We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Again & again....a warm, wonderful stay.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added West Bay Lodge to your Saves list
West Bay Lodge
Carretera Pavimentada Ppal West Bay Beach, West Bay, Honduras   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
A Day of romance
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in West Bay
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Again & again....a warm, wonderful stay.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is the fourth time that I have stayed with Milos and Celeste.....and yet again, we were blown away by the context of gracious attentive and warm hospitality combined with respect for the privacy that we desired. West Bay Lodge is an island of tranquility located ideally close to the beach and all it has to offer.

Yet again....for the third time straight.....we were pleasantly embraced by the charms of the entire staff who truly seemed to be there....to accommodate our well-being on this trip..... Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    63
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
97
204
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Branford, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

West Bay Lodge is a hidden gem on the island of Roatan. This was my first trip to the Island, as first I was afraid we made the wrong choice. West bay beach has a large influx of cruise boat sailors who end up on the beach multiple days per week. As we stayed I found the place growing on me. Milos who is the owner of West Bay Lodge is phenomenal. His staff is very friendly , accomodating and ready to do anything to make your stay perfect. This place is not right on the beach but due to the staff and Milos I think it is the perfect place for a first timer to stay. He knows the island inside out and was able to suggest great day trips for us that let us see a good deal of the island. we found lovely private beaches, mangroves, day boat trips. All in All it was a wonderful trip. Most of Milos customers are return visits and now I know why. He made our vacation fabulous. I would return to this place!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Branford, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We just returned from a wonderful two week stay in Roatan at the West Bay Lodge (WBL). It was our first trip to Honduras and we cannot say enough good things about the very helpful WBL staff. The co-owner, Milos, was a font of information about everything on the island. He gave us many wonderful tips about what to do (food, tours, secluded beaches, ATMs, etc.). The other co-owner, Celeste, was very approachable and a delightful hostess. The staff, especially, Oyuki and Melony, were always helpful, would make reservations for all activities and were very friendly. The West Bay Beach, no more than 150 yards from WBL, has the best snorkeling on the island at the far west end of the beach.

We stayed in a two bedroom condo across the street from WBL. The accommodations were excellent. There was a fully furnished kitchen and maid service. the beds were wonderfully comfortable. There is an on-site restaurant at WBL that serves excellent food and a bar that has hours that would suit all but the most destitute alcoholic. The mixed drinks are excellent. There is on on-site library of a wide selection of books and DVDs. Milos rents one of his cars on a daily basis and this is very convenient when you want to take a day trip and don't want the hassle of a rental car company.

In sum, WBL is a great place for first timers to Roatan. You will feel completely supported by the owners and staff. Interestingly, many of the guests, perhaps most, were repeat customers, which reflects well on the quality of customer service at WBL. We will return to Roatan and will be staying at WBL.

PS, while in Roatan, don't miss Paya Bay. It is a beautiful, secluded beach with a healthy food restaurant. Milos sent us there and it was great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We spent two weeks at West Bay Lodge and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had never been to Roatan before, and thought West Bay would be the best choice for our first visit. Generally we prefer accomodation right on the ocean, but were concerned that on cruise ship days it would be too noisy and crowded, so opted for this small property literally a three minute walk to the beach. We were able to enjoy the beach (purchased beach chairs through Bananarama for $10) but leave for the peace and quiet of the pool at West Bay Lodge when needed.

We stayed in a Queen Bungalow, small but clean. Met our needs, with a full sized refridgerator that was replenished daily with pop, beer and wine, small safe for passports and money (not large enough for IPad). A large cooler of drinking water was provided and refilled as needed, along with a coffee maker (with complimentary filters, coffee, sugar and creamer), a new flat screen TV (which we didn't use), and microwave. Air conditioning and Wifi were included in the cost of the room. A full complimentary breakfast was also included, although we dove most mornings and usually only had the fresh fruit, juice and toast. Beach towels were provided and could be exchanged daily. The outside covered deck, with hammock, was a great place to spend early mornings and late afternoons.

Airport transfers were included, and we were met promptly on arrival. The driver is willing to stop at the grocery store in Coxen Hole on the way to the Lodge. As well, we had free laundry service available throughout our stay, which cut down on the clothes we needed to pack!

We ate at Celeste's several times for lunch and dinner- the baleadas, salad and lobster dinners were wonderful! Celeste, Milos and all the staff were friendly and would do whatever they could to make our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed in Bungalow 7, my husband, daughter (10 years old) and I. One of the reasons we choose West Bay Londge was the pool. After a day at the ocean our daughter couldn't wait to get to the pool to play. She had a great time there!

The bungalow has a room with a queen bed and closet area, the other queen bed is in the shared livingroom area with a futon, coffee table, TV, and chair with a slidding door to the balcony.

The kitchenette is functional but we really didn't cook, just popcorn in the microwave.

Everyone was very nice and friendly. It feels more like you are visiting Celest and Milos and all of their animals, the watusa(sp?), turtles, parrots (watch Malibu he steals food!) and every so friendy cats. Mama kitty being a favorite!

If you don't like cats not to worry they don't bother you!

I went horseback riding and then ziplining, then the next day I got a deep tissue message in the spa. Their spa is wonderful, quite comfortable rooms, candles, with aromatherapy,
a top quality experience.

If you are looking for a relaxing vacation with a short walk to the beach this is the place!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meeker, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We enjoyed our time at the West Bay Lodge. The owners and staff were all very nice and accomodating. The bungalow was clean and what we expected. We were able to enjoy the beach scene and retreat to West Bay Lodge where it was quiet. The West Bay Lodge is a great value in that price range.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at West Bay Lodge the last week of January 2013 - it was everything we expected and we had a great time. When booking in Roatan we were looking for something low key (but nice!), close to the beach, not too $$$, and overall just a place that would be fun to spend a week in. WBL definitely met all our criteria. I would love to stay directly on the beach, but WBL was literally a 2min walk and we had no issues with the location.

It was great to be picked up directly from the airport - price included w/room - and then be welcomed at the lodge with a fabulous rum punch! The Celeste Rum Punch was my favoriite drink on the island, and Troy was such a friendly and accomodating bartender.

The rooms are certainly not fancy or upscale, but we were not expecting a Ritz Carlton so it was fine for us. They come stocked with a fridge and snacks at very good prices. The room was also very clean and we were provided with all the standard toiletries/towels/etc. The rooms also have A/C and a ceiling fan, so it was nice to have both options. The deck and hammock were a great addition and provided a little extra space which is nice - we stayed in the smaller Queen bungalow.

It was great to get a full breakfast every morning that was included in the rate, and the food was very good. I actually found Celeste's to have some of the better lunch/dinner options and quality of the restaurants in West Bay. Plus, then you can get the yummy rum punch!

Overall we had a great time and would definitely recommend West Bay Lodge to anyone looking for this type of place. Milos, Celeste, and their entire staff were so welcoming and warm. I am looking forward to a return visit!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to West Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Bay Lodge

Address: Carretera Pavimentada Ppal West Bay Beach, West Bay, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in West Bay
#1 Best Value Hotel in West Bay
#1 Family Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your West Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Bay Hotel West Bay
West Bay Lodge Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Bay Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.