with broad appeal, or they enjoyed elegant room service. On-site activities: fishing, tennis, swimming, gym work outs, and beach play amused children of all ages; and spa treatments to detox and de-stress provided quiet time as needed.
Golf was available nearby as were water sports, boating, shopping, and excursion options.

If you are thinking of a romantic get away, popping the question, or gathering your clan in an unforgettable location, the Coral Reef Club should be at the top of your list. We give it 10 stars!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Our first visit to the Coral Reef Club was 25 years ago at the start of our honeymoon. Since then we have returned a number of times the latest being on the occasion of our silver wedding anniversary. My husband travels a great deal on business and we travel together a fair amount for leisure too. The Coral Reef Club holds a very special place in our hearts but sentimentality aside the standard of service, customer care and attention to detail cannot be faulted. Set on the beach with a coral reef just outside and the Caribbean lapping the shores of white sands. The restaurant is also set in an idyllic position overlooking the sea providing a romantic and comfortable ambiance to enjoy food of a very high standard. All of the staff are amazing.... they are so good at their jobs and are always only too happy to make your stay everything you would want it to be and more. They somehow manage to be there to help without being over intrusive. I can only recommend the Coral Reef Club most highly and know that we will return again and again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

A very nice hotel sets in a large well maintained tropical garden. Party of the SLH chain, and also family run. Offers great services as expected. The hotel buildings are in a old-fashion plantation house style, very classic and has lots of the colonial period charm. We were very kindly offered an upgrade to cottege suit from junior suite since being SLH member for quite a while. The suite is very large, nicely furbished and has its own small pool just outside its terrace. The small single floor building has great sea view and is surrounded by lots of plants with excellent privacy. They can put tv/dvd in the roon on demand, but we felt there was no need. There is alo has a playround with air-con playroom for our son.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Just had a fantastic holiday at Coral Reef. Resort is spacious, rooms extremely comfortable, pool and beach lovely (never any problem getting a subbed) and staff really friendly and helpful. The Spa is to be commended had the best massages of my life.

I'm 40 and my husband is in his late 40's and we were a little worried by some of the previous reviews about the age of clientele. This wasn't an issue at all - yes there aren't crowds of 20 something's but there is a real mix of families and couples of various ages.

Only real downside is the restaurant. Breakfast is functional but not to the standards of other 5 star hotels. The quality of food in the evening is really good but the atmosphere a bit "hotel restaurant" however you can exchange dine with the sandpiper (the sister hotel) where the food is every bit as good and the restaurant more modern.

All in all will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coral Reef Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Reef Club

Address: Porters | St. James, Holetown BB24017, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Holetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Coral Reef Club 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst twelve acres of beautifully landscaped gardens on the calm West Coast of Barbados, Coral Reef Club is the epitome of West Indian elegance. This family owned and run luxury resort renowned for its special ambiance and classic island style. A five star hotel, it is one of the finest in the Caribbean. Accommodations are traditionally designed with wooden balustrading, fretwork and shuttered windows. Fine dining and personal service are a high priority at this "Small Luxury Hotel of the World". ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coral Reef Club Hotel Saint James
Coral Reef Hotel
Coral Reef Saint James
Coral Reef Club Barbados/Holetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Reef Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.