We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic b&b!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Stables Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lamesley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Stables Lodge
Save
You added The Stables Lodge to your Saves list
South Farm, Lamesley NE11 0ET , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Lamesley B&B and Inns
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic b&b!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The stables lodge is most definitely the best b&b we have ever been to.

We visited for two nights in February 2012 for our anniversary & stayed in the Garden room.
The garden room is a really beautiful and romantic room to stay in & well worth the price! You get private use of the hot tub which in February, was much needed! The room comes with sky tv and a great selection of DVDs, as well as tea and coffee making facilities & lovely shower essentials.

The breakfasts each morning were beautifully homemade and set us up for the day.

Janet and Gary were a lovely couple who couldn't do any more for you - provided us with enjoyable conversation and tips on where to go around the surrounding area :) although we drove, Janet and Gary will provide you with a menu for a lovely country pub within walking distance.

We will be returning ASAP!

Love Sian and matthew.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
77
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Louth, Lincs, England
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed overnight at The Stables in the Tartan Room before collecting our son from Northumbria Uni the next day. Never have we been greeted by such a warm welcome. Janet was lovely and nothing was too much trouble. We were delighted by the array of teas, coffees, (including cafetiere) and hot chocolate in the room along with biscuits and toffees. Janet provided fresh milk to have in the hot drinks. There was also a mini fridge with 2 bottles of water. The room was spacious and had an ensuite. The menu for breakfast is the best we have ever come across; so much choice and all freshly cooked. I had baked apple with red berries and yogurt - divine, followed by croissants and pain au chocolate. Perfect location for visiting Newcastle and the surrounding area without being in the city. Cannot recommend highly enough.

Room Tip: Any room would be fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
county durham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Me and my partner stayed at the stables lodge on 1st december 2012 to celebrate his birthday. we choose to stay in the garden room which allows access to the hot tub just outside of the room. on arrival we were made to feel very welcome by Janet who showed us around, explaining where everything was kept. we were then left to enjoy the comfort and luxury of our room and the hot tub. room is very clean and welcoming, and kept to a very high standard. heating was on, on arrival so the room was very cosy. hot tub was also heated already and was lovely to step straight into. We also recieved a complementary bottle of wine seen as it was my partners birthday. The following day we had breakfast in the main sitting room and it was lovely.Very filling and cooked perfect. nothing was too much trouble. will definately be returning to the stables lodge and recommending to others.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We were welcomed by the owners like old friends although we had never met Janet or Gary before. We stayed in the Garden Room which is beautifully designed and very comfortable, with a hot tub a short skip across the garden. Nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel very much at home. We would recommend The Stables to anyone who is looking for a quiet, quality break. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: For your own hot tub book the Garden Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houghton Le Spring, Tyne and Wear
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We chose this hotel for our anniversary night away and it couldn't have been more romantic. There was a gale blowing outside and we watched the trees swaying from the comfort of the luxurious, cosy garden room only braving the elements for a short trip across the garden to the private hot tub. Both the room and the hot tub were immaculately clean and well looked after. The breakfast also proved as good as the accommodation with plenty of choice and excellent service.

If you are thinking of trying this hotel then don't hesitate, it is excellent value and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I have just spent four nights in this wonderful Lodge. I was in the Tartan Room which was so comfortable I did not want to leave but I did for the best breakfast in the North East. ! Many thanks to Gary, Janet, Domino and all the staff who made my stay so welcoming. I will certainly return.

Room Tip: Any room is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harwich
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

dear janet thank you for your help and kindness you were the perfect host accomodation and breakfast were superb we came all the way from harwich essex to visit the beamish museum this was a great locationfor that visit

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Stables Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stables Lodge

Address: South Farm, Lamesley NE11 0ET , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Lamesley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lamesley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Stables Hotel Lamesley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stables Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.