We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a let down” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Albany

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Albany to your Saves list
The Albany
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Toorak Road and Millswyn Street | South Yarra, Yarra, Victoria 3141, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Yarra
Swan Hill, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“what a let down”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in June 2012 before it changed hands to 8 Hotels. Before it changed hands I was delightfully surprised to feel at home with all the Rolling Stones shots on the wall. Back then, I got this amazing room with a spa, an extra lounge room and a mini bar. it was awesome. I paid $125 a night for three nights. Then I booked in again for the same price recently, Sept 21, and was totally let down by a room at the end of an exterior corridor, paper thin walls, no chairs, no soap, bad chemical spray odour, no Stones PIctures anymore because 8 Hotels had taken over. From what I can see 8 Hotels are a very grey mob of people. I can go on, but I won't bother. Will not be staying at 8 Hotels franchise anymore, definitely no Green sense there.

Room Tip: ask for room 88 and don't pay more than $150
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan Z, General Manager at The Albany, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear 22loumac

Thanks for your feedback, I am always particularly keen to hear feedback from guests when we begin managing new properties.

8Hotels took over the management of The Albany Hotel in June 2012. We were drawn to the hotel’s an individual style, incredible character and personality – things you’ll find throughout all of our hotels. We have identified a number of improvements we can make to the business, and we are working very hard to achieve these changes as quickly as possible.

I am sorry you were disappointed by the lack of the stones pictures however these were a personal collection from the previous owners and due to the personal attachment with the pictures have chosen to take them with them.

I would like to appoligise for the issue you have had with housekeeping and this is something I have addressed with the housekeeping manager and the team.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    56
    39
    23
    47
See reviews for
28
74
19
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This would be my 3rd stay at the Albany and I can honestly say each stay has been a pleasure. I usually stay in the Mansion Suites which are gorgeous. They are extremely spacious with a comfortable bed - and my favourite a fireplace (for show) & a chandelier! I have stayed in other rooms and all have been clean, cosy and perfect for what I need - I have even brought my dog with me on one occasion as they are Pet Friendly! The staff are extremely friendly and very helpful when it comes to general info or recommendations. Quirky rooms, great rates and friendly staff - what more could you ask for?

Room Tip: Always handy to call the hotel directly, the staff are very knowledgeable and can assist with choosi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan Z, General Manager at The Albany, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear AdventureGirl713,

It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay at the Albany. We are thrilled to hear that you stay with us on your trips to Melbourne and are satisfied with the facilties we offer here.

We look forward to welcoming your friendly faceb back on your next trip down to Melbourne as we always enjoy welcoming back our loyal guests.

Warm Regards,
Ivan Zulficar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel many times over the past 6 years and have always found it comfortable, convenient and excellent value for money. I recently stayed for a three week period and loved the friendly staff and how much they helped make the stay what we wanted. It is in a quiet area and very close to the CBD by tram, taxi or even walking. It has a somewhat "historic" or "period" theme to it and that mtaches the more sedate neighbourhood. Great place to recover from the party the night before. The rooms were comfy and the atmosphere is like a family. Will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan Z, Front Office Manager at The Albany, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Mike W,

We would like to thank you for your feedback on your recent and past stays at the Albany. We are thrilled to hear that your experience has been pleasurable, warming and enjoyable as those are the things the team strive to achieve. Service is our number one goal and we always take pleasure in ensuring the guest stay is satisfying as their experience has exceeded beyond their expectations.

We love seeing familiar faces and are looking forward to welcoming you back to your ‘Home away from Home’.

Warm Regards,
Angelica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I have stayed at a few 8 hotels properties and this is certainly is a quirky place. Don't expect 5 star however it is a clean fun place and staff are great. The area is in a quiet street with a short walk to chaple st which has amazing shopping!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan Z, General Manager at The Albany, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Stylish69,

We thank you for your feedback from your stay at the Albany and are glad you had a pleasurable experience. The 8 Hotels collection was drawn to the incredible character and individual style and personality of the Albany and are currently working on ways to improve this property.

We are happy to hear of loyal guests staying at our different properties and are always opened armed to familiar faces. Should you be travelling to Melbourne again in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us directly. Both myself and the team love to look after our return guests. Similarly, if you are looking to travel to other locations throughout Australia, Bali or Paris and would like me to make enquiries at our sister properties on your behalf, I will be more than happy to do so.

Warm Regards,
Ivan Zulficar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is a 'self rated' three or 3.5 star hotel depending what booking site you use. Don't be fooled by the photos, this is a horrible 1970 motel with nothing to like. It's dirty, nearly everything is broken and basically hasn't been touched since the 1970s. To add insult to injury you are required to have $50 deducted from your credit card for 'incidentals'. They claim you will be credited within a week if you don't steal anything. Given there's no bar fridge, and everything else is either broken or bolted to the walls, I see no reason for the deduction other than cash flow for a struggling, greedy outfit. Don't stay here.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 5 nights in August.
First tip if you haven't been to Melbourne before..the airport is a fair way from the city and this hotel. It cost us $70 in a taxi from the airport to the hotel. It is cheaper ($17 each) and just as quick to get the skybus which runs for the airport to and from the city every 10 minutes! Which we didn't know before hand, and would have found it useful information as we were on a tight budget!!

When we booked there were a lot of decent reviews for this place, so we thought why not! As it got closer to our travel date however, the reviews began getting worse and worse and we became increasingly worried! However, once we arrived at the reception, we were pleasantly surprised at the modern, funky reception and dining area. The staff were very welcoming and friendly, and although we arrived 3 hours before check-in time, they managed to have our room ready for us 10 minutes after we arrived - Which was great as we were tired from a lot of travelling!
We stayed in room 20, which is a 'standard double'. As we walked to find our room, the word 'motel' did come to mind, and we reached our door to find what could only be described as a 'punch hole' in it...which was a bit scary!
The room smelt lovely when we entered, all floral and the bed sheets were clean and the bed made very neatly, bathroom seemed clean enough with shampoo, conditioner and hand soap provided along with clean towels and face cloths. The room was quite small, but plenty of storage in the wardrobe with ironing board, iron, hair dryer and a few extras like tea and coffee making facilities.
The first thing we noticed was the floor was filthy and sticky with brown liquid in front of the fridge which was gross.
The door to the room also had a HUGE gap at the bottom which let in a strong draft, and being winter it was a very cold draft! We ended up having to wedge clothes in front of it at night to stop the draft coming in.
I will be honest and say I didn't feel very safe/secure in the room as the door was very light and flimsy and could be easily pushed open with slight force which was very worrying, especially when we went out during the day and all our personal belongings were left (without a room safe).
To add to this, the couple in the room next to us were having a very loud and aggressive argument for a good hour and a half one night - shouting a swearing and banging around, then it sounded as though it was turning into physical violence so we told the staff at reception who just said 'oh ok'...obviously there isn't much they can do, and the couple should have taken it elsewhere as the walls are very thin and you can hear everything. (not very considerate to other guests!) So it was pretty scary!
However the staff were very friendly throughout our stay which was lovely. We had breakfast included in our booking, and the breakfasts were delicious! They offer a buffet style breakfast which includes coffees/teas/juices toast, cereals and pastries. Also they offer a range of cooked breakfasts with eggs and bacon etc. But the standard of food was very nice.
Wifi is available, but you have to pay $10 a day for it. The 'foxtel' is about 4 channels, so don't get your hopes up about that! (if you love tv) They do offer a movie package for $26.95 for 24 hours which is pretty good if you will be staying in for the day/night.
The location of the hotel is perfect! About a 25 minute stroll into the city, or you can catch a tram or bus from the end of the road if walking isn't your thing. About a 15 minute walk in the opposite direction takes you to Chapel street where there is lots of cafes and shops etc.
Overall it was a mixed stay, the room was comfortable, but didn't feel safe, it was mainly clean but the floor was filthy. The staff were friendly and polite and welcoming and the breakfast was great! They make good coffee too. We probably wouldn't stay here again, but would visit for breakfast!

Room Tip: Not room 20 if you expect a nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan Z, General Manager at The Albany, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

It is lovely to see that we were able to accommodate you well before check in and that you were overall pleased with the standard of your room. I appreciate your positive comment about the cleanliness; our housekeeping team work very hard to maintain a great standard. I do however apologise for the brown substance found on the floor, please be assured this was a one-off occurrence on that particular day, we will be sure to follow this up with housekeeping and also maintenance as there may have been a fault with the refrigerator. In regards to the gap under your door we are sorry if it brought a cold chill through the room, this is something we are aware of and are looking into placing seals on the bottom of the doors to stop the cold air coming through.

As for the security of your belongings, although we don’t provide safes in the rooms we do have a safety deposit box at reception which I am sure one of our reception staff would have been happy to store some of your valuable items.

It is great to hear that you and your partner enjoyed our breakfast menu and the movie packages we offer as we like to cater for all different walks of life. Thank you for pointing out our friendly staff and the service they provided for you, our customer service is something we take great pride in.

If you decide to come back down to Melbourne we hope you consider us again where we are always delighted to take care of our returning guests. We would recommend you call us directly where we can ensure you are in a room that is best suited to you.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Carefully review the traveller's actual room photos of their "superior" rooms with the images at the hotel's website and you'll quickly choose somewhere else to stay. A deeply disappointing experience that irrevocably damages the 8Hotels brand. A regular customer at their other hotels, I have been so put off by the deceptiveness evident in the way this property is being marketed that they have lost our business for good. When was the last time someone senior at the company did a "mystery shopper" stay here? If the hotel is a work-in-progress then it should not be marketed as it currently is at the hotel's website. It is not shabby chic, it is purely shabby.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan Z, General Manager at The Albany, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Westbest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your recent stay at the Albany Hotel.

As you are aware, 8Hotels took over the management of The Albany Hotel in June 2012. During the past months we have identified a number of improvements we can make to the business, and we are working very hard to achieve these changes.

I would like the opportunity to discuss the issues you have faced over the phone and explain our long term goals, if you could either contact me at the hotel or alternatively supply a contact number.

Warm Regards,
Ivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albany

Address: Corner Toorak Road and Millswyn Street | South Yarra, Yarra, Victoria 3141, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Yarra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Yarra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Albany 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on South Yarra’s most picturesque streets, nestled between beautiful Fawkner Park and the Royal Botanic Gardens is a historically eccentric boutique hotel waiting to excite you. Perfectly placed on the doorstep to famous Chapel Street, the CBD and the MCG you’ll be torn between wanting to explore the quirks and grooviness of The Albany and getting around to all the hotspots Toorak is renowned for. Shabby chic meets rock star glam and a bit of French boarding house with refreshingly good service is just a hint of what to expect before stepping foot through the Manhattanesque front entrance. Uber comfortable beds, black and white mural posters plus bursts of red and lime will turn an average sleepover in Toorak to a fun and fashionable stay whether you’re turning in after a night out on the town with friends or here for business. Of course, you can expect all the necessities a boutique hotel has to offer as well as all the extras including delicious breakfast, on-site parking, fantastic value for money, and yes… you can bring your furry friend with you too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany Hotel, Melbourne Hotel City Of Yarra
Albany Melbourne
The Albany Greater Melbourne/Yarra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Albany, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.