We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Every Minute!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort to your Saves list
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   West Bay Beach | Island of Roatan, West Bay, Honduras   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Offers & Announcements
#LoveInfinityBay 60% OFF!
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in West Bay
Edmonton, Alberta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Loved Every Minute!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We were lucky enough to be at this property February 18 - 25. Our group has travelled through much of the Caribbean and so have a good ability to compare beaches, food, and diving (our three most important factors when choosing properties). We travelled with three other couples and enjoyed every minute of our vacation. We were SunWing guests and therefore utilized the all-inclusive option. I want to comment that our SunWing reps were outstanding. This is the first orientation that I have sat through that I truly felt I learned something I wanted to know about vs. feeling that there was a hard sell on tours happening. These girls gave us information that helped us navigate the island, decide what we wanted to tour, and to go to West End on Friday night for the Fiesta, and such. Kudos ladies!

The food - was absolutely delicious. Though not a huge buffet, we all preferred fewer choices with a much higher quality. The theme nights were very good and we really had no reason to look anywhere else to eat. We did go out one night and had a terrible experience at the Artesian Grill, just down the beach. Our meals arrived after a 2 1/2 hour wait and then a couple of meals were missed and a couple of were overcooked. We never went out again.

Drinks - we made friends with a couple of the servers and experienced nothing but great service. Steve was our favorite and we always felt well taken care of.

Beach - beautiful beyond words. A little cramped for my liking but the view and the ability to snorkel and dive directly from our beach made me forget about feeling cramped. The divers in our group were able to rent scuba gear from Infinity Divers and dove directly from the pier in front of the hotel for $20 per dive. This alone makes it completely worthwhile to return to this property.

Snorkelling/Diving - we all were thrilled with the reef and all of the fish there were to see.

Rooms - the rooms at Infinity were truly some of the nicest rooms were have ever stayed in. What you receive is an apartment. Is it more room then we needed? Yes, but man was it nice to be able to have coffee on my lanai every morning and not wake my husband up. Though washing clothes in never on my list of things to do while on vacation, with having a washer and dryer in the room, I was able to wash our bathing suits and a couple of other things.

We can't wait to return and are planning to do so at Christmas this year. We have two teenage boys who would think they were in heaven at this property.

We felt very safe and walked the beach at night a couple of times.

Many of the stores and businesses outside of the resort were owned by Canadians and many of them western Canadians. It was eye opening to hear of all of the western Canadians that have moved to Roatan. Unfortunately, we will have to continue working and are not quite ready to make the move just yet - but we are certainly thinking about it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    707
    277
    78
    17
    16
See reviews for
359
437
28
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed at IBR from Feb 18-25th and had a great time. Like so many others have commented, the property and beach are phenomenal. We prefer smaller resorts and this one fits the bill perfectly. Large enough to offer most amenities and yet none of the crowds associated with the mega resorts of the Mayan or Dominican. As many have commented, the grounds are very well maintained and the pool was simply huge and clean.
We had a one bedroom villa (#1401) and found it to be in an excellent location. It was very large and well maintained. Although we were on an all-inclusive package with Sunwing, the fully equipped kitchen was nice. And its the first Caribbean holiday that we've been on where we could drink the water thanks to IBR's excellent reverse osmosis system.
The food was excellent and probably the best buffet we've ever experienced while travelling. Everything was hot and fresh. The restaurant staff were extremely friendly and attentive.
Infinity Divers was also an excellent operation. Our 13 year old daughter completed her Open Water certification and we found the dive shop staff to be very accommodating and friendly. Special thanks to our dive master, Sergio, for being an excellent instructor.
The manager, Rick Kolinsky was usually around and very approachable. He mingled with the guests to obtain feedback.
The only downside of our stay relates to housekeeping and the Palapa a-la-carte restaurant and even these issues were relatively minor. Our room was cleaned at different times every day, ranging from late morning to 5pm. On our second last day (Feb 24th) it wasnt cleaned at all. We called the front desk for clean towels that evening and although we were assured that they were on their way, no one came.
The Palapa bar and restaurant service was also a bit of a disappointment. The Sunwing package allows for 2 a-la-cart meals per guest per stay that are supposedly by reservation. We reserved for a 1pm lunch and when we arrived, we were told there were no tables available and none were expected in the near future. Although minor inconvenience, I suspect more organization is required between the reservations staff and the restaurant.
All in all, it was an excellent week and we intend to return next year!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

i stayed in west end for a week but wandered over to west bay for a few days at infinity beach. some of the best snorkeling on the island right in front of the hotel!
We went for dinner on Honduran night, the service was great and the food was amazing! since i only eat fish i was worried there wouldnt be a lot for me to eat but the salad was great and the fish was to die for, not to mention the yuca and veg.
Everyone was very friendly and i would be sure to visit again!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Infinity Bay was terrific place to stay. The resort was beautiful and the beach was incredible. The service my family received was excellent and the staff was both friendly and professional. I have vacationed in many places throughout the Caribbean and this place has to be my favorite.

The accommodations were great. We stayed in a two bedroom / two bath unit near the pool that had a full kitchen and living area... not to mention terrific views. The pool at Infinity Bay is gorgeous with plenty of room to spend leisure time amongst other guests without feeling too crowded. The beach has to be one of the most picturesque I have ever seen. The water is crystal clear and the reef just offshore was a great area to snorkel. I will definitely be back and would recommend Infinity Bay to anyone looking to stay at a high quality Caribbean island style beachfront resort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guatemala city
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

we reserved a room at infinity bay. we got what i would classify as the worst room there. granted we did not pay premium price, so you get what you pay for. we were met with bad weather, so could not consider staying there the 5 days in such a dismal room. the view was to the lobby, and their electrical plant. the bedroom had a view to an empty lot. the living room area is very dark. the kitchen is nice. i felt the whole place looks very run down, unkept. would not recommend. after the first night we moved to the mayan princess. what a difference!!! we were lucky enough to get a room beach front.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick2959, General Manager at Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to complete a review on Infinity Bay. Apparently you stayed in building 9 on a special promo rate. We are sorry you did not like the location but you could have been upgraded all the way to one of our beachfront units. Your room was very well appointed with all the interior finishings that all our villas have. We are certainly not run down in any fashion as we have a team of landscapers and groundsman working 7 days a week but we are very sorry you got that impression. We have sent several emails to you in effort to discuss this further. Please respond so we discuss this more in depth. Our guests experience is our upmost concern.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here due to the good reviews. Overall it's a nice place but you aren't going to be blown away by service. Enough small talk let's get to the review.
The check-in process was not that smooth and there was no one else waiting to be checked in. It was just us and the woman checking us in either wasn't familiar with the process or that's just the way it is. When we walked up we didn't get the 'welcome, checking in.... (not even in espanol!)'. Finally, we were checked in. There was an attendant that helped us with our bags, made no small talk, not much of a smile and walked about 20 yards ahead of us.
We finally make it to the room. It's a nice room and is just like the pictures on the website. However, ours had a slight musty funk smell and felt kinda damp in the living room and couches. The bed was awesome, very comfortable and the sheets were great. The pillows weren't great they weren't soft but we were still able to sleep. In the bathroom there were plenty of towels and decent shampoo and soaps. There was plenty of hot water which was fantastic.
We didn't opt for the all inclusive since we don't drink much. We ate at the restaurant a few times and the service there was hit and miss. Well, that's not accurate. The service was always prompt but there wasn't always the personal touch to make you feel like you are more than just another table or visitor. The service, at times, is what sets hotels and restaurants apart. The food was always fresh and tasty.
The pool area was very nice, huge pool, lots of chairs and you could check out one towel per person if needed. The pool area was always neat and clean and actually the whole property was neat and clean.
The beach area was great, the turquoise waters, soft sand. It was totally awesome.

Location wise it's pretty good as you can walk to some other restaurants and stores to pick up items should you want to venture off the property. You can catch a cab from the property or just outside to the various tourist locations without any problems.

Overall I thought the property was average in that we weren't blown away by the service. For the most part it felt like it was people doing their jobs but there were a few that stood out and gave that extra that made you feel like a truly appreciated guest.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bank, NJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We only had from Tuesday morning till Saturday morning to enjoy this beautiful resort. I will definitely be back and hopefully, for a two week stay!
We arrived on the 10:25 AM flight. There was a driver there to greet us and transport us to Infinity Bay.The property is located about 20 minutes from the airport at the West end of the island. The lobby is large and welcoming. The staff was warm and helpful and check in took only a minute or so. We quickly unpacked and changed and were swimming out to the reef before Noon. I can't say enough about this gorgeous reef which is located about 50 yards from the shoreline. It is so nice to be able to put the snorkeling gear on and just head on out to the reef. No lines or waiting for anything. You just go at your own speed. Our first visit to the reef lasted 2 1/2 hours. It was fascinating. We saw two barracuda, squid, all kinds of other fish. The video I took looks like I was swimming in someone's aquarium!
We worked up a good appetite so, we decided to walk the ten yards from the beach to the Palapa Bar and get some lunch & a drink. The food here was excellent. This is a great place to start your day with breakfast too. We paid in the $25 - $30 range for breakfast and lunch. There is an "All Inclusive" deal available but we opted for paying for our meals so we could explore other places. There is a little restaurant named Celeste about 100 yards down the road from the hotel on the opposite side. Excellent food and very nice owners. We also ate at the Thirsty Turtle one night. I had a Pepperoni Pizza and my wife had lobster. Both were very good. Wednesday night we went to West End and ate at The Lighthouse. We both had a lobster Dinner and a special Margarita. I made the mistake of adding a 20% tip to the bill without reviewing it. The owner came over to me to give me my change back but I told him that the service and food was excellent and the change was his. It wasn't till later on that evening that I realized that the tip had already been included in the bill. These guys thought I was real generous. I found this to be the practice in all the restaurants so, review your check carefully.During our stay we went on the Dolphin excursion and loved it. We also rented a car and driver and explored the whole island. We went to the East end and checked out several of the other resorts and confirmed that we had made the right choice with Infinity Bay.

When you get a cab, haggle about the rate. They will immediately come down to reality. I inquired about the rate to West End out in front of Infinity Bay and the driver told me $15. I told him nevermind and walked away. He immediately called out that he would take us for $10.
Our one bedroom condo was fine for two people. There was a little wear & tear showing but, I guess that can be attributed to the condo owners willingness to maintain the unit. The shower did not drain properly and filled up to almost overflow. This gave us an incentive to take quick showers. The sliding door to the front terrace was cracked when we arrived. We reported it to the front desk and they said someone would take are of it right away. It was still cracked when we left. When we arrived we were told that the microwave did not work and a replacement was due any minute. That was never replaced either. We had a TV in the bedroom and were very comfortable but, I would have liked a TV in the living room as well.

Overall, we loved our stay at Infinity Bay and are already planning a return trip. I highly recommend it.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort

Address: West Bay Beach | Island of Roatan, West Bay, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in West Bay
#2 Family Hotel in West Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in West Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location: West Bay Beach, Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras, Central America (15 minutes from airport). Accommodations: Condo, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths (Sleeps 4-6)Keywords: Luxurious Condo Resort 2BR/2BA at Infinity Bay Roatan. Planning a vacation now to leave in the fall? Location Location Location. The most beautiful upscale resort which is called Infinity Bay Resort located at West Bay Beach, which is one of the top beaches in Roatan, Honduras and of the Caribbean. The reef is only yards away, which is the second largest coral reef in the world. Swim with the turtles and an abundance of marine life, go diving and discover more, or use our complimentary kayaks. Local activities, include scuba diving, sailing, fishing, canopy tours, horseback riding, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Infinity Bay Spa And Beach Hotel West Bay
Infinity Bay Hotel And Beach
Infinity Bay Resort And Beach
Infinity Bay Spa And Beach Resort Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.