We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended for a different dining experience.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elbow Room

Elbow Room
2nd Street, Holetown, Barbados
12464321927
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 33 Restaurants in Holetown
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Healthy, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Elbow Room is a casual dining establishment located on the bustling 2nd street strip in Holetown, on Barbados’ famous West Coast. Elbow Room features stonegrill dining where patrons are presented with their meals sizzling on a hot lava rock, ready to be cooked to mouth-watering perfection!
Worcestershire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Recommended for a different dining experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

A new concept in dining for our family but one we enjoyed especially the children! Your choice of meat, steak, chicken or catch of the day fish is delivered to the table and you cook it yourself on red hot lava stones, together with the vegetable side dishes. The steak was excellent but as with everywhere else in Barbados very pricey (considering you cook it yourself) and the one fish dish we ordered (Marlin) was very chewy although we probably overlooked it! However the waiter could see we were'nt enjoying it and promptly asked if we would like another dish so the vegetable kebabs and tofu were ordered (as a vegetarian in the family) and this was good and no extra charge applied.
I would suggest the vegetables should be precooked as they end up being very 'al dente'. A different experience and the service was very good although it was a pricey meal for four considering the very limited menu options.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    84
    26
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Barbados
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Bar in Barbados”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is a great bar! The vibe is great, the people are awesome, the music is fantastic and they know how to mix a drink. Definitely worth checking out to just chill and meet some good people.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Novelty wears off quick”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We tried this place for the novely off cooking on hot stones. The deal they do seemed reasonably priced so we went for it. They didnt have any white wine so I ended up drinking warm red wine (which I hate). They bring out a slab of raw fish (chicken for my partner) one florette of broccoli and two slices of a carrot with a hot stone and you are left to cook your own meal. The heat is stiffling in your face (good for spots) and you have to cook it well (especially chicken if you dont want to die), there are no marinates or spices, just three tiny pots of sauce to taste. I felt robbed to be honest. Its a gimmick and fair play to the owners, they got the tourists coming in but I sense no returning customers and locals dont appear anywhere in here so thats always a sign.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgetown
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cook your own steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

A different idea entirely. I love it. fun and great music with excellent service. The music is simply awesome

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“a good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Anything that you order is brought to you raw with a crazy hot granite slab for you to cook your food on. This was a lot of fun. Good drinks, good atmosphere but perhaps a little pricey.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elbow Room also viewed

Holetown, Saint James Parish
 
Holetown, Saint James Parish
Holetown, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Elbow Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elbow Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.