We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try it! You'll be fine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spago Restaurant and Bar

Spago Restaurant and Bar
2nd Street, Holetown, Barbados
+1 246-432-7394
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 33 Restaurants in Holetown
Price range: $25 - $60
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: One of 3 locations in St James, this restaurant is located in the heart of historic Holetown; 2nd Street comes to life at night especially at weekends.
Sibbertoft
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Try it! You'll be fine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

So here we are in Holetown Barbados surrounded by the rich and famous and those (many more of them!) who like to be surrounded by the rich and famous.

To put Spago Holetown in context you might want to read my recent review of Cin Cin by the Sea or Daphne's each (both on the same coast as this place) of which I've visited and reviewed this trip because this is not a great restaurant, has no view, and is basically a Pizza House.

BUT, the pizzas are superb, the staff are keen to please, it has a great 'buzzy' atmosphere and most important of all, the pizzas are just excellent - thin & crispy.

Go to either of my other reviews for that special romantic dinner for two and do not come here for anything other than great food, clean and pleasant surroundings and gret pizza ( go for the Diavolo and ask for anchovies as an extra!)

Drinks before dinner? There's a great bar opposite called The Mews, just go to Spago for supper which, for pizza lover's ( a diing breed? Ho Ho!) will be a home from home.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    145
    71
    32
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Food remains good, but management leaves much to be desired!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Having eaten here a few days earlier, but mid-week with a superb male manager, we had a very pleasant experience and so booked for Saturday night at 1930. However, on arrival no table was available and there seemed to be disinterest in accommodating us. The Manageress completely ignored us. Eventually a table was prepared, but it took one and a half hours and three chasing ups before we received our food. The Manageress continued to show no interest in the obvious difficulties afflicting the timely serving of orders - two other tables to our knowledge also queried the excessive delays. Consequently, we withheld the 10 per cent service charge and told the Manageress so - her attitude was then wholly unacceptable. We slipped the waitress (the only friendly and co-operative member of staff) a personal tip, but unfortunately the Manageress saw this (having missed everything else all evening!) and grabbed it off her!! Need we say anymore? Be warned and if things start to go slow / wrong - cut your losses, leave a fair price for the food and drink consumed (if any) and leave.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Superb Italian cuisine not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Spagos was recommended to us and it did not disappoint. Both the pizza and pasta dishes were simply delicious, well presented and with excellent service. Please ignore any of the (few) negative reviews and try it for yourself. The location is good and although the restaurant is small (booking essential after 7.30pm) the ambience is wonderful, our table was on the verandah and by the end of the evening we found ourselves chatting to other diners all of whom had had a similar experience. One Canadian couple had been coming to Barbados for many years and Spagos was their favourite restaurant of all. It's perfect for families with young or older teenage children and couples alike and whilst it won't be the cheapest Italian meal you enjoy it will certainly be one of the best and represented good value. It is worth noting that there are several other restaurants on Holetown's 2nd street, Spagos was certainly the busiest and most popular of all with many people turning up without a booking and unable to have a table. We would definitely return, thoroughly recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Perfect location in Holetwon. Small , cozy restaurant which can get quite hot and humid unfortunately during the rainy season due to poor a/c and fan installation.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent value for money too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

went here several times during our stay. Food was simple and very tasty indeed and excellent value for money. Definitely recommend

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spago Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Holetown, Saint James Parish
Holetown, Saint James Parish
 
Holetown, Saint James Parish
Holetown, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Spago Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spago Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.