We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“August trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cala di Volpe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Cala di Volpe to your Saves list
Hotel Cala di Volpe
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Costa Smeralda, 07021 Cala di Volpe, Sardinia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Cala di Volpe
Moscow
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“August trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Well, first of all i would like to say that this hotel is not as fancy and new as people might think (looking at the price)
but i've been traveling to this hotel for past 3 years. i would like to state that in period from 5th of august to 15th, its a best time to be there.
besides a great relax zone and super amazing meals, rooms are not bad too.
the best thing is the people you get to seee there. from presidents family members and billianers business men to top fashion and movie celebrities.

its a nice trip to have a great time with really nice people. and in good/smart cases create a great contact list for yourself

Room Tip: request a first floor rooms since you get a nice area to relax in the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_CalaDiVolpe, General Manager at Hotel Cala di Volpe, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Anton S

We are pleased to know that you are an enthusiastic guest of our resort which is being known as the icon hotel of the Costa Smeralda since its opening in 1962, for its unique design ideated by the great architect Jacque Cuelle and for all the glamorous events which used to host every summer.
We would like to thank you for your comment and hope we will have the pleasure to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    18
    12
    9
    6
See reviews for
22
44
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

Luxury in purity
Service and amenities are first class
I enjoyed the emerald coast since ever
This is location # 1 ...!
The sea so clear , boats , water ski trainers all for you , the food !
5 minutes from the famous night clubs and rsorts in porto cervo and porto rotondo .
Not cheap true but whorth every penny
Unforgetable , really unforgetable ...

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_CalaDiVolpe, General Manager at Hotel Cala di Volpe, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Federico L,
We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay at the Cala di Volpe and that we were able to make your holiday such a memorable experience. We would like to thank you for sharing your opinion and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed at Cala di Volpe for 3 nights for a wedding. The hotel has become too big for its boots. It's certainly not worth the ridiculous price tag.

The receptionist showed us half way to our room and said "just go down the stairs, take a right and your room is there." The room was actuallly on the left!

We had to follow up repeatedly to for simple requests like ironing/ laundry, getting our passports back after check-in and so on. Some of the service professional did not speak good English, which is surpising.

All in all, a disappointing stay at what has been lauded as the best hotel in Sardinia.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_CalaDiVolpe, Manager at Hotel Cala di Volpe, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear KitchieKai,
We regret to learn that you stay in our hotel was not completely satisfactory. The Cala di Volpe is renowned for its exclusive location, its unique design and architecture and the impeccable service offered by our attentive and dedicated staff. These are just some of the reasons that make our resort renowned worldwide, making our affectionate clientele coming back to Sardinia every year. Therefore, we are sorry to learn that the services offered did not meet your expectation and that you were not able to experience what makes our hotel so special. We assure you that the majority of our employees are multilingual and that in the event that some may not be as fluent as required, our guests can always refer to the head of service, a competent multilingual supervisor. We apologize if this alternative was not suggested at the time you interacted with the staff. We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your opinion as it always important for to us to improve. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to show you the true level of hospitality and service that our hotel and dedicated staff is capable of delivering.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

I won a prize to stay here and the hotel and it's settings were fantastic, but in a five star hotel I do not expect chipped jugs with milk in at breakfast, and kitchen roll still stuck to my salad! It was as though because it was a prize the effort was not quite there. Also items billed to my room that belonged to others as no one ever asked you to prove your room number, the extra items were removed once I questioned them! The grounds are stunning and the staff friendly but I have stayed at 5 star hotels in Dubai and can say those experiences were truly 5 Star.... I would rate this hotel at best 4 star!!! Very expensive and rooms are a bit dated!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_CalaDiVolpe, General Manager at Hotel Cala di Volpe, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Mark R,
We are sorry to learn that your stay in our Hotel was not satisfying and regret that you were not able to experience what the Cala di Volpe is renowned for: its great service, attention to detail and refined restaurants offering fresh, local products. Excellence is our priority and we strive for the best and for giving each of our guests, no matter if they won a prize, the same level of service. In regards to the billing accident, please accept our apologize for the inconvenience and be assured that it was uncommon incident. Our professional and attentive staff check the details before guests receive the final bill. We would like to thank you for your comments which are important to us in order to improve. We look forward to welcoming you again soon to have the opportunity to show you the true hospitality and service our Hotel is capable of delivering.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

My wife and I typically stay at very good hotels so we don’t get impressed easily, but Cala di Volpe impressed us immensely. In fact, the more spoiled you are the more you will appreciate this arguably best resort on the Sardinian Emerald Coast.
They will save you the hoopla over using fresh, natural food, but bite their strawberry and you will suddenly remember your childhood. All the marvelous dishes we tasted were served exactly the way I like it: short on an attempt to create an extravagant work of art (like in some Michelin rated but not particularly inspiring restaurants), but long on taste. It was truly delicious. Even meat tastes meatier there.
This place has become a quiet recluse for those-who-know from around the world. I’ve seen an elegant couple from Brazil, geeky looking young Chinese executive with his wife, surprisingly quiet Russian couple plus the usual assortment of well healed French and Germans. During our stay a well-known Romanian anchorwoman had her wedding here. So the resort was full of gorgeous and smart looking young people.
After Cala di Vope we spent a few days at one of the best known hotels in Rome. Suddenly, the bed was not as comfortable, towels – not as fluffy and even the service not as intuitive.
I read complains of how pricey Cala di Volpe is and I finally understood why it is so expensive – because it’s worth it!

Room Tip: Room 272 is superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_CalaDiVolpe, General Manager at Hotel Cala di Volpe, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear GZaretsky,
It is with immense pleasure that we read another of your positive reviews about Cala di Volpe. We do everything based on our guest desires and knowing that we succeeded in our aim is the highest reward. We would like to thank you for sharing your experience and hope to welcome back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

we ve been to this fantastic hotel twice and i would never say no to going again!
yes it is very expensive but i suppose u know it before you go. just relax, relax, relax and enjoy the pampering! staff is cool and friendly. food is heavenly!!
costa smeralda is all about good life.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_CalaDiVolpe, Direttore generale at Hotel Cala di Volpe, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Dear Eva-cyprus,

We are glad to know that we were able to make your visit so special. We enjoy doing everything we can: providing for and pampering each guest to make memorable experiences such as the one you had on your recent holiday. We thank you for sharing your opinion and hope to welcome you back again to Cala di Volpe this season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

There are a very few hotels in the world that can compare to this one.

This hotel is a part of Starwood Group and I am a Starwood Preferred Guest, so upon my arrival I found a bottle of champagne sitting in a sweaty ice bucket in a middle of spacious room with astounding view.

My major problem during this 4 day stay was appetite. I did not have enough room in my stomach to try all the magnificent things they offered. If you don’t finish your dish in a good Italian restaurant it’s a shame, but if you don’t finish your dish at Cala Di Volpe, it’s a crime.

Perhaps the best way to describe their service as this; I had to catch an early flight, but also allow myself enough time to return my rental car and who knows maybe even get lost a little. So, while in the elevator at 5 AM I was hoping that maybe the guy at the checkout counter would have mercy and make me a cup of espresso. The elevator stopped, doors opened… a waiter in white morning coat was waiting with a silver try and a cup of coffee: Buongiorno!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_CalaDiVolpe, Direttore at Hotel Cala di Volpe, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Dear GZaretsky,
We are pleased to learn that you had such a great experience during your stay at the Cala di Volpe. Our guests are our priority and we always do everything we can to meet and exceed expectations so that we can make every visit a special and memorable. We would like to thank you for taking the time and sharing your holiday memories.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cala di Volpe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cala di Volpe

Address: Costa Smeralda, 07021 Cala di Volpe, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Cala di Volpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Cala di Volpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Cala di Volpe 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Starwood EMEA, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Cala di Volpe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starwood Cala Di Volpe
Resort Cala Di Volpe
Hotel Cala Di Volpe Sardinia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cala di Volpe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.