We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, service a little slow!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spago Restaurant and Bar

Spago Restaurant and Bar
2nd Street, Holetown, Barbados
+1 246-432-7394
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 33 Restaurants in Holetown
Price range: $25 - $60
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: One of 3 locations in St James, this restaurant is located in the heart of historic Holetown; 2nd Street comes to life at night especially at weekends.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good food, service a little slow!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

There are 2 Spago restaurants; 1 in 2nd Street, and the other located by the beautiful beach at the rear of the Settlers Bay Hotel. We first visited the one in 2nd Street, where we were so impressed by the quality of the food, we decided to try the other Spago by the beach while it was a stunning location with gorgeous food, the service was very slow in Settlers. But we were in no rush as it was our last night of our hols!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    145
    71
    31
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barbados
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great setting...terrible service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Despite its beautiful setting, we should have probably realised there was a reason why we were the only ones there. We were told that they didn't offer children's portion, so we ordered spaghetti carbonara for our two children...it was absolutely tasteless. When we asked if we could change for something else, a big fuss was made and it was pointed out that we would need to speak to the manager..then nothing for ten minutes until a pizza arrived. When the bill arrived they had included the cost of the pizza and the pasta and added ten percent service on top of everything. Not an issue I thought as I come on holiday to relax and not make a fuss, they then delivered 6 dollars (2 pound sterling too much in change) ...after ten minutes another big fuss stating that I owed them money, when I explained they had overcharged on the service. To which I received a response of "you clearly don't understand" at which point having been made to feel embarrassed and condescended I asked to speak to the manager. I then had no responder so after ten minutes I went to the till to enquire and was told the manager was too busy to see me!! So in a place with incredible choices where to eat I would suggest you try cin cin, the cliff, lonestar, tides, fish pot, ju jus, sitar, sandy lane to name but a few

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We went to Spago in Holetown one night after another couple in hotel said how good it was. The atmosphere in the resturant was lovely and they had a couple of singers which was really nice, the food was Italian and was nice but not the best Italian I have ever had.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great find - The best restaurant in Barbados”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This fantastic Italian restaurant is by far the very best we experienced during our recent 2 week stay. It's under-rated, and doesn't market itself well enough. There are 2 Spago restaurants; 1 in 2nd Street, and the other located by the beautiful beach at the rear of the Settlers Bay Hotel. We first visited the one in 2nd Street, where we were so impressed by the quality of the food, we decided to try the other Spago by the beach, and wow, what a fantastic experience...stunning location, gorgeous food, great service, and one of the most romantic experiences we've ever had. We loved it so much, we then went back to the one by the beach for a 3rd time, to spend our last night on the Island. Can't think of a better way to finish off our holiday.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely Food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

If you want lovely Italian food served with a smile then go to Spago! They have live music some nights which is great!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spago Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Holetown, Saint James Parish
Holetown, Saint James Parish
 
Holetown, Saint James Parish
Holetown, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Spago Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spago Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.