We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, cozy and quaint - Tropical Paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of West Bay Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added West Bay Lodge to your Saves list
West Bay Lodge
Carretera Pavimentada Ppal West Bay Beach, West Bay, Honduras   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free massage in January.
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in West Bay
Newmarket, Ont.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly, cozy and quaint - Tropical Paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

Myself and two friends just got back from West Bay Lodge. We found the accommodations very charming, rustic and nicely decorated. It was very clean, well kept and new. The rooms were not large, but just the right size for the 3 of us and found them well equipped and nicely decorated with a tropical island charm. We found that it was very reasonably priced, and the location was good with a short walk to the beach. The breakfasts were excellent, and we looked forward to it them each morning. We also enjoyed playing with, and feeding the friendly parrots in the restaurant each morning at breakfast as well, (my favourite ones are Miss Cleo and Poncho) . The staff was very friendly and helpful. They helped us arrange and book our activities, as well recommended taxis etc. Milos and Celeste were very friendly and accommodating. Unfortunately it rained and was overcast for 3 of the seven days that we were there, (but this is typical weather for the rainy season, as we were told by the locals), and we almost didn't get to Roatan due to flight cancellations out of Atlanta GA from the snow storm that disabled the city. Our flight was very late arriving, but we still had a ride waiting for us at the airport. My only negative feedback, was the balcony sliding screen door on our room was broken, which prevented us from keeping the flies and mosquitos out while sitting on the balcony and could not get as much air circulation and breeze into the room to help let the heat out (although the rooms were completely air conditioned - we did not really need to use it because the temperatures were pleasant and could get enough of a breeze to keep the room a comfortable temperature). We also had a difficult time regulating the hot water in the shower, as it went hot and cool while trying to take a shower. The bathroom was very nice, clean and new with nice amenities, and fresh towels daily. The kitchen was well stocked with pots and utensils for our cooking needs and was supplied with a variety of spices etc which was an unexpected bonus. There was also a water dispenser in the room with safe drinking water, and we rented a cell phone while there also so we could call home. We could also borrow free DVD's from the lodges personal library - which was good during the rainy weather. There was construction on the property, but the owners did their best to try not to let the construction interfere on our vacation, the workers did not start until we were awake. The living room couch and chair were a little uncomfortable to sit in, but when you go there, you don't really go to hang around in the room, and this is only a minor unimportant detail. Overall, we really enjoyed ourselves, the friendly and safe atmosphere, and the beach, snorkelling and coral reef was the best I have ever seen by far. I would recommend this location, and would consider going back for another visit because it was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    59
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
82
194
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010 via mobile

I had a great experience at west bay lodge! Their food was so good, we were eating there, and overheard other couples from all inclusive places that chose to eat there instead. They're by the best beach- a short walk to the beach, but far enough away its private. They also made a sand sidewalk to walk down to the beach. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon, USA
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

West Bay Lodge was wonderful for our family vacation in Roatán. Our bungalow (#7) included a separate bedroom with a very comfortable queen bed, another queen bed in an area off the living room, a nice kitchen, great bathroom, and seating for 4 in the living room. On most mornings, the two of us loved going out on the deck (facing West Bay) to watch the community start their day, visit over morning coffee, listen to the birds in nearby tall trees, use the WiFi, or enjoy a good read. We usually met our adult children and grandchildren (who stayed at other properties) for a mid-morning snorkel, and enjoyed dinner as a big group in the early evenings. Celeste and Milos helped us get a great deal on fish and island shrimp for several family dinners that we prepared in our bungalow. The owners were very gracious to invite other family members to enjoy the wonderful pool area, and allowed us to have our grandsons stay with us overnight while the young adults enjoyed the island night life. On our last day in Roatán, our flight was cancelled due to winter weather in the US. However, Celeste was right on top of this and asked if we wanted to be booked on another flight. She took care of us and also did this for our son, even though he was staying at other lodging. We're already planning our third family vacation to Roatán, and we will definitely return to West Bay Lodge!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

At last someone who listens to one needs ! OK its not right on the beach like I wanted but so close it did not make a difference and our hosts Milos and Celeste arranged chairs on the beach for us everyday. They made us feel at home ..or like they were "new friends". The atmosphere was totally relaxed and any side trips we wanted to do were quickly arranged with good english speaking drivers as our Spanish is a bit lacking. Good food at good prices as well in their small open air type restaurant surrounded by tropical greenery. Yummy breakfasts.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

We stayed at West Bay Lodge in September 2009. We found the grounds very picturesque and the help owners exceedingly friendly and helpful, we greatly enjoyed the Baleadas. That been said….. We were grossly disappointed with cabin #1 we found it entirely too small and Hot. The room had wood on the walls, coupled with extreme heat, you instantly think…. “SAUNA” yes there is air conditioning but there are no glass windows only wooden louvers so if you desire light in the room “ the cool air instantly escapes” so you either have a cool, small, dark “Sauna Like Room” or a Hot, small, dark “Sauna like Room” you will be living in air conditioning all night. Also, we found that they turned off the AC when they picked up the room so when you come in the “Hot Box” you feel like you where hit in the face.

The beach is a short walk and is a living breathing gorgeous “Corona AD” absolutely incredible.
Snorkeling is Amazing.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

We went to Roatan for a relaxing and fun vacation. The owners of West Bay were constantly busy with the new construction on site and what-not (I'm guessing that they tend to be really Type A with or without construction) and it was stressful having to interact with them. They have not hired enough employees so be prepared to wait and wait even if you just need a towel. There was only ONE employee to help out with checking in and out, excursions, and all other tasks. This person had such a foul attitude!
Also, the lodge is alongside the main road that cirlces the island. It's pretty busy in the mornings and since the cabanas are not that far from the road, you can hear the road noise in the morning. Getting to the beach was more difficult than expected because there was a giant (maybe 12 ft by 10 ft)puddle from one side to another of the only dirt road that leads from the lodge to the beach. Because there was fencing on both sides, the only way to get past the puddle was to balance on a PVC pipe and hang on to the fence.
Also, some of the cabanas are not self contained. A few of them are adjoining. It was not mentioned to us (as were many things that were a complete surprise) that we were not in a private cabana when we booked the reservation and this doesn't appear on the website, either. My teenage daughter got her first lesson in sex talk from the couple in the adjoining room as there was a door adjoining the two rooms. Even though it remained shut and locked we could hear everything and were trying to be quiet so that we wouldn't disturb them!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

I spent a week at West Bay Lodge with my girlfriends. Roatan is an amazing island! Celeste and Milos made the trip all the more special. They were able to book events, recommend where to go and what to do. The driver they use, Juan Carlos, took us on an island tour and we had the all you can eat steak and lobster at The Hole in the Wall. Definitely recommend eating there! Each day we ate breakfast with the West Bay Lodge parrots. The food is delicious! The lunch baleadas are amazing. Their cat Maxi slept in our bungalow or on our porch. The bungalows have a nice little kitchenette with a fridge stocked with drinks and snacks. The beer costs less than at the local market. We had two beds and one bath. With four woman we could have used a bit more bathroom space, but for the price and location, couldn't have been better.
I recommend diving with Mayan Divers at the Mayan Princess. Ask for Kerry if you are just learning. She is a great teacher. For food I recommend Bite on the Beach and also Rendezvous sushi, have Celeste make you a reservation. And don't forget to visit Bananarama. The beach chairs and kayaks are only $10 to use for the week. The food is also pretty good and they have drink specials everyday. Try a Bananarama and a Monkey LaLa, although nothing beats Celete's Rum Punch!
I can't wait to go back! Milos and Celeste are building a spa at West Bay Lodge. Should make the next trip even more amazing!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Bay Lodge

Address: Carretera Pavimentada Ppal West Bay Beach, West Bay, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in West Bay
#2 Family Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your West Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Bay Hotel West Bay
West Bay Lodge Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Bay Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.