We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach, lots of cruise people” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   West Bay Beach | Island of Roatan, West Bay, Honduras   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
XMAS IN JULY 60% OFF!!!!
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in West Bay
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great beach, lots of cruise people”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

We took a trip to Roatan in late March. Stayed at IB. The beach was wonderful, the weather perfect and the water pristine. Paradise by the beach lasted 3 days and on Tuesday morning the cruise ships arrived and the beach became a market place, with vendors of all kinds, lots of people, water activities, people stepping on you and your children… we endured this for the rest of our vacation!
The hotel itself is certainly not a five star hotel maybe a 3 star. Our room on the first floor had no view what so ever. The food was not very good, and prices were excessive for what you get. We were charged $7 for 2 pieces of bread, not even toasted, when we complained we got charged $3… also asked for a litter of milk for our baby, we got charged a different price each time that ranged from $3 to $5.50 . There is only one "restaurant" it is in the sand close to the beach, covered, but if its windy, you will get sand on our food. Staff were pleasant except for front desk, Katie at front desk was particularly unpleasant to deal with, from the day I called to confirm our reservation to the day we left. In general we had a good time, but do not plan to go back any time soon.

Room Tip: Get a room in 3rd floor building 4 or less.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick2959, General Manager at Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 7, 2011
Dear Guest –
Thank you very much for taking the time to complete a review on Infinity Bay Resort located on West Bay Beach on the island of Roatan.

I would like to take this opportunity to respond to your comments to enhance this method of communication to ensure success through the process.

Cruise ship days on Rotan are typically Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday’s and the staff at Infinity Bay work very hard to protect the owners and guests experience. We limit the number of cruise ship visitors to only 15 people. The beach vendors are not allowed to be stationary on any beach and they must keep moving and have a permit…..I have shared your comments with our Chief of Security so we can atke corrective action.

In regards to the breakfast confusion and the service received at the front desk your entire review was shared with the resort staff at our daily meeting. This will enable us to improve through training and experience engineering.

We at Infinity Bay we take your comments very serious and it’s our goal to deliver outstanding and memorable experiences to everyone.

Again, thank you for sharing your feedback and I hope you will return to Infinity Bay…..if so, please contact me directly.

All the best!
Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    684
    259
    74
    16
    15
See reviews for
339
425
26
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

I stayed here for 4 nights with my family (2 young children). The beach immediately in front of the hotel is spectacular. Literally, the best snorkeling ever experienced, within walking distance of the beach. The beach in front of Infinity Bay is better than any other spot on the string of the beach. Unfortunately, during the week (Tuesday through Friday), cruise ships discharge passengers and the beach gets quite crowded. By 4 pm, the beach is peaceful again. Friends who were at the Henry Morgan switched over.
That being said, Infinity Bay is NOT a hotel. It's a set of condos. The nice thing is, there are full kitchens, with some (but not all) with washer-dryers in the condos. This was especially helpful for eating breakfast at home or coming in out of the hot sun. They have wifi, and TVs in every room. But, if you are expecting great or attentive service, this is not the place for you. Housekeeping comes every day, but it lacks the extra touch... e.g. you have to request shampoo (which is delivered in teeny packets) or extra towels. The service at the bar/restaurant is just horrendous. Servers -- all of them except Kerby, who works the bar in the evening -- seemed indifferent at best...sometimes comatose or unresponsive. I'd suggest eating at the Vintage Pearl, Bites on the Beach, or Tongs (in West End). Infinity Bay seems to have a free water taxi between West End and West Bay.

Room Tip: Avoid a room near the kitchen (fryer exhaust)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick2959, General Manager at Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2011
Thank you very much for your highly rated review – we greatly appreciate your time. Roatan does have many cruise ships that visit each year and it is a vital part of its small economy. At Infinity Bay Resort we take great steps to limit the number of visitors to only 15 – so the guests and owners can enjoy the beach. There are occasions when unauthorized visitors try to take space on the beach….our security team tries to be diligent and enforce our resort policies.

Infinity Bay Resort – is a full service condo-resort. We offer a conference center, Palapa bar and restaurant, room service, activity center and soon we will have a spa and fitness center. Most owners choose to have their condos in the resort rental pool and we manage the inventory just as a resort or hotel would.

Again, thank for your review and please reach out to me before your next visit to Roatan so I can provide an upgrade for you and your family.
Rick K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

My husband, college age kids and I just returned from a week at Infinity Bay and we had a wonderful time. The kids were so tired from college finals that they were just happy to relax, lay in the sun or shade, use the pool and do absolutely nothing. The weather was perfect, except for one day. My husband enjoyed the scuba diving (used Bananarama dive shop), and all of us loved the snorkeling: the spot at the very end of the stretch of beach is the best. Wonderful, plentiful, colorful fish or all varieties. We were not super impressed with the only bar/restaurant that the resort has to offer at this time, so we did most of our meals on our own. The kitchens are well equipped for easy meals. We bought some groceries locally and in West End. Enjoyed taking the water taxi there and our best meal out was at Besos in West End. Excellent food and reasonably priced. The infinity Bay support staff (Reception desk,shuttle drivers, baggage handlers, beach personnel, waiters, etc) were all very friendly and helpful. We have no complaints. We were warned about bugs: got quite a few mosquito bites, but the sandflies weren't as bad as expected. Bug spray is helpful though! The water wasn't as warm as expected, so if you like to snorkel for long periods of time: bring a shorty wetsuit!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

I stayed at Infinity Bay for one week with my 17 year-old daughter and I wouldn't recommend the property for people with teenagers unless they bring a friend. There were very few people her age and she didn't have that great a time because of that.
The accommodations were excellent although the pullout couch was NOT comfortable.
The main complaint I have is that the staff are VERY noisy VERY early in the morning. I am not sure if that was due to the location of our ground floor unit though. I am sure if we had been on another level we would not have heard them.
The restaurant and beach bar staff are very friendly. The food at the restaurant was fine. I thought the breakfasts were good and plentiful enough that we did not eat lunch.
If you like coffee, bring your own and be prepared that you can not get cream. It's hit and miss if you will find cream in a grocery store and if you do, check the expiration date. Best to bring liquid Coffeemate with you.
When the cruise ships come in to Roatan (Tues - Fri) many of the passengers come to Infinity Bay's beach. That didn't bother me but I overheard several guests complaining about it.
I also heard some guests complaining about their breakfasts as the toast really isn't toasted that much, and yes, by the time they toast it and walk it down to the beach restaurant, it's cold. Well people need to remember this isn't North America (or FRANCE) and everything may not be perfect.
The excursions fellow (don't know his name) was really helpful and we went zip lining through Infinity Bay. It was a blast.
A nice thing about Infinity Bay is it's location. Just walk down the beach (yes it's VERY safe) and you have several bars and restaurants to choose from. Or take their water taxi and visit West End. Be prepared that at night you may have difficulty getting back. The water taxi stops running at 9:30 and twice we had difficulty getting a cab. I finally took cabs and either arranged to have them come back and get us at a prepared time or got the restaurant owners to call a cab for us to take us back.
The snorkelling right out front of the beach is also amazing!
I checked out the Mayan Princess and Henry Morgan and Infinity Bay had THE best pool by far!
I rented through Home Away from Home so the price was exceptional. Booking directly from Infinity Bay without being all inclusive would be a different matter.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

Roatan is beautiful, great diving, awesome beaches and West End is charming. We travel every year and I'm always looking for a place that we could buy a vacation home. Roatan fit the bill in many ways. Coxen Hole is questionably dangerous, I couldn't help but notice the razor wire surrounding the nicer homes on the drive to West End. Infinity Bay was beautiful, the rooms have every amenity you could need with little kids. The pool was very nice and had a shallow section for the kids to play in. The best part by far was the snorkeling right off the beach!! Some of the best we've seen in the Caribbean! The service there was even slower than usual "island time". Check out Bite on the Beach restaurant, just a short water taxi ride away.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

Spent a week at Infinity Bay. Had been to Roatan in the past. This is a truely outstanding property. Great Beach. It does need more of a restaurant and a little quicker service there but there are also many very good restaurants nearby. Fabulous pool. Roatan is known for its sand fleas and mosquitos and although they are found at Infinity Bay around dusk, most of the time they are not as much of an issue as my previous trips to Roatan were. Nice diving and snorkeling right oursside the resort.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cypress
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

The rooms are very nice, staff was nice. As long as you are in no hurry, the service is good (the slowness must be island time) everywhere we went service was on the slow side. The snorking right off the hotel was excellent. Some units had washer and dryer, luck of room assignment.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort

Address: West Bay Beach | Island of Roatan, West Bay, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
#1 Top resorts Hotel in West Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in West Bay
#2 Family Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location: West Bay Beach, Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras, Central America (15 minutes from airport). Accommodations: Condo, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths (Sleeps 4-6)Keywords: Luxurious Condo Resort 2BR/2BA at Infinity Bay Roatan. Planning a vacation now to leave in the fall? Location Location Location. The most beautiful upscale resort which is called Infinity Bay Resort located at West Bay Beach, which is one of the top beaches in Roatan, Honduras and of the Caribbean. The reef is only yards away, which is the second largest coral reef in the world. Swim with the turtles and an abundance of marine life, go diving and discover more, or use our complimentary kayaks. Local activities, include scuba diving, sailing, fishing, canopy tours, horseback riding, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Hotels.com so you can book your Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Infinity Bay Spa And Beach Hotel West Bay
Infinity Bay Hotel And Beach
Infinity Bay Resort And Beach
Infinity Bay Spa And Beach Resort Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.