We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little welcome luxury in the Sahara” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yasmina Hotel Merzouga

Save Saved
You added Yasmina Hotel Merzouga to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yasmina Hotel Merzouga
Erg Chebbi 52202, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A little welcome luxury in the Sahara”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

After succoming to Morocco belly I was not looking forward to a camel ride to a desert camp. The option of a superior room in the Yasmina hotel was irresistable. The tradional mid brick architecture gave some authenticity to the experience. The room was large, sparcely but comfortably furnished. I had the best sleep for some nights in a comfortable bed. Good airconditioning quickly brought the temperature to a comfortable level. The bathroom with separate toilet, vanity basin area and shower was well equiped and worked well. Steps led up to a roof top terrace with view out over the terrace. A swim in the swimming pool in the courtyard was bliss. We had an excellent five course banquet on a terrace looking out over the dunes later in the evening. Dont expect an international five star hotel, but the whole experience is right up there.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room- it is well worth the very modest expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    48
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
50
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

What a welcome and amazing site after traveling all day from Fes to the desert. It’s like a fortress inside clay walls. We stayed here one night before our camel safari/camping trip in the dunes. We were in room 29, a cute room with three beds. Large dunes rose up next to us. The sun was setting when we arrived, so we quickly climbed the auberge walls to capture the moment. The sky didn’t really cooperate, but the views were good. The next day - after a desert 4x4 safari, we spent the afternoon in the pool area. It’s a great looking pool, but the water was chilly. There were annoying little black flies that kept landing us, but it was nice to relax.

Meals at the auberge were good, with quite a variety to choose from. We brought our own beer and wine, which they chilled as needed. Breakfast was enjoyable on the outdoor deck. It was hard not to get up and take photos of the dunes and camels in the distance. We had the usual variety of foods and fresh squeezed orange juice (yeah). One of the mornings they served yummy donut/beignet/cream puff type pastries dusted with sugar and still warm. So good. I was able to order French fries at lunch with fresh taters – a favorite of mine.

After dinner, a large scarab was hanging out on the wall. The thing had to be 3 inches long with huge antennae. Our guide grabbed it, and you could kind of hear a screech (and it tried biting him). Later, I was reading my kindle in the dark while my roommate slept, and heard a weird sound. I thought it was the rustling of power cords against the wall. Then I felt something on the blanket. Uh oh - my power cord wasn’t there. I screamed and awakened my roommate. She turned on the light, and discovered a big scarab climbing on me. She knocked it to the floor, and we scooped it up and flicked it down the hall and out the door. It was difficult falling asleep after that. Daylight came and the dang birds were chirping away.

I really liked the Yasmina and would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I spent the night of my 50th birthday here. A sunset camel ride (though we didn't quite make it to sunset as we could see a storm coming) for the big day. We made it back just in time. As we dismounted the sandstorm hit full force and the sand and rain came barrelling in. The hotel itself though was pretty good. We took advantage of the pool in the hot afternoon, which was very refreshing. The staff were great (maybe because our tour guide knew them?) After dinner a few of the staff brought out the drums and we had an impromptu music session, along with an Arabic birthday cake. A great way to celebrate the big day! As far as the room goes, very comfortable and spacious, but a few minor things...our shower head was completely busted, so had to pretty much shower with a hose. And...I could feel sand on the floor when I was barefoot (before we had been out in the desert), so probably not the most thorough in the housekeeping department. Considering the location though, sand is inevitable so I wasn't too fussed.

Room Tip: They seemed to all be pretty similar. We were just near the pool, which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creazzo, Italy
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We had no reservations and stopped at this hotel thinking it was a different hotel altogether but we were so glad we did. The pool was perfect our room was comfortable and clean. We arrived very early in the morning but were accommodated with a room until it was time for the desert trek. The grounds were lovely..my only regret is we couldn't stay an extra few days.. We were asked throughout the day if everything was okay and if we needed anything. The overnight in the Sahara was amazing as well...toilets! The camp is a private camp and the bed and food were good! We loved the hotel and the experience provided!

Room Tip: Poolside is best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Wonderful place in amazing location. Good food (no alcohol), comfortable beds, air conditioning at times, spotless bathroom. Sand dunes begin right outside the door. Attentive staff always helpful. Nice swiming pool with loungers. Camels and bedouin camps. Entertainment - drumming and dancing. Excellent birds, Catalan group ring birds everyday and will show you what they've caught.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This was my second stay at Yasmina, and just as good as the first a few years ago. The hotel is not the simplest to get to, down 14km of corrugated dirt road - but still no problem in a regular vehicle, 4WD not required. On arrival, the staff are fantastically friendly and helpful, for instance they cooked us a delicious evening meal even when we arrived late without a booking. And the view of the dunes from the terrace over breakfast is simply stunning!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erfoud, Morocco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Wonderful place to stay in :) !!!!! Excellent hotel close to the sand dunes ! It's a very quite place where you can enjoy your self walking in the sand dunes and do a camel trek also ! the thing makes this place so pretty nice is a lake , and it's a place for Birds' watching too .

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yasmina Hotel Merzouga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yasmina Hotel Merzouga

Address: Erg Chebbi 52202, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Erg Chebbi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Specialty lodging in Erg Chebbi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For leisure, business or party, Hotel Yasmina offer you choice and fantasy quality in the real Sahara Desert! Hotel Yasmina celebrates its new rebuild hotel facilities in order to provide the best conditions for its clients combining both the Saharan ambiance and clean comfortable accommodations. Kasbah Yasmina Hotel offer great lodging while in South Morocco in Erg Chebbi Dunes - Merzouga. With excellent ambiance, camping and car parking facilities, our hotel is ideal venues for pleasure, family vacation, short breaks, offering high standards of accommodation and service within Sahara desert. Yasmina is located right on the bottom of the dunes of Erg Chebbi, more precisely in "ras al-erg" which means in the head of the dunes, the dunes of Erg Chebbi. Yasmina has one of the best views for the dunes, as it is settled on the top a a hill, surrounded by a lake and sand dunes. The best spot in Merzouga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Yasmina Hotel Merzouga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yasmina Hotel Merzouga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.