We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“January 2013 visit - thank you Roatan!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort to your Saves list
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   West Bay Beach | Island of Roatan, West Bay, Honduras   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in West Bay
Tecumseh, Ontario, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“January 2013 visit - thank you Roatan!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We just returned from Roatan after a 7 day visit with family and friends. Words cannot clearly express what a wonderful time we had. The staff at Infinity is bar none, the best we have ever experienced. The atmosphere and size of the complex made it a perfect fit! We are planning our next visit, but not soon enough...... cheers and thank you for a lifetime of memories.

Room Tip: all the rooms are beautiful, from the studio rooms to the 2 bedroom villas. clean, modern with all t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    842
    321
    86
    18
    14
See reviews for
412
525
30
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chateauguay, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This vacation was the greatest one my husband and I ever had, the service was great and the food was to die for and of course the beautiful beach was amazing, we are definitely going back and the staff was outstanding, oh and my husband loved the bottled beer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Our family of four - daughter aged 12, son aged 8, my wife and I - stayed in a 2-BR condo from Dec. 17-24. The quality of the service was the finest we have ever experienced in the Caribbean. Everyone was friendly and reached out frequently to see what they could do to make our stay more enjoyable. The dining room staff were always pleasant, even when under pressure on those few occasions when everyone showed up at the same time. Top marks for the General Manager, Rick, who has done a superlative job in overseeing the training of the staff and ensuring that all problems are addressed promptly and pleasantly. As for the all-inclusive component, the main course selection was limited to 4-5 items (plus side-dishes) but the quality was consistently outstanding. The beach was fabulous. A few people apparently had problems with sand fly bites while we were there but regular use of oil-based, natural repellents will prevent that nuisance. Snorkeling was awesome and the dive staff at Infinity Bay were very thorough and helpful. Our condo unit was well-maintained. The pool was clean and there was never a problem finding a lounge chair. When we had a problem with our in-room safe, a repairman arrived and resolved the problem within minutes of our call. We strongly recommend the Sandblaster Dune Buggy excursion...a great way to experience fabulous views and to get a little muddy in the process. Victor Bodden's Monkey Business is also a worthwhile side-trip as you get to go inside the cages and interact with the spider monkeys and the parrots. If you're into partying and are seeking the type of entertainment typically found in most all-inclusive resorts, Infinity Bay may not be your best choice (although a nightclub is apparently being added in the near future). But for anyone seeking a relaxing, laid-back vacation with great food, great service and one of the best beaches you'll ever find, Infinity Bay should make anybody's Top Ten list. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Have been on 5 cruises so far to Eastern, Bahamas, and Western Caribbean and Roatan ranks as our best port because of the experience we had at this resort. I am not sure if the rooms are good enough for me recommend a stay here. From outside, it doesn't look like a luxury resort but the pool and the beach with great shore snorkeling is as good as it gets for a day of heavenly relaxation.

There are lot of water sport rides available right at the spot and we enjoyed Banana boat ride several times. Also, the snorkeling was more than decent and food was great for one meal. Lots of coconut trees provide shade to relax and locals offer massage for around $20/hour. Nothing like professionals but good enough to get you relaxed.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Don't get me wrong, the resort, pool, and beach are fantastic. Unfortunately, the hospitality and customer service were horrendous!
I believe the staff were kind and as helpful as they could be. But, other than that I think there's many issues with upper management and training. I go on vacation to relax, eat good food, and hopefully enjoy myself. We've been to many other hotels and I'd have to say these guys are the most inconsiderate I've ever seen.
It began the moment we landed in Roatan. Our son became terrible ill upon descent into Honduras. He was inconsolable. Trust me if you were there at the airport you'd remember us. Infinity Bay who promised they'd be there to transport us, never came or showed. We were left at the airport for 2 hrs with my son screaming and crying in pain.. After numerous calls and no help, we didn't know where to turn. Finally some random gentleman felt bad enough for us! Our son was very sick, and thankfully this person was kind of enough to help us. It was obvious they weren't coming! So what does management say when we arrive, nothing! Here's free breakfast at our overpriced buffet! And oh sorry but your room you payed for is not available. They quickly forget you spend $2000 a week for a room! How unprofessional to be constantly yessing you to death with no follow through. We had to call for linens for our sick child 3 times over a 2hr span. Only to be told 3 different times that it was coming! This was the same for any requests! From no washcloths ,no wi/fi, to our room change.
Well, 3 days later after getting the run around on our room which was suppose to be 2nd floor premium ocean, I confronted the "GM". Who then proceeded to Bs me about my room saying i never paid for that particular room and that it was considered OF. Then he says "oh yeah your the ones we left at the airport..."we'll setup a private ride back to the airport when your leaving." Once again, 3 days later which was the day before we left I physically had to flag Rick down. Just like with everything else, He totally forgot us again! This is supposedly the kind of service you should expect from Infinity Bay!! Well, Rick did come through, that private ride was in some random dudes broken down toyota ,with his 3yr old son in the font seat, and our luggage on top of him!! THANKS INFINITY BAY!

Room Tip: Don't pay for oceanfront unless you wanna stare at Palm trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick2959, General Manager at Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Wesco

Thank you for your review,

With all due respect in response to you and the content of your review,

To all the readers of this review its very important everyone knows, at Infinity Bay we have a passion for hospitality and we don't just work it...we live it!

Soon as I was informed about your situation I went looking for you to discuss your situation to ensure you were having a good time and everything was resolved.....you did-not confront me, I found you. Your room had been upgraded to a beachfront unit, given free breakfast at our buffet and we offered private transportation back to the airport. In addition we offered you several other options as well. You were very happy and appreciative and everything seemed fine. Every time i saw you around the resort I asked how everything was going and you always responded great and thank you very much....we even offered to bring in a doctor at our expense for your sick child - which i strongly suggested you do as I was worried about their wellbeing.

We are all truly sorry you did enjoy our services at Infinity Bay but if we would have known before your posting it would have been addressed.

Happy New Year

Rick Kolinsky
GM and VP, Infinity Bay Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We spent a week at IB, as part of the first Sunwing group out of Toronto. Prior to traveling, I emailed about upgrading to a 2-bedroom (which wasn't an option on the Sunwing site at the time). They responded after a few days saying they didn't have our reservation yet (they don't get the list from Sunwing until two weeks out?). I emailed again, closer to our departure, and never heard back. Asked again at check-in. No response. Husband asked again and was told to ask again the next day because the hotel as "full". After a day there, seeing many dark rooms, we knew this was obviously not the case. So either there's no process to upgrade, they couldn't be bothered, or Sunwing is assigned specific rooms. (Many of them were at the back of the property, some looking over the construction site). In any case, they/Sunwing need to readjust.

Otherwise, check-in was fast, we were entertained by the beat of Garifuna musicians and served fruit punch. The new lobby was still a work in progress, but is spacious and nicely decorated. It was interesting to watch the final touches (new furniture, art) falling into place over the week.

Our room was what we expected from pictures. Nice kitchen with all the amenities, separate bedroom and balcony overlooking the garden. Bed was ok (hard IMO, but realize that's personal preference). There was a musty smell that went away after a day of open windows. The safe was locked, but that was fixed quickly by a nice maintenance guy. The housekeeper did a great job cleaning around all our stuff.

It rained a LOT our first five days. No one's fault except my own - knew it was rainy season when we booked. (FYI, was told March-July were best months). The bugs were out in full force, so bring repellent. When the sun finally came out, it was spectacular. Like others have said, the grounds are lovely. Gardeners work their tails off. The pool is also great and well-suited for kids with a good size shallow area. The beach is about a kilometer long and steps from amazing (best I've ever experienced) snorkeling. The water was wavy at first, but when it calmed, it was like a swimming pool. The vendors on the beach are persistent. IB's beach is small, the loungers are packed tightly. It's the perfect spot for snorkeling, not so much if you want to relax. More space around the pool.

Thought the front desk and beach bar service could be better. Hit or miss depending on who you got. Both could take lessons from the restaurant staff, who were exceptional.

A couple of highlights.. Avi hooked us up with a guide named Marco who took us on an island tour. He was fantastic, friendly, full of Roatan history and interesting stories. If you want to get to know the island, I highly recommend Marco.

The best thing about IB was our experience at the new restaurant. It's not like those huge AI places (thank goodness) with mass quantities of ho-hum food. Food was fresh, healthy and they will jump over hot coals to give you what you want - so make sure to tell them. Husband said "wish there was yogurt". The next day, there it was. For those traveling with children, they go out of their way to deliver. Lany, Alex and the crew threw a birthday dinner for our daughter that we will remember for a long time. They were the sunshine on a rainy vacation.

Overall I'd say go, experience Roatan and IB for its many upsides and bring your bug spray, a flashlight (power goes out a few times a day) and maybe rain gear. It is beautiful, people are great and it's a bargain. For now.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Our family of four spent December 25-January 2, 2013 in a 2BR VRBO unit. The staff is outstanding here-they keep the grounds pristine and wait service at the Palapa Bar/restaurant works their tails off. Never ate at the buffet-that is included with the all inclusive plan and we were told it is good but maybe not worth $30 pp. We prefer to try different places and there are plenty within walking distance, but kept returning to Palapa Bar at IB. Had no problems with bugs on the beach-staff rake and clean it daily. Great snorkeling. Dive shop on site is good and has decent equipment. Best pool in West Bay hands down. Units very large and comfortable. Big bathrooms, in room safe, nice kitchen. Try and stop at Eldon's supermarket on way from airport (tip the driver from IB). In talking with guests at other resorts in West Bay and trying out other restaurants, I think we stumbled across the best place to vacation in WB-Infinisty Bay. Try and rent from a unit owner directly-much cheaper than hotel rates charged by the resort. The only difference is you get maid service every three days instead of every day. Don't forget to TIP these hard working, friendly people!

Room Tip: Rent in phase 1-closest to beach and pool. Phase II is back furthest and some rooms have no view ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort

Address: West Bay Beach | Island of Roatan, West Bay, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in West Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in West Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
#2 Family Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location: West Bay Beach, Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras, Central America (15 minutes from airport). Accommodations: Condo, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths (Sleeps 4-6)Keywords: Luxurious Condo Resort 2BR/2BA at Infinity Bay Roatan. Planning a vacation now to leave in the fall? Location Location Location. The most beautiful upscale resort which is called Infinity Bay Resort located at West Bay Beach, which is one of the top beaches in Roatan, Honduras and of the Caribbean. The reef is only yards away, which is the second largest coral reef in the world. Swim with the turtles and an abundance of marine life, go diving and discover more, or use our complimentary kayaks. Local activities, include scuba diving, sailing, fishing, canopy tours, horseback riding, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Infinity Bay Spa And Beach Hotel West Bay
Infinity Bay Hotel And Beach
Infinity Bay Resort And Beach
Infinity Bay Spa And Beach Resort Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.