We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent resort but very disapoint with sea sports” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Reef Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Holetown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coral Reef Club
Save
You added Coral Reef Club to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Porters | St. James, Holetown BB24017, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“excellent resort but very disapoint with sea sports”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

We spend a very nice time in this hotel all the staff except the one in charge of the seasport is very nice.
The SPA is beautifull and the ladies over there are very professionnal.
The restaurant is very chraming the food is nice, the rooms are perfect.

But I have been disaponted with the sea sport service, the guys over there are too lazy it's never time for sailling;
They say too much wind but you can see some other sailer boats stop without wind in front of us.
They say boat are not ready for use, or they say that the one you want has something to do one it (then I look and everthing is ok) if fact the one I want was not close enough to the sea and they are too tired to push a boat!
Except that it's a very good resort one every points.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    54
    14
    11
    10
See reviews for
54
164
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

We have stayed at the coral reef several times over the last eight years and although it is looking a bit frayed I still love it.we did stay just as they were reopening so really had the hotel to ourselves which was great! The staff were very laid back as they are on the island but on the whole are very helpful!
I love the layout at the coral reef with the little villas scattered around the grounds allowing for maximum privacy. The two tennis courts again could do with smartening up but are still worth a visit,and the two pools are perfect!the restaurant and bar were of good standard with just a little need of tweaking! The spa was amazing! Taking all of this into account I will still continue to return as it's one of my favourite hotels .

Room Tip: Try one of the villas with your own plunge pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Stayed for the 4th time running last year and was amazing as ever... We go in october when the weather gets good again after the wet season. The beach is relaxing and pleasent with an incredible sunset around 6.30pm everyday. We go with other families who we are close friends with as a result of meeting them at coral reef club with ages ranging from 10-50.

The rooms are always immaculate and the gardens are magnificent! Each room gets a free half hour watersports slot a day which is a nice touch too.

However, probably the best thing about this hotel is the staff that work here.. they are all great people and make you feel right at home. The bar staff in paticular are great such as Carlos, Junior and Trevor (he is always up for a board game). They are all up for a laugh, yet professional at the same time!

We are returning in October half term this year for our 5th visit and cannot wait!

Also, the food is outstanding, with a curry night on tuesday and the best bbq you will ever have on thursdays.

Keep it up CRC

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Excellent venue, staff and food. Private beach and reef just off shore made it ideal. Had a couple of family problems during the stay requiring medical attention, and the staff and owners could not have been more helpful and caring.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

As repeat guests with very young children, we again enjoyed another superb stay here.

The staff here are all very friendly and some truly go out of their way to ensure the kids feel extremely welcome. Yes there some older retired guests who do tend to stare should your youngster make a little noise (which can be a tad annoying as our children are generally very well behaved) however a lot of other guests have commented to us how nice it is to see little ones around the place enjoying themselves so much.

This is a classy, well run Hotel and has an upmarket feel about it. The restaurant is good, as is the bar, and the reception staff are extremely efficient. The beach front area is a bit limited but anyone who knows Barbados realizes that this is not uncommon on the west coast.

All in all, Coral Reef Club is very difficult to fault as all aspects are impeccably maintained. Another visit beckons !

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed for 2 weeks this summer, with our 4 kids. Was a bit nervous as had read the reviews about stuffy attitudes towards younger kids. I honestly don't know if these reviewers were at the same hotel - all our kids, ranging from older teenagers to a 7 year old, were made warmly welcome by all. In fact a couple of the bar staff would often sit down and play cards/backgammon with them or just chat and make them laugh. And we took our 7 year old for dinner several times in the restaurant and there was no problem with that. I think if your children are well behaved and sit at the table and don't disturb other diners, there is no problem. Maybe it wouldn't be suitable for much younger kids.
Our rooms were beautiful, and spotlessly clean, in fact although there is nothing aesthetically and facility-wise I can fault in this hotel it is in fact the staff that make it so wonderful. From the housekeeping ladies, who are lovely, friendly and extremely good at their job, to the gardeners, to the reception team, and the bar and restaurant staff, without exception we were made to feel so welcome. In fact I felt extremely sad to leave. Special mention goes to Trevor, Carlos and Kidane at the bar for making our kids holiday so memorable, and David in the restaurant for looking after us at breakfast every day.
The owners Mark and David O'Hara obviously run a tight ship here but you would never know it - the atmosphere is extremely relaxed, really laid back, and they are both charming and courteous hosts. Admittedly we had our share of rain - albeit warm rain - but we knew we were going in rainy season. We also had plenty of sunshine. We really hope to be back next year - we met several other families at The Coral Reef who were on their 4th, 5th, 10th year back. I'm not one for going back to the same place over and over, but I think we might have found something a bit special here, definitely worth a return visit - or 5!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

having been 4 times in 2 years..i think that speaks volumes....the staff are exceedingly happy, helpful and friendly, the rooms clean and spacious and the gardens are kept immaculately...it astounds me some of the negative views on here...but then i guess if you go with a bad attitude, you get treated likewise..... the breakfast are amazing something for everyone (especially after a yoga session first thing..pure bliss), and cannot fault the food at all..they are kid friendly here having travelled with little ones, just dont take them in the dining room after 7pm...- so yes it is expensive, but paradise always comes with a price i guess! keep up the great work coral reef!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coral Reef Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Reef Club

Address: Porters | St. James, Holetown BB24017, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Holetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Coral Reef Club 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst twelve acres of beautifully landscaped gardens on the calm West Coast of Barbados, Coral Reef Club is the epitome of West Indian elegance. This family owned and run luxury resort renowned for its special ambiance and classic island style. A five star hotel, it is one of the finest in the Caribbean. Accommodations are traditionally designed with wooden balustrading, fretwork and shuttered windows. Fine dining and personal service are a high priority at this "Small Luxury Hotel of the World". ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coral Reef Club Hotel Saint James
Coral Reef Hotel
Coral Reef Saint James
Coral Reef Club Barbados/Holetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Reef Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.