We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Albany

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Albany to your Saves list
The Albany
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Toorak Road and Millswyn Street | South Yarra, Yarra, Victoria 3141, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Yarra
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“really disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night and 2 nights in the same week.

On both ocassions the reception staff where helpful and polite. Hotel is in a great location, close to resturants and tram/train lines into city.

1st room - "Queen Bed" room was just 2 single beds pushed together, uncomfortable for a couple.

1st room - strong smell of damp and musk. Mould patches visible very unpleasant.
2nd room - smell was not as bad, but still not pleasant.

Both bathrooms - small, run down with old cracked dirty tiles. Towels provided where rough and smelt stale.

Both rooms had 'questionable' white stains on the black trademark A pillows. I would advise taking these off the bed when you arrive.

Both rooms had lots of general wear and tear, dirt marks on walls/curtains/cushions. Poor DIY throughtout rooms, paint streaks, wires and pipes visible. Cracks and holes.

"free wifi" when is actually connected it was slower than a tortoise with no legs.

Overall this hotel stay was very disappointing and overpriced for the quality. it feels like they have taken a run down old establishment and thrown on some wacky wall paper and cushions and labeled it as a boutique hotel. they are in the process of refurbishing the reception area and some of the rooms by the looks of things so it could get better?

Room Tip: ask for one of the newer rooms, I believe they are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan Z, General Manager at The Albany, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Fax1989,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your recent stay at the Albany Hotel.

8Hotels took over the management of The Albany Hotel in June 2012. During the past months we have identified a number of improvements we can make to the business, and we are working very hard to achieve these changes.

It is certainly disappointing to read that you were not satisfied with your stay and I would like to apologise for any discomfort you experienced with the beds. You may also be interested to know that we have just ordered new micro-cloud bed toppers that will be delivered shortly to ensure our guests are comfortable and have a good night’s rest.

As our guests satisfaction is our number one priority, I am confident that had our friendly team been alerted of your problems with the WIFI they would have gladly assisted in either providing you with a cable for broadband or checked our server to ensure it was up to speed.

Both the team and myself take all feedback extremely seriously and see it as a fantastic opportunity to improve our product, services and facilities.

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. Should you be travelling to Melbourne in the future, please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly. We love to look after return guests and it would be my absolute pleasure to personally ensure your second stay is of the highest standard.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    48
    32
    18
    27
See reviews for
22
60
18
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I Stayed here in july 2012, a night at a hotel was a present from myself to my boyfriend. After a lot of research and some good and bad reviews of this place i chose here, because i thought it looked like a nice place for an overnight getaway. The reception guy was very nice and helpful. The room wasnt the best, the bathroom was quite dirty and the tv didnt work the best or the heater for that matter. When doing my research the higher priced rooms said it was king zip bed which i did not want so i went for a medium priced room which said it had a Queen bed, well it was NOT a queen bed it was 2 single beds pushed together with a sheet over it which made it very uncomfortable because if you moved a bit the single beds would start coming a part which was highly annoying and uncomfortable, the shower head moved around alot and wouldnt stay in one place, there is no door on the shower so it makes for a very slippery floor when you get out which i almost slipped and hurt myself, and the place looks very outdated from the front and in the place too. Overall i was disappointed in the hotel and will not be staying there, i paid 144 and did not think it was worth that at all!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan Z, General Manager at The Albany, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Sammi-Kate M

Thanks for your feedback, I am always particularly keen to hear feedback from guests when we begin managing new properties.

8Hotels took over the management of The Albany Hotel in June 2012. We were drawn to the hotel’s an individual style, incredible character and personality – things you’ll find throughout all of our hotels. We have identified a number of improvements we can make to the business, and we are working very hard to achieve these changes as quickly as possible.

I have addressed your issues with the bathrooms with our housekeeping manager and we are currently vapour cleaning all bathrooms, I have also recently ordered some new TVs to replace some of the older sets that are still around the hotel. We will also soon be implementing microcloud bed toppers throughout the property to ensure the issues you had with the bedding will no longer happen.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

After reading other mixed reviews I was a little skeptical about this hotel and what it would be like. The bed and room were very clean, the location was excellent to travel either to Central, Chapel St or St Kilda. I would say it was great value for money as a travel lodge type hotel. I think people get let down because it uses the word 'boutique' in its advertising. More then happy with the hotel and would stay again.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Petite Double and it was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan Z, General Manager at The Albany, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Sallypink,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay at The Albany Hotel. I am thrilled that you enjoyed our very central location and found the rooms clean and tidy. We certainly pride ourselves on this.

8hotels collection has recently taken over the property and i appreciate your feedback in regards to the advertising, should you be travelling to Melbourne again in the future, please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly. We love to look after our return guests.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I liked the place a lot, open gallery just outside your room. Amazing washroom facility. You would love to stay at this place in Melbourne, Not too cheap not too expensive. I could say this was one of the best hotels of Melbourne in terms of value for money.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan Z, General Manager at The Albany, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear HiteshVMatlani,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such lovely feedback on your recent stay at The Albany Hotel.

8hotels collection has only recently aquired the property and It is so pleasing to read that you found our boutique property an enjoyable place to stay. Comfort and service are certainly of our highest priority and we are delighted that our facilities were able to impress and that you found the hotel great value for money.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Albany Hotel sometime in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We traveled in oct we were only going to stay in melbourne for 3 days but wanted to stay longer but the other hotel was booked up. Wanted somewhere reasonable and we stayed here. The pics are prob a bit old, the room we had was clean and tidy tho. Could do with decorating to restore it. We ate in the bar food was nice not expensive. there is a bus into the city its about a 5min walk away. Think it took 15mins.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albany

Address: Corner Toorak Road and Millswyn Street | South Yarra, Yarra, Victoria 3141, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Yarra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Yarra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Albany 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on South Yarra’s most picturesque streets, nestled between beautiful Fawkner Park and the Royal Botanic Gardens is a historically eccentric boutique hotel waiting to excite you. Perfectly placed on the doorstep to famous Chapel Street, the CBD and the MCG you’ll be torn between wanting to explore the quirks and grooviness of The Albany and getting around to all the hotspots Toorak is renowned for. Shabby chic meets rock star glam and a bit of French boarding house with refreshingly good service is just a hint of what to expect before stepping foot through the Manhattanesque front entrance. Uber comfortable beds, black and white mural posters plus bursts of red and lime will turn an average sleepover in Toorak to a fun and fashionable stay whether you’re turning in after a night out on the town with friends or here for business. Of course, you can expect all the necessities a boutique hotel has to offer as well as all the extras including delicious breakfast, on-site parking, fantastic value for money, and yes… you can bring your furry friend with you too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany Hotel, Melbourne Hotel City Of Yarra
Albany Melbourne
The Albany Greater Melbourne/Yarra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Albany, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.