We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All inclusive - not!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort to your Saves list
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   West Bay Beach | Island of Roatan, West Bay, Honduras   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
10% OFF MEAL PLANS!
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in West Bay
Toronto, Canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“All inclusive - not!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We have travelled to at least 20 different all inclusives in the past 15 years in the Caribbean: Jamaica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, and Mexico. This in fact is the first time that we have ever written a review. This is NOT an all-inclusive resort. The good points: the pool area is beautiful! The grounds are well maintained; the snorkeling is excellent,very accessible from the beach in front of the resort. The beach in fact is beautiful! The resort rooms are very large because the resort was originally built as a condominium. The bad points: the food is at best marginal. There is very little selection. At the international buffet, the staff had to be constantly reminded that the food as well as the dishes needed to be replenished. The service was not up to standard. You had to struggle to get an additional cup of coffee or another glass of wine with your meal. With regard to the pool, you had to get up at 7:00 a.m. in order to secure a chair. Buying some additional chairs would be an easy solution. As well, there needs to be additional umbrellas around the pool. Although the beach is beautiful, the shade is extremely limited. The majority of shade is under one large tree on the beach. Unfortunately the tree is ridden with worms, eating away at the leaves which at times fall on you as you're sunbathing. The addition of a few umbrellas would be beneficial!The adjacent property had similar trees and were sprayed at least 3 times during the course of the week. We did not see any such spraying at this resort. The a la carte restaurant on the beach is limited if you were on the all inclusive plan. Many items were extra and were very poor! Make sure you bring your bug repellant as you will need it! In summary, if you are looking for an all inclusive upscale resort, this is not the resort for you!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick2959, General Manager at Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Lucy35,
On behalf of the entire team at Infinity Bay we appreciate you taking the time to complete a review. You are correct that we are not an all inclusive resort. We do offer a special unique package for one Tour Operator. This was mutually designed in advance to deliver an enjoyable experience.

The International Buffet was crafted to offer fresh and healthy dishes prepared daily. Each lunch and dinner offers a minimum of 4 entrees with a cooking station. We apologize for it not meeting your expectations.

We are glad that you enjoyed the beach, pool and accomadations. In regards to our trees, they are on a comprehensive treatment program and just last week they passed our biannual inspection but we will take another look to ensure nothing was missed.

Again thank you for your feedback and we will review your comments at our next staff meeting.

Rick Kolinsky
VP and GM, Infinity Bay Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    863
    328
    86
    18
    14
See reviews for
419
537
30
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We came to Rotan on a last minute vacation and Infinity was our choice as we looked at all the other resorts first and decided that this was the place as they had everything we needed….and we were right! The food is great and the service was fantastic. We had a few requests while there and it was taken care of right away – one was there was a small issue with our TV and in 20 minutes we were all set. The weather was really good except for one or two mornings but it cleared up around lunch time. We are not divers and just like to relax when we go away and this was perfect. The pool and beach was our home away from home. Special thanks to housekeeping for taking great care of my wife.

Room Tip: kick back and relax!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateauguay, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Just came back form Infinity Bay on Feb 12th and had an awesome time! Beautiful weather, luxurious lodging (we were in a one-bedroom condo). The feel of the resort in itself is very laid-back, where time just stops. The spa is not finished yet however, the resort offers free transportation to a nearby spa (which I haven't tried myself as the weather was too good!) and you can also get a massage in your condo. The food at the buffet has nothing to do with the big resorts you have probably experienced: less variety but better quality. I can't say the same for the Palapa Beach restaurant: very bad service and poor quality. We even exchanged our reservation for a lunch one as it was so noisy (the bar is right next to the tables and it was Karaoke night at 7!) So, the action is pretty much centered around the same spot so you can definitely forget about your romantic dinner plans.

We wanted extreme relaxation, peace and quiet and we were able to get it at that resort. I would recommend it for families but not for party people as the nightlife is pretty much non-existent. There are also a few bars and restaurants on the beach which was good and when you walk at night, the stars will amaze you!

As for the activities, there are numerous ones and we liked the ones we've picked: snorkeling with dolphins and zip-lining was great!

All in all, a very different location and fell on this beautiful island. People are super nice and also, almost each and every one of them speaks English on the island, as this used to be a British colony.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coldwater, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We have traveled to a number of places around the caribbean and we found Roatan and West Bay Beach to be the very best. The beach was absolutely beautiful and the snorkeling right off of the beach amazing. Infinity Bay was very nice. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was very clean and very large. We had a 1 bedroom 2 bathroom unit with a full kitchen. We found the people from the Island to be very friendly. We did a day trip with Winston - his boat is the Three Sisters. He took us on an amazing day trip with 4 snorkel stops. He was a great host. We found several places on the beach to eat but the coconut shrimp at Bananarama were the best. Many bars and restaurants have daily specials and happy hour so you can eat out very resonably.

We bought some jewerly from KARMA on the beach. Hand made and very nice quality. Karla is there from about 0830 in the morning until 1pm in the afternoon. Look for her sign.

This was the best vacation ever and one week was definately not long enough. We are already planning our next trip back which will be at least 2 weeks in length.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor close to the beach in building 2. We were near the bar area and the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My girlfriend and I just stayed at Infinity Bay for a week and we had the greatest time. Actually we are thinking about our wedding here or coming back for our honeymoon. Check in went smooth and the lobby is really nice for a Caribbean resort…looks like they are still putting some finishing touches on it. The grounds are lovely and they never seem to stop working on refreshing and pampering the gardens. The room was huge and fantastic….not to mention as clean as you ever expect. We are not ones to cook on vacation but the big kitchen motivated us to buy some fresh fish – cook it up and eat on the terrace which was really fun. The pool is amazing and kept so clean….we checked some other resorts in the area and the pools we saw seems dirty and un-kept – but not at Infinity! The food was always tasty and fresh whether you eat on the beach or at the buffet. The staff was very friendly and always eager to please and management was always visible and engaged with the guests – they made us feel real special.

Room Tip: A garden one bedroom villa was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Great establishment, fully equiped for all your needs. Tommy was very helpful and friendly, in other words he'd make sure all his guests were comfortable, I had a real bad sunburn, he gave me fresh aloe vera for it, didn't even have to ask.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This huge complex turned out to be disproportionate for our liking. The main points:

- Located at the nicest beach on Roatán, but it's often quiet crowded.
- Nice diving options next to the second biggest reef in the world, but next time, we shall avoid Infinity dive shop (untransparent billing, invoice upon request, among others).
- Avoid studio suites towards the outer walls at any price (thin connecting doors would let pass all kind of noise, dark, ground floor, etc).
- Sewage smell is regularly noticeable, maybe due to its oversized shape.

Room Tip: Avoid studio suits towards outer wall on ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort

Address: West Bay Beach | Island of Roatan, West Bay, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in West Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in West Bay
#2 Family Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location: West Bay Beach, Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras, Central America (15 minutes from airport). Accommodations: Condo, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths (Sleeps 4-6)Keywords: Luxurious Condo Resort 2BR/2BA at Infinity Bay Roatan. Planning a vacation now to leave in the fall? Location Location Location. The most beautiful upscale resort which is called Infinity Bay Resort located at West Bay Beach, which is one of the top beaches in Roatan, Honduras and of the Caribbean. The reef is only yards away, which is the second largest coral reef in the world. Swim with the turtles and an abundance of marine life, go diving and discover more, or use our complimentary kayaks. Local activities, include scuba diving, sailing, fishing, canopy tours, horseback riding, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Infinity Bay Spa And Beach Hotel West Bay
Infinity Bay Hotel And Beach
Infinity Bay Resort And Beach
Infinity Bay Spa And Beach Resort Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.