We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 great weeks in Roatan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   West Bay Beach | Island of Roatan, West Bay, Honduras   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Book now!!
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in West Bay
Chandler, Arizona
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“2 great weeks in Roatan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We spent 2 weeks at Infinity Bay in Roatan(Oct 27 to Nov 10th)
Pros:
• Snorkeling/Diving - this was the most important for me, as thats the main reason I go to these type of vacation locations. What was interesting is right in front of the resort there are a set of 3 buoys in a line going about 25 yards, 50 yards, 150 yards; a lot of the guests stayed within the first buoy which was just your normal sand and sea grass, but if you swim out past the 2nd buoy you actually enter a real nice reef with lots of corals and fish. But I quickly noticed that if you dive they pull out from the dock, swing over to the 3rd buoy and tie up. So I definetly recommend snorkeling out to there and you will see the same stuff as if diving and can swim between 2 or 3 of the main dive sites that are basically parellel to the beach at that distance. I didn't even end up diving since I was seeing the same stuff.
• Warm Water - This was a suprise as I thought it was going to be closer to 80, but ended up being around 86. The only time it was colder was right after Hurricane Sandy went by and the water was all chummed up.
• Staff - The Staff was very nice too us.Because my Girlfriend always tried to converse in Spanish, they would always try and help out and teach her new sayings.
• Larger Room - The suite we had was great, though under Cons you'll see small room. Thats because when we first arrived they put us in a super small suite. They imediately moved us when we asked about it. The 2nd suite was on the 2nd floor which is good because it keeps you away from the mesquito's. The layout was nice,; with a full kitchen, dinning area, living room, 1 bedroom, and 1 bathroom.
• Food within walking distance -the first week we were at the resort the only place to eat was at there beach bar/resteraunt, which had basic foods and drinks. The 2nd week they opened the new resteraunt on the 2nd floor of the main building (though this was only useable by guests with a food pass, they said it would open for all in Jan 2013). There are ~10 more resteraunts along the beack within a 1/4 mile which we randomly went to for food, giving us plenty of choices.
• Cost / local store - the cost of food was around USA prices, $8 for chicken sandwich to $35 for surf and turf. We went to the local store next to the resort, prices were pretty like USA there also; $1.50 for 2 liter soda, $12 for bottle of wine.
Cons:
• Small Room - As mentioned above, we were put in a small room when we first arrived, all I can say is I would have been upset to spend 2 weeks in this room. But the premium suite was perfect. Just make sure you know what your getting.
• Beach Merchants - This was a big irritant for me, but I don' t like people, so to be constantly asked if I want a massage or to by jewelry gets irritating. On that note, the resort was doing what it could on a public beach. They had security that would not let the merchants hound you, a solid " no thanks" is all it would take for them to move along.
• Bugs (Fly's, Bee's, Mosquitos) - Bugs are annoying. We didn't have much trouble in our room, being on the 2nd floor. It seemed like we would get bit during our walk from room to beach. So use 100% deet like everyone is mentioning. At meals on the beach, the flies and bee's would come in, but not much problems with mesquitos.
• Thin Walls - The room did seem to have very thin walls. As you could hear every move of a chair, cabinet, TV, normal voice, etc… I sleep with ear plugs so it wasn't to bad, but even then I could hear our neighbors when they got up early.
• Slow Bill - The bill's seem to come a very long time after they clear your table (sometimes 30 mins to an hr), if your talking with your waitor just make sure when they clear your table to ask them for your check.
• Smokers - not that the resort can do much about this, but I'm just amazed at how rude smokers are… You would be sitting on a beautiful beach and someone will come sit right next to you, light up and blow it in your face. We had to move several times due to chain smokers setting up right next to us.
• Tips on Bill Change - while we were there, the resort switched from you deciding the tip, to them automaticly adding it to the bill. Just be aware of this.

Comments:
• Weather - The first 10 days we were there was right after Hurricane Sandy went by. The first couple days the water was chummy and the beaches were covered in seaweed. But the rest of the time the water was still and clear, and beach spotless. The last 4 days it rained solid and beach covered in seaweed. I think during this season you just have to deal with what you get, but its definetly beautiful when it's sunny and calm.
• Drinking Water - We drank the tap water in the room and glasses of water at the bar and resteraunts and never had an issue.
• Cruise ships - While we were there the cruise ships were coming in all day Wed, and morning of Thur. The first week they were canceled and the second week it was raining. They are shuttled to the beach next door but does cause a lot of people walking the beach. Only caution would be to maybe not plan your exursions for those days.
• Airport/Flying - Originally we were looking at flights and all flights for us had a total travel time of 16-18 hrs. Finally I found that if you fly on Saturday they have a couple more flights and go direct from Houston, which dropped the time for us down to 6 hrs. The other thing we ran into was leaving, the flight is at 4:40pm and there are shuttles at 12:30 and 3pm. We took the 12:30 to have the 2 hr lead time. You do not need to do this, as the airport is small. It took 30 secs for check in, 1 min to pay exit tax ($39 per person), 30 secs for imigrations and about 2 mins for security. The airline allowed check in right up till we departed, so the 3pm shuttle would have been fine.
• The New front desk opened while we were there and is much nicer then the basement area they use to check in at.
• The spa is going to be on the 3rd floor, but wasn't going to be open until March 2013.

Room Tip: Room 2nd floor or higher to avoid bugs Make sure to get a premium suite, as the small suite is tiny...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    702
    275
    78
    17
    15
See reviews for
356
433
28
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
brroklin ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Traveled to this resort with my husband from Nov 5-12, 2012 and had a wonderful vacation. We were also a part of the first group as all inclusive. Francine from Sunwing was very informative and helpful with any questions we had. Francine if your reading this "have a ceasar for me "!!! Accomodations were very comfortable-definately exceded our expectations. The meals we found to be very good..nice variety-no complaints at all. The grounds here are well manicured and simply gorgeous. The staff are extremely polite and great at what they do !!! Rick & Tommy made us feel very welcome and are doing their very best to make everyones stay a great experience. We will definately return to this resort!
Sue & John

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We were the first from Canada to be at the resort for the all inclusive package. What an amazing job they did! The room was the best we've ever stayed in. The food quality and taste was second to none of anywhere we have stayed. The staff was exceptional.Curtious and polite and always there to greet you. Especially the staff at the brand new buffet restaurant. The resort was beautiful. The pool and grounds were well looked after. Still a little bit of construction with the main building, but never really noticed. Check in and check out was quick. Our Sunwing Reps were fantastic and on site twice a day to help you or book excursions. The hotel also had some different excursions you could go on. The beach was very nice. The snorkeling off the beach was the best I have ever seen. Simply amazing. They have scuba diving on site as well and can scuba right off the beach if you wish.
The only issue we had was with the balcony sliding door lock that did not work, which we let management know about. Only after we let our Sunwing rep Francine know after a couple of times we talked to management and it not being fixed was the lock fixed. Well done Francine!
The only thing that is a must bring is insect repellant. If you do not have it on, you will be bitten. This is an island wide thing and is no way a negative for this resort. Just a word of advise to bring it and use it.
The park was lovely to go to. The zip lining was a blast. We did not get to go on the island tour but heard from others that it was very good.
Over all this was a great vacation at a beautiful resort. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I'm on my desk right on my break, dont feel like eating coz i miss Chef. Funes kitchen. LOL
just arrived last night and still dreaming the place, our 2nd time in West Bay but first time in Infinity Bay . We had a wonderful time, my son love the place, he misses the people, the friendly staff, great swimming pool and excellent food, few choices compared to other all inclusive resorts ,but personally I love quality food and excellent taste.

The manager at F & B, are very helpful and its neat they always ask for feedback. yes, the restaurant wasnt finish when we arrived, but still they were able to pull it through, they were able to serve us what we need. F & B team ,You guys rock!

To summ it up? Clean and fantastic room, great food prepared by a passionate Chef who loves what he is doing and happy . Happy, helpful and hardworking staff,amazing beach rain or shine!

We will for sure comeback again!

We will upload wonderful photos later on.

Rose, John and Ryder

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Im here on my vacation i love this place i dont see why other guest complaine so much about this place the people are friendly on our first day Nov 5 we arrive there was some ( Garifuna Dancers) love it the receptionist Jahsha n Christie was so friendly they help us with all that we wanted great staff also the food at the bar was mmmm great Puma was great even do they was busy with a group that arrive the same day they also make us feel welcome .. looking forward to my next vacation there in a few months .
I also will like to say to there maneger Rick take good care of your staff because you dot fine people like them anymore Christie ,Jahsha and Puma love you all
Good luck

Room Tip: i had a garden view was great love it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The room rate seemed good, but the service was totally disappointing. Our Airport pick up was 45 minutes late. We weren't told that the food package applied to the all day breakfast pool side menu (breakfast in the main house ends at 930 and is average at best). We also were wrongly informed at check in that there was no WiFi in the room, but our neighbours' in room WiFi gave a strong signal. We experienced regular blackouts. We had to use the hotel taxi which charges were incomprehensible. If we'd have paid more for the room I'd be really upset. The place is lovely to look at but seriously plagued by bugs and if the weather isn't good there is no plan B. Individually the staff were friendly and wanted to be helpful but ultimately were limited by the disorganization of the resort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Infinity Bay is a beach resort on West Bay Beach. This rental resort on the beach and is absolutely extremely desirable! The grounds are manicured and beautiful with flowering shrubs and lush greens. The beach and pool are a place of total relaxation! The beach is a white pristine sand and kept clean. The rental unit we rented was a one bedroom facing the beach and pool. Not that many units are beach front as this was. One flight up with an amazing marble, tile and stainless steel applianced kitchen. The stonework beautiful! The balcony was a wrap around where we relaxed at night. The furniture was comfortable and well kept. We rented from VRBO and knew a lot about the island before getting there as the owner supplied us with lots of info. There was an outdoor patio bar and place to have something to eat. Very casual and the food was decent. The waiters were friendly and the managers very helpful. Tap water was fine to drink! You can stop at Eldon's Supermarket on your way there from the airport and stock up on somethings so get you thru the munchies while you are there! The snorkeling right off the beach there was fun and enjoyable...infact is was really good. There were schools of colorful fish and my boyfriend who isn't a "diver" had fun on the reef there the several times he went out. The weekends tend to get crowded at the resort as Hondurans come over from the mainland and it becomes a very family oriented place. We arrived on a Saturday and were worried we'd e subjected to a week long vacation of crowds and kids running about but by Sunday afternoon we had the place to ourselves! For real....many days we were the only ones in the pool!! There may be a day when the cruise ships are in that the beach may crowd up for a few hours but by 3PM they are gone! But trust me it wasn't a problem! I needed a relaxing, quiet, calm, laid back vacation and this was it! Infinity Bay Resort is the nicest place on the island and all the locals say it's the most beautiful beach on Roatan.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort

Address: West Bay Beach | Island of Roatan, West Bay, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in West Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in West Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
#2 Family Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location: West Bay Beach, Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras, Central America (15 minutes from airport). Accommodations: Condo, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths (Sleeps 4-6)Keywords: Luxurious Condo Resort 2BR/2BA at Infinity Bay Roatan. Planning a vacation now to leave in the fall? Location Location Location. The most beautiful upscale resort which is called Infinity Bay Resort located at West Bay Beach, which is one of the top beaches in Roatan, Honduras and of the Caribbean. The reef is only yards away, which is the second largest coral reef in the world. Swim with the turtles and an abundance of marine life, go diving and discover more, or use our complimentary kayaks. Local activities, include scuba diving, sailing, fishing, canopy tours, horseback riding, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and HotelsClick so you can book your Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Infinity Bay Spa And Beach Hotel West Bay
Infinity Bay Hotel And Beach
Infinity Bay Resort And Beach
Infinity Bay Spa And Beach Resort Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.