We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food, Expensive prices” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Spago Restaurant and Bar

Spago Restaurant and Bar
2nd Street, Holetown, Barbados
+1 246-432-7394
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 33 Restaurants in Holetown
Price range: $25 - $60
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: One of 3 locations in St James, this restaurant is located in the heart of historic Holetown; 2nd Street comes to life at night especially at weekends.
Washington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Average food, Expensive prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Went to Spago, Holetown last night - we had planned to eat ay Mullins but they weren't serving food so we headed into Holetown. We had spotted Spago last week and decided to give it a go. The restaurant was empty when we arrived so I thought we would be served quickly - not the case. The meals were Ok, There was no Lasagne so I had Parmesan crusted chicken - it was Ok. My 11 yr old loved his Margherita Pizza any My husband's garlic roast pork was again Ok, but was a few slices of pork in garlic butter. The starter of garlic bread was miniscule and we would have ordered 2 if we had known. We decided against dessert and when we got the bill saw they had added the 17.5% tax again to the bill along with 10% service charge - we should have queried this but just wanted to go as it was hot and we were getting bitten !!! Just average no more :(

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    145
    71
    32
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beyond my expectations ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

The restaurant may not be pleasing to some when you arrive as it's a bit small, but what they may lack in ambience they surpass your expectation with service, the staff is absolutely amazing and the food is no different, there isn't much I can say about the restaurant beyond its a cozy, dim lighten restaurant with spectacular service service and food, I will be returning for sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Reliable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

I like to class Barbados restaurants into 4 'divisions'. The Cliff is in the top division, on its own. then you have Tides, Cin Cin et al in the 2nd. 3rd division are the cheaper but high quality ones, such as Daphnes, Cariba, Beach House and finally cheaper still, everyday restaurants, which is where I would place Spago along with Mews, Elbow Room, and others.

Spago food is the type you really crave after 3 or 4 nights of very opulent dining. I can honestly say I've never had a bad meal here. The pizzas are fully loaded. Seafood pastas are fresh, well cooked, Risottos are creamy and service is very friendly. The lovely waitress was happy for me to order off the menu to cater for my pretty weird tastes. Prices are reasonable too. At $12 for a fabulous pizza, what's not to like. Great for kids too.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good Food right in Holetown!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We had dinner her twice and the food is very good here! Loved it!
I had the same dish both times that I went to this rest. Shrimp with Linguini. Try it, you won't be diappointed

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food - service can be off”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

We always eat here when we come to Barbados. They have a fantastic carbonara pasta and their pizza is always good. The one negative is the service can be bad. There is one waitress who is always rude - the rest of the staff was very friendly.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spago Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Holetown, Saint James Parish
Holetown, Saint James Parish
 
Holetown, Saint James Parish
Holetown, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Spago Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spago Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.