We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise, again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Bay Lodge

Save Saved
You added West Bay Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
West Bay Lodge
Carretera Pavimentada Ppal West Bay Beach, West Bay, Honduras   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in West Bay
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Paradise, again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My family (kids age 5 & 7) spent our second Christmas (in a row!) at West Bay Lodge. Milos, Celeste, and the entire staff welcomed us as if we were family. West Bay Lodge is a little oasis -- really good food, relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff and guests, parrots hanging out in the eves of the dining room or in the mango tree and banana trees near the pool. It's a short walk to the beach with access to lots of restaurants, resorts and activities. On busy beach days with lots of cruise ship visitors, we were glad to be able to stay at our little retreat away from the crowds. We had a fabulous time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    273
    55
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
76
186
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We spent one week at west bay lodge... the people that work there and the owners are really sweet folk. Very helpful and caring, we felt such warmth from the moment we got there.

We ended up not being a huge fan of the closest beach "West End" it was fine but far from our favorite Caribbean beach we've been to that's for sure. The walk is about 3 minutes down a little lane till you get to Bananarama which is a big "eco-resort". You have to pay 10 dollars to use their chairs (one charge for your whole stay) but they protect their damn wifi password like it was the codes to the nuclear arsenal or something. They always have loud recorded music playing so it's not a quite beach by any stretch of the imagination, but it is nice to have a chair, shade if you want it and the resort security keep an eye out on your stuff. The beach gets insane when cruise ships are in.

Our room at WBL was cute, clean, and well kept. The deck was awesome to hang out on and they kept the fridge stocked with whatever you want and they do it QUICKLY. We had bungalow 2 which was small inside so there was no place to hang out inside other than on the bed. But we liked the room. In addition to the fridge (larger than a dorm fridge, maybe half the size of a 'regular' fridge, with freezer space) there was a coffee maker and microwave. The flat screen TV has HDMI input and there's a DVD player.

The shower got nice and hot but it did vacillate wildly to cold sometimes.

The pool is small but pretty nice and the seats around it are great to hang out on, some shade and some sun at all points of the day. There are two different wifi networks and they were generally pretty consistent. But they did "come and go" a bit depending on the time of the day etc. For the Caribbean it was very good internet.

I'll say that we do not have kids, in fact I'll say we don't even really like kids, so our first 4 days were way better. There were a few kids (this place seems VERY popular with families) but then about 92 more kids showed up and for a couple of days the pool (which is in the middle of everything) was filled with 6-8 SCREAMING kids. So we were kind of stuck between a busy beach down the way, or a screaming atmosphere at WBL.... it is what it is..... the kids were having fun but for the rest of us it basically destroyed all tranquil atmosphere for most of two days.

The restaurant is really good. Although the menu is not large everything we had was very good. The breakfast (included in the price of the bungalow) was good also... would allow us to eat in the morning then snack till dinner.

The best thing for us was the other residents.... I.E. the Cats. We love animals and always prefer having them around. "Mama K" quickly became friends with us. Hanging out on our laps and one night actually sleeping with us. The resident parrots were always present for breakfast and served as more-than-adequte alarm clocks - bring earplugs if you want to sleep past 8!

My wife got a VERY good massage at the day spa (she's a massage therapist herself and is very picky), her only comment was the table didn't have a face cradle - if you want a deep tissue massage you really should request the table with the face cradle (they have some with and some without).

I would recommend this hotel if you are in the West End for sure. Less expensive, nice people, not directly on the sand-fly-ridden beach, etc. But I would not recommend this for couples... I think it is geared for families and it doesn't really have much of a "romantic it's just the two of us" feel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizzy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My husband and I skipped out on family Thanksgiving this year and booked our trip in Honduras at West Bay Lodge. I did a lot of research for an affordable, nice place to stay and we ended up choosing West Bay Lodge - we are so happy that we did.
Upon our arrival we got a welcome drink and we were upgraded to a nicer room, b/c it was the off season and it wasn't fully occupied. The room was a nice size and everything was exceptionally clean. Did I mention air conditioning - it has that too. Our room was cleaned everyday, with our bed made, refrigerator stocked and plenty of filtered water to drink (which is a great added bonus). The way the bungalows are situated gives you great privacy. It's a very short walk to the nicest beach (West Bay) and yet it is tucked back in. Celeste's kitchen is also a great place to eat. The bartender and server were wonderful and we really enjoyed getting to know them. The food is some of the better quality food on the island and very affordable.
We didn't use the pool much, but it was very clean. Celeste and Milo were very helpful with anything that we needed and also very friendly!
We hit the jackpot staying at West Bay Lodge and we would 100% stay here again upon returning to Roatan, which I hope is sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We just spent 7 days at West Bay Lodge and had a wonderful experience, in spite of several days of rain! The warm spirit and welcoming service provided by hosts Celeste and Milo and their incredible staff led by manager Troy made even the cloudiest day a wonderful, relaxing, tropical experience. We enjoyed conversations over the local monkey la-la drinks, learning about local culture from the helpful staff, exploring the island on detailed tours with Juan Carlos, and marvelous food morning and night. While initially we wanted lodging on the beach, we soon found that the high tourist traffic during cruise ship season makes the quiet Lodge location, just 5 minutes from the beach, much more desirable. We enjoyed falling asleep to the sound of jungle frogs, the hospitality of the Lodge's outdoor cats, and the basic yet comfortable accommodations. The spa provided the BEST massages we've ever had! This place is a deal...you feel like you're part of the family, not tourists. We look forward to return trips soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roatan
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

this is a romantic place. Dedicated owners Celeste and Milos will spoil you. Always improving their services and amenities. My first choice in West Bay, Roatan. Get in the pool a real oasis and feel nature surround you. If you have a keen eye there will me lots of interesting things and creatures to see and meet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bumpass, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Wonderful people, Troy is not only handsome he is very responsive to guest needs. Celeste has made this a tropical oasis. The food was great, very friendly people who helped us enjoy our trip and the island to the fullest. The spa next door was first rate. I typically pass on spa treatments, glad I didn’t, and we went back three times in a week. The masseuse is professional and therapeutic, the soaking tub fantastic. The spa manager was very flexible and arranged for all of us to get the treatment and services we wanted. I really enjoyed the birds and cats, they made me feel at home and I appreciate all Celeste is doing to help save animals on the island. We did not stay here because it was full, we did spend many quality hours here, socializing eating, and drinking. The crazy ladies from Virginia will be back to stay here next time

Room Tip: enjoy the wonderful food and people, go to the spa next door it is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Our first stay in Roatan and West Bay Lodge was a rainy affair, but the care given us at WBL was sunny and cheery! Thanks so much Celeste and Milos for your hospitality, great food, wonderful extras (spa, laundry, food) and quick attention to any of our needs. Although the lodge is not exactly on the beach (short walk down the street), the location is perfect, across the street from the Mini-mall services, and is away from the bustle of the beach. Although we didn't have a daily view of the beach, our upstairs unit was breezy, very clean, and well maintained. The grounds are beautifully landscaped, and the family pets (parrots, watusa, cats) keep you entertained. Celeste's Spa is EXCELLENT. The older massage therapist is the best I've ever encountered! The service at Celeste's restaurant is excellent, and Celeste made sure that my gluten free needs were met. Thanks Celeste and Milos for a wonderful experience overall!

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs room so you can enjoy the tropical breeze in the morning and evening. Quieter al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to West Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Bay Lodge

Address: Carretera Pavimentada Ppal West Bay Beach, West Bay, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in West Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in West Bay
#1 Family Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your West Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Bay Hotel West Bay
West Bay Lodge Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Bay Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.