We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went for lunch and tour of resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Reef Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Holetown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coral Reef Club
Save
You added Coral Reef Club to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Porters | St. James, Holetown BB24017, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
249 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Went for lunch and tour of resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We are currently on a trip to Barbados and although not staying at the coral reef we were recommended to go and have lunch there, we also had a resort tour.

We arrived at reception and were seated in the more casual outdoor bar area overlooking the ocean, our first impressions were good although there was a lot of vegetation. We decided to choose lunch from the bar menu, for drinks I had a banks beer and my wife had a frozen savannah sunshine (mango and rum cocktail), both drinks were excellent. We ordered a reef club sandwich and a reef pizza, both dishes arrived about 25 minutes after ordering and were well presented and enjoyable.

We were served by Debora, prince and Melissa who were very nice and attentive, Melissa then gave us a tour of the resort which we were impressed with although it had a lot of vegetation around it.

There were no young people with the age group between 45 and 80, it well caters for the older professional couples and there were no children at all to be seen. The hotel wouldn't suit us due to the age dynamics and only a small beach front but we would recommend it for lunch when passing.

Our total meal plus drinks bill was 130 Barbados dollars.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    56
    14
    11
    10
See reviews for
61
176
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed for just one week at the club last January/February. The club is beautifully situated on the west side of the isle. The rooms ( we stayed in a junior suite) are great, hidden in little cottages; comfortable, clean and quiet. The gardens are very well kept. Hospitality is the credo for all staff members. The restaurant is excellent, with a great variety of dishes.The owners of the Club, the O'Hara family, have all of it very well under control and will look after you in a very attentive and friendly manner. I loved sailing in a hobby cat, that is provided by the hotel. We had a great time and hope to come back some day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed for 10 days from April1st to April 11th. This is a lovely hotel, with superb grounds, an excellent SPA, pool area and beach. The staff are friendly and helpful. We stayed in a Junior Suite with a balcony and superb view of the beach. It may not be as glitzy as Sandy Lane; it is a family run hotel and Patrick O'Hara, his brother and mother make you feel very welcome. Patrick will make a point of greeting you personally if this is your first time. We would not hesitate to recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a Junior Suite de-lux to get a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Coral Reef is the most delightful hotel. Small and luxurious yet unpretentious. Set in beautiful gardens on the beach with a level of service to rival anywhere else I have stayed. The architecture is colonial and sits at total ease in its environment of well tended lush greenery, palm trees and beach.

Our rooms were well appointed, spotlessly clean and had all the facilities you would expect from a hotel of this standard. There is a very handy little shop in the grounds selling gorgeous beach wear and useful items.

The thing that sets Coral Reef apart are the staff. Nothing is too much trouble. Always friendly, smiling and helpful. They are knowledgeable and efficient. It creates a wonderful atmosphere where you just relax safe in the knowledge that anything you need will be taken care of. The fact that the hotel is family owned and that the family are always there makes a real difference.

The water-sports are run by an enthusiastic and helpful team - happy to help and instruct. Nothing too much trouble.

One of the members of the bar staff spotted my energy filled 11 year old son and taught him how to play backgammon which he insisted he perfect by the end of the week. Never one to refuse a challenge he practiced all week with various members of staff who all had time to make his stay enjoyable.

The food was delicious and the weekly bar-be-que a must. Our boys loved the enormous selection at breakfast every day.

A real success for a family holiday. Would we go again? We are already planning to.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimbledon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at The Coral Reef Club with one minor exception. The staff could not have been any friendlier or helpful and there is a real family feel to the hotel. The breakfast was delicious and very varied. The bathrooms were lovely and the situation of the three rooms we had were delightful.

The only minor blip was the one night we decided to stay in the hotel and my son was wearing a t shirt without a collar. He was asked to change and was very embarrassed about the whole situation but did so (as these were the rules.) My older son then spotted two guests who were also dressed in t shirts and were clearly very well known to the staff in the hotel. When we politely pointed out that these guests were also in t shirts we were then told that the dress code had been relaxed for the night so my son then went and changed back.

As I said this is only a minor blip. The staff were extremely helpful and informative and we had a great stay apart from this.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Coral Reef Club has the very best staff and the Spa is wonderfully modern and super clean! The entire staff on property seem to make you feel like you are at their HOME. From the fresh cut flowers off property that arrive on your in-room breakfast tray, to the privacy of the property, they really know how to keep the joy and peace they know your coming to enjoy.
Shopping is very close to property and the local food is wonderful to go and enjoy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed here March 2013, two couples , in the Tamarind villa .
Perfect setting on the West Coast, great sunsets, lovely beach.
Staff were all helpful and very keen to make our stay ideal.
A special thank you to Joy Pilgrim, who looked after all our needs.
The whole atmosphere is of attention to detail , we met some of the O'Hara family at the cocktail reception and they where evident throughout our stay checking everything was going as planned.
As per previous reviews , the age group averages above 40, with many return bookings.

Sustenance ..
A huge breakfast and inventive evening meals, all the cocktails you could possibly want, good wine list, ....take a cocktail at the end of the day, sit on the beach and watch the sunset.
We were out for the Thursday BBQ , but from a previous visit we know this is popular.
Dinner is smart casual dress, though you can get away with designer jeans, if you have the smile for it ... Equally an opportunity to dress up for those that want to.
All the entertainment where professional and of a very good level... Though for the evening, this isn't a 'happening' place, much more of a relaxed theme.
Villa.
We spoilt ourselves and stayed at the Tamarind villa, which is very special. Plenty of shade to the front, with outside furniture , a view across the pond and tropical greenery . To the back of this villa is another swimming pool, shared by two other villas, but often empty.

Sun
We never had a problem with getting a sunbed , towels were in constant supply, drinks service excellent .... And of course it was always a lovely sunny day...

Yacht.
Joy recommended Warren Yachting , for a private charter ( a treat, as we also got married here), Chris who runs the operation, takes extra care to ensure a great trip, it is more expensive than the other trips , but has an extra air of luxury... We took their new Catamaran 'SeaDuced'.

If you are looking to go to the best restaurants ... Book before you go .. Joy helped with all of this , via email, before we arrived ...this not only worked out well , but her team made sure we had good tables.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holetown
0.1 mi away
Colony Club
Colony Club
#1 of 3 in Porters
4.5 of 5 stars 292 reviews
2.2 mi away
The House
The House
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 stars 400 reviews
2.4 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 stars 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
#1 of 2 in Paynes Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 784 reviews
10.2 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 stars 1,179 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tropical Sunset Beach Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Reef Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Reef Club

Address: Porters | St. James, Holetown BB24017, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Holetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Reef Club 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst twelve acres of beautifully landscaped gardens on the calm West Coast of Barbados, Coral Reef Club is the epitome of West Indian elegance. This family owned and run luxury resort renowned for its special ambiance and classic island style. A five star hotel, it is one of the finest in the Caribbean. Accommodations are traditionally designed with wooden balustrading, fretwork and shuttered windows. Fine dining and personal service are a high priority at this "Small Luxury Hotel of the World". ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coral Reef Club Hotel Saint James
Coral Reef Hotel
Coral Reef Saint James
Coral Reef Club Barbados/Holetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Reef Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.