We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Vacation at the Henry Morgan!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Henry Morgan Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Henry Morgan Resort to your Saves list
Henry Morgan Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Pavimentada Ppal, West Bay Beach, West Bay, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in West Bay
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Great Vacation at the Henry Morgan!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

As many before us, we had read the reviews and were quite concerned with what to expect. What a fantastic surprise!

The Resort - Beautifully located on the most attractive beach on the island - 10 minute walking distance to a great snorkelling spot. The resort itself was very clean and well maintained. Lost of cute activities were planned for the day and evening (dance, volleyball, trivia night, etc. ) The pool was pristine and kept that way throughout our stay.

Rooms: The rooms were lovely and comfortable. They were kept very clean throughout our stay. We really enjoyed having the hammocks on the balcony as they were a great place to hangout during rainy days. Air-conditioning worked well and we had no trouble with water or lights. One power outage during our stay but it was brief and we were prepared with a flashlight. The noise was a factor as the rooms aren't insulated, but we were so tired most nights that it didn't matter.

Food: I am a vegetarian and had no trouble at the resort. There was always a big selection of salads and fruits. If you're looking for pizza and burgers then you might have a hard time, but just be willing to try some more local food and you'll enjoy the meals. Not the best food, but there was a large selection to go on. Breakfast was always awesome. If you manage to catch some fresh donuts - they are delicious!! We also left the resort a few times for some great meals down the beach.

Sandflies: We brought a good bug cream and had no trouble whatsoever. I maybe had 2 or 3 bites the whole week.

TGI Scuba: The onsite dive shop was STELLAR! We had a great time with all the dive masters. By boyfriend did his open water referral with Luca who was a great and patient instructor. Lots of dives organized daily and they were always on time. Great crew at TGI!!

HM Staff : I will agree here with many posters in that the front-desk staff was not the most helpful or knowledgeable, particularly when it came to leaving the resort on our own. Many times we asked advice on what/where to go to explore and they just seemed clueless. One night we wanted to grab a cab into West End and were told that there were no cabs available. A minute later a cab pulled up to the resort. (TIP: Get in touch with a cab driver on your own if you can - they are all willing to give you their phone number and will come to pick you up at your convenience with BETTER RATES than what the hotel offers).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    314
    138
    85
    61
See reviews for
174
355
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Bay, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Must say that our trip to Hm roatan has been the best getaway we've ever had. After travelling to many islands diving, we found the staff at this resort to be the friendliest we have ever encountered. If you are looking for a fancy place with a lot of restaurants, then this is not the place. But, if you are looking for a spot where the staff go long ball then this is the place. I could not bsgin to thank them all so I'll just say Rafa, you have amazing people not only there but also at the first class dive shop TGI. Lindey, you are amzing man. Luca,Rheuban,Dennis,Erica,Chanto,Regina and the guys in the back you have all captured our hearts for ever and we will be back as soon as we can. I would highly recommend this place to those who have had enough of the (super) resorts.

Room Tip: We had a villa and loved the privacy. If you have choice of rooms, take top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Visited the Henry Morgan from February 21 to the 28, Read all kinds of bad reviews of the resort and got a little worried. When we arrived we caught a cab to beat the rush of check ins IMO it was worth the 25 dollars.

Rooms: We loved our room although small had everything we needed and a king size bed we stayed in A1 had just one elderly man as a neighbor and no second story which we were lucky. We had the AC go on us on one day but we kept on top of the situation and over the next 4 hrs it got fixed. They had to run over to another resort and get freon but was fixed and was cold. Showers had hot water everyday and clean linen and towels daily. The cleaning lady did a amazing job everyday.

Staff: Very friendly everyone had smiles on their faces and all spoke English quit well. Front desk was very helpful for all our requests. Bartenders were very friendly as well and filled our bubbas with no problems.

Food: This is where we had a little issue but knowing this coming to the resort it didn't bother us as we came here for the snorkeling and the diving. The breakfast was the best meal of the day. The omelette lady was fantastic like other reviewers have said. Bacon was only served twice once was undercooked and the other time was perfect everyone was asking where the bacon was and you could see people craving the pork stripes. Lunch was ok had lunch a couple times at the beach bar pork, rice and what they call tacos and fresh cut fries that were decent. Dinner was another story left over meats that were sitting out for lunch. Had some pork that was absolutely dreadful I'm a meatman and can usually handle anything but this was tough as hell and dry so after two dinners at the resort we ate out usually at Bananaramas which was good Mondays they have 2 for 1 pizzas. this is why I gave the resort a 4 instead of a 5. But like I said this was not the reason we came here so it didn't bother us..

Beach: If you are looking for calm warm sea and sea life this is where you want to be we spent most of our time here. If you walk out onto the beach and you head west for about 10 mins at the end there is a black rock and it is very good for snorkeling when you navigate through all the coral you make it to the black rock there is a 20 ft drop off which was a pleasant surprise. Water was crystal clear and blue. We saw a school of about 30 squid and sea turtles all kinds of Blue Tangs and schools of about a hundred or so fish as well as a sea snake. We also felt very safe at all times on the beach you could leave your gear and not worry about it. just use common sense if you wouldn't do it at home don't do it here easy. The weather was beautiful couldn't have asked for better just one day it was wavy and not as good for snorkeling but still able to dive. As for the sand fleas yes we did get bites but we didn't scratch them as hard as it was and they went away the next day.

Excursions: We only went on one excursion and that was zip-lining at Gumalimba park well worth the 55 dollars. We asked the front desk how we go about getting there and she called them and they came and picked us up in 10 minutes at the front. The drive was about 10 minutes or so we pulled over to the side of the road and we were here. Filled out some "if you die its not there fault" forms and away we went.. stepped out on the first platform and wow what a view.at first I have to admit was a little scared but once we got rolling I was ready for more. Zip-lining will never be forgotten. After that was done we headed to the park which was really fun we had a tour guide to show us around. Capuchin Monkeys crawling all over us for some nice pictures.

So all in all this resort was good we are already making plans to come back next year to the same resort.. Don't listen to all the negative reviewers if you don't sweat the small things you will have a great time. This was the only vacation that I have ever been on where it was too short.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed in the Henry Morgan resort from February 21 until March 7. Had a great time. Transport from the airport was efficient; check in at the hotel was fast. The weather was great, the first week was hot, the second week we had a storm for 2 days and was a bit cooler.
Before we booked we read many poor reviews about this resort, but because we like snorkelling we took a chance. We are glad we did, we just looked back on some of the reviews from the past, the bad ones are mainly from the US.
The front desk staff all speak English and we found them very helpful. One of the doors to our unit did not lock, was fixed the next morning, everything in the room worked and was up to date (new TV, and airco). We had lots of towels everyday, the room was made up before we came back from the beach.
The beach is great; probably the best on this strip, there are lots of chairs with padding. The beach is constantly cleaned. The beach is safe, you can leave your stuff on the chairs when you go for lunch. Snorkelling is great if you go south about 500 meters, the reef is just off the shoreline. Be careful not to step on the coral, as you will damage the reef permanently, a lot of snorkelers are too careless. There is a lot of fish, many varieties. We saw Barracuda, Needle fish, Parrot Fish (2.5’), Grouper and schools of blue and grey fish, many species of striped fish. You have to keep an eye out for the boats if you get a bit further from the shoreline.
The staff in the resort is very friendly and will do anything they can to make your stay enjoyable. The entertainment staff will keep you busy all day if you like, they have games, dance lessons, volley ball, exercise classes and they do the entertainment at night. Staff in the restaurant is pleasant and very efficient, tables were always cleaned and available. The food is good, there is always enough for breakfast to eat. Lots of fruit: bananas, cantaloupe, water melon, pineapple, grape fruit, oranges and sometimes mango. No natural fruit juices. Not much variety in cereals, most guests would like to see some kind of Bran. Flavoured Yogurt and milk was available for cereal, would have been nice to have plain yogurt as well. The lady at the omelette station was very efficient, even if there were 10 people lined up you had you omelette within 5 minutes, she would do 6 at a time. There was bacon, pancakes, sausages, French toast as well. Lunch and supper were about the same. A large salad bar with all kinds of selections to pick from. There was soup, rice, and rice with veggies, cooked veggies, fish beef or pork. The beef is very tough, but the fish and pork were good. One evening we had the dinner on the beach, the salad choices were about the same, but the hot diner included shrimp and lobster, was excellent. Red wine is served with lunch and supper; white wine was not always available. The a la carte restaurant has some very good fish and chicken, the service is very fast.
At night the resort is very dark, but we did not need any flashlight to find our way around. We can understand why they keep the lights down; their electricity rate is five times higher than in Canada. They do have some problems getting supplies in, all the food and fruit is imported, when they have a big storm, deliveries are delayed, they run out of bananas, white wine and a few other things.
We did the island trip with Julio, well worth the money. We learned a lot about the island people and what there is to do on the island. Julio made many unscheduled stops.
There are a few nice restaurants along the beach, we had supper twice. They offer good lobster tails and some excellent fish dishes for a reasonable price.
There are more adults in this resort; it is not a party place. We enjoyed this resort, will go back anytime.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halton Hills, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I am giving HM a 5-star rating because our experience there was wonderful. Everyone envisions their hard-earned vacation in a different way. Please establish what your priorities are, research extensively then make your decision and pay accordingly. HM is no marble-foyered, white linened resort where one needs a trolley to get around. It's structures are mostly wood, decorated with brightly coloured furnishings and are proudly cared-for. It is a small, quaint place that may not appeal to some. It was the type of place that appeals to our group of six as we go for the snorkeling, diving and relaxation.
Please read victoria64's review below for a detailed and realistic description of our trip (she's my SIL and I'm the one whom the sand fleas love, love, love). I will add that the reef is astoundingly beautiful with varieties of large and small fish & crustaceans, huge sponges and vibrant corals. Roatan should protect this resource even at the cost of further development of the island. It is frustrating to see people, knowingly or unknowingly, standing on coral, damaging its fragile structures. They try to police this, but the only real protection is visitors' education and respect for this environment.
While we went for the reef life and to discover Roatan, the resort was a great place to return to and "unwind" from our days with good food and drink. HM's staff is proud of their island and their resort and to a person are friendly, accommodating and attentive. As for food, I'm a vegetarian and always found something tasty to eat at all meals. I'm certainly a "doughnut-a-tarian" now, too - keep an eye out for that morning tray of fresh, hot yumminess and grab them while you can. After dinner there was a nightly show with dance performances by the hard-working animation crew in the small stage/dance floor area. Music was a little loud for us, but we would drift out to the lovely deck for star-gazing and chatting. Yes, you do need a flashlight to get around at night as they do keep it dimmer than we are used to. They were installing some lighting near the lodging area while we were there, but it was still dim.
Our group requested adjacent rooms on the second floor and got them. They were "cottage" type rooms with vaulted wood ceilings and hammocks on the deck. Bathroom was dated, but adequate, equipped with the usual warnings for the island: do not drink water from the tap; no TP down the toilet. We adjusted. We found everything clean, no bad smells at all and housekeeping very thorough. TV had many, many channels, several Canadian, when we bothered to turn it on.
TGI Divers, located on the HM grounds, were very knowledgeable and well-equipped. They offer several dives a day when weather permits. They assign you your gear and you take care of it after your dive and put it back in your numbered area, as most dive places would have you do, except they handle the tanks.
We would definitely return here. So would many of the people we met who have visited several times. That speaks for itself.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton ontario
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I have rated this resort as 5 stars in the 3 star category. It is an excellent resort and definitely fulfilled our expectations and more. You definitely need to research the type of holiday you are expecting. If you want to be treated like royalty, being served drinks on the beach by someone in a tux, a deluxe room laid out in tile and marble, dressing fancy for dinner, etc. stay away. But, if you want the flavour of Roatan, in a down to earth setting, in a relaxed laid back atmosphere where you can kick back, relax, eat good food, meet nice people and be entertained this is an excellent place to get that. And we felt we were still treated like royalty!!
We were 6 people mid 50's to 64. We came for the snorkelling/diving and getting to know Roatan. We certainly got that. Our stay was Feb. 28-Mar. 7

Weather: Rainy season ends Feb. 15, so if you book earlier, you could have a lot of rain!!! Don't blame the resort. Do your research! We had one night of rain, but 3 days of high winds, and boy were they strong! No swimming or sitting on the beach those days unless you wanted to get a sandblasted facial. All the boats you see in pictures were taken to the other side of the island, all chairs taken back and many signs taken in. On days like this, which are rare, it is good to have a plan B, which we did.
We took a nice walk, about an hr. over to the other side, which is not far away and safe to do. Still would not go all alone, 2 people is O.K. If you go out the Henry Morgan gate, turn right and it will take you to West Bay Mall. It is very small, check out the little shops. Penelope's Emporium is very interesting--bought Nature's Veil, a natural insect repellent for $8 and a book called Roatan Odyssey for $23, which is now making very interesting reading. I hear it will be made into a movie. Across the street is Celeste's--really good food, so I hear, but did not try it. If you turn right at the end of the mall you will get to the beach, with a nice craft vendor along the way. We, however, continued past Infinity Bay, which led us past many villas, some lookout spots over the ocean with nice views, and when you get back to the main road, turn left to get to the resort. The next day we took the Nolitours island tour, it was the quickest, most convenient at our immediate disposal on a high wind day, even though I had researched extensively for private tour operators. We were not disappointed. Our tour guide was Julio. He was very accommodating, making a few extra stops when the requests came. He was very knowledgable and gave us an excellent insight into Roatan life. We saw enough of the island and were satisfied. Our lunch stop that day was at Media Luna, also owned by Henry Morgan. While the food was good, it did not have the variety of Henry Morgan or the sampling of local dishes we came to enjoy. It had a more Italian flavour to it, was very quiet, had less shade, not really much beach that we could see. It was a bit more upscale in its look. We were happy with the resort we had chosen. To each his own.

Food: We liked the food so did not go anywhere else to eat. There were comments about mystery meat. If it is a mystery, why don't you ask and it will be a mystery no longer! This is what I did for several dishes, got explanation on contents and how prepared, and then was willing to try them all. Breakfast had lots of choices--yogurt, fruits, croissants,pastry-like items, toast, FABULOUS SUGAR DONUTS, ALWAYS SERVED FRESH AND WARM. Get those when you see them because the platter is cleared out quickly! There was also a hot cereal which was rather like a warm rice pudding, very tasty, sausage, bacon(sometimes crispy, sometimes not) Big deal, take the sausage on that day if the bacon is not to your liking. There was also french toast, pancakes, cold cereals, meats and cheeses, as well as an excellent omelet station. Coffee was excellent. Lunch and dinner had similar type things--chicken fish, beef(which I did not try because the Carib. does not do good beef in general, and it is true here, often people said it was tough, so there are other choices which I made) great salads that you could build yourself, 2 kinds of rice, potatoes, cooked veggies(always a variety), good soup, desserts, fruit, an ice cream bar. Lunch and dinner items were not rehashed from one meal to the next. One of the days when we had been walking and were returning to the resort, it looked like workers were leaving to go home and were carrying leftovers. So, our food was freshly prepared. If some ended up in one of the fabulous soups, that is O.K. too. It is what we do at home, isn't it? While breakfast was early, there was always something to eat somewhere, at the snack bar, on the main bar counter, you just had to go and find it. DRINK THE WATER FROM THE FILLING STATIONS OR THE BAR. It is all good. I think I rinsed my tooth brush with tap water, but can't really remember, and then had tummy trouble soon after. A dose of imodium fixed it. Also don't get water in your mouth when showering. Same result can be expected. We enjoyed both the red and white wines offered during our week, even though white only appeared near the end of the holiday. The boat brings supplies and no trips were made during the high wind days, so it arrived once the weather was calm. Two things you need to be ready for--there is no real orange juice, it is like tang, and another option like fruit punch, and there is no real butter, it is more like margarine. Not a problem. Work around it, there are lots of other choices.

Room: Had rooms 226, 227, 228, top floor. Good choice for us. Very rustic, hammocks on balcony, wood floors, yes older and dated, drawers sometimes got stuck, but did not use those, used the ones that worked and hung the rest up. The beds were very comfortable, good pillows, bedding nice, towel art the best I have seen. Everything was very clean, the maid always polite and having a welcoming smile. When we first arrived, it was evening and our air conditioning did not work, had a hot night, reported it in the morning and it was fixed with a smile and an apology--functioning by noon. One thing you need to be prepared for: TOILET PAPER GOES IN THE GARBAGE NOT IN THE TOILET. Wrap your head around that, it is not that nasty, and don't blame the resort. It was everywhere on the island, incl. the local bars, Media Luna, even the airport. Not a big deal. We need to be respectful of the environment. There are no sludge treatment plants here so these items need to go elsewhere.

Front Desk: Very friendly and helpful, always a smile for the guest. I cannot see how anyone can say these people are unfriendly and not helpful. Treat others with respect and you shall receive--they fixed what problems we had very quickly. It was also clear that cleanup, renovation(painting, etc.) is ongoing as it is when you have your own home.

The Animation Team and Entertainment: Very talented dancers, very friendly and personable. Gave everyone the opportunity to participate but never pushy, always smiling and engaging us if we were willing. There was latin dancing every day. Two of us do zumba at home and were right at home here. We absolutely loved the music. All the music is latin, local, not the standard North American. It gave us a feel for what Roatan is about when you can tap into the music, which is the soul of the people. Shows were also entertaining, fabulous latin dance presentations, fire dancers, Garifuna cultural dance, and yes, the standard audience participation, but some people really like this, so it was a nice mix. Shows were about an hr. right after dinner was finished, then there was some dancing and everything shut down at 11. We often did not make it till then, but again we were up early to enjoy what the day had to offer.

Bought coffee to take home at Casa De Paradise, is cheaper than anywhere else. Other shops offered the same coffee for $10 a bag. Casa was 3/$24, I bargained and got 4/$30, roasted and ground right there and then vacuum sealed. If you are in front of Henry Morgan, face the beach and go right, there is an alleyway/road with a pink building visible from the beach, as you pass the building there is a garage door, which when open lets you know they are there roasting and grinding.

The Mini Mart a bit further along the beach had good prices on local vanilla,hot sauces and sea salt/spices which are locally prepared.

Snorkelling: Excellent the further out you went. We were never bothered by the cruisers even though there were a whole lot of them--a mass invasion in fact. It was easy to use the yellow kayaks as markers to get out into the channel where you go left for the better snorkelling. There are also less people further out. Go past the Infinity Bay dock, look for the heart shaped pool in front of Infinity. Once you get into that there are channels that lead out into the bigger channel which allows you to go left without damaging the reef. You can go all the way to the rock. What angers me is that there is still not enough education about the reef and the damage caused by humans. I saw someone put their flippers down, thinking they were standing on sand, or almost. Well they were not! I quickly swam over and let them know they were killing what they were standing on. Oh, they didn't know. I think huge signs need to be posted on do's and don'ts and that there would be fines, quite hefty ones. NO STANDING IN THE REEF AREA AND NO FISH FEEDING. Those rules should be made very clear. That will get people to stop and listen. This is still a good reef and more needs to be done to save it. When the reef is gone/damaged the tourism will also disappear. We had issues with small jelly fish once you got out close to the big rock--I couldn't see them, felt the burning sting, lasted about an hr. or so and applied some vinegar which cleared the problem. Good security on the beach. Felt comfortable leaving our bag with stuff while we went down the beach to snorkel. Lots of chairs available.

Bugs: Well, we had the whole range here between the 6 of us. I did not use repellent and got no bites. The 3 men got bites but were not bothered, one of the women was bothered somewhat, and my poor sister-in-law was the magnet for every sand flea on the beach even though she was forced into being the heavy user of DEET. She had angry swollen bites and lots of them. Bring your claritin, benadryl, etc. and hope you are like me, not bothered by them--maybe I am toxic? Also I appreciated that there was no fogging on the resort while we were there. If administration reads this, it is important! We inhale the poison and it is not good. We are better off using repellent in the evening.

In short, a great vacation, chose the right resort for us, and would come back to Henry Morgan. Sorry I was so wordy.

Room Tip: We liked 2nd floor, no sewage or musty odors, nice view from balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

This was a difficult review to write because the only reason I gave the resort one star was because of the outstanding staff employed there. Every single person there was kind, helpful and always smiling! Special shout-outs to Edwin, George, Rosita, Leslie, Nelson, Fredy, Mario, Victor and the beach employee who was deaf (I'm so sorry I forgot his name)! Thanks to all of you!
This is a long review, but please take the time to read it. My review is completely honest and I think you should have strong reservations about going here!
We arrived at the Henry Morgan after a pleasant trip from the airport in the shuttle. My daughter and I travel together once a year on a mother/daughter trip and had reserved a room with two queen beds. They told us that they didn't have that available and offered a room with a king bed. We showed them our reservation with the two queen beds. Still said not available. We asked to speak to the manager, but they said HE wasn't available but would be there all day tomorrow. Then they offered to show us other available rooms and took us down a long boardwalk to rooms adjacent to a road. The first room they showed us was VB4. It was, quite honestly, the worst hotel room I've ever seen in my life! A small room with a bed and TV and nothing else. It smelled strongly of mildew and had chipping paint. It resembled a prison cell. We told them this type room was totally unacceptable, so they made arrangements for us to spend one night at their sister resort, Las Sirenas. They assured us that a room with two queen beds would be available the next day when a Canadian couple checked out. They then charged us $3.00 for use of the internet to notify our families that we wouldn't be at that resort until morning.
The next morning we went to the office to see when the car was coming to pick us up to bring us back to Henry Morgan and was told that we could stay at Las Sirenas until afternoon when our room would be ready. We told them we wanted to come back and wait there for our room. So we did that. Check out time is at noon, so we figured we'd get into our room shortly after that. Wrong! We were told that the couple in the room had made special arrangements to stay longer and there was nothing they could do. We again asked to speak to the manager and were told that SHE wasn't available. We finally got into our room at 4:00, 26 hours after arriving there.
At first sight, the room looked okay, especially after seeing the prison cell type rooms. The TV didn't work right--we only got one channel and it was a Spanish comedy channel. The phone didn't work so they brought us a loaner phone. The toilet ran constantly and the shower and tub didn't drain properly so that you were standing in about 3" of water by the end of your shower. There was mildew in the bathroom and a leak in the wall below the shower that squirted out when the water was on. The lighting was poor in the bathroom and it was not possible to put make-up on in the bathroom. The electrical outlet is oddly placed and my curling iron wouldn't reach the plug. Lighting was also very poor in the bedroom and it was difficult to put make-up on or read anything. The bed was extremely uncomforatble, hard with well-worn linens and thin pillows. Towels were almost never left and you had to call for them. The drawers all stuck terribly so it was difficult to get clothing in and out of the drawers. There were crazy ants all over the room. The in-room safe was the oldest I have ever seen and about the size of a baby's shoe box, so don't expect to be able to lock up your lap top, iPad or anything much bigger than a wallet. Plus you had to carry around the key which was a large skeleton type key.
The maid left our patio door open twice! And she came every single morning at 8:15although I told her every day that I wasn't ready to have my room cleaned at that time. She would then come back in a half hour. Hello? I'm on vacation! What if you were on your honeymoon? Do Not Disturb signs are defintely needed. I never got to sleep in once.
Wi-fi is available for a fee of $20.00 a week, but you must purchase it separately for each device you have. So I had to spend $40.00 to have Wi-fi available on both my iPhone and iPad. The Wi-Fi is weak and spotty and doesn't even work everywhere in the lobby, nor by the pool or on the beach.
The lobby is exceedingly dark, even in the daytime. At night, you really do need a flashlight. The steps in the resort are uneven and has an odd step-up into the restrooms. Very steep last step to go up and down to dining room. Which is another issue! If you have trouble going up and down steps, this is going to be difficult for you to do this 3 times a day. I saw a few older people really struggling.
The no smoking in the lobby was not enforced. There were several people smoking inside and the smoking on the beach was quite excessive with most of the smokers using the beach as their ashtray.
The pool was vacuumed on the bottom daily, but nothing was ever done about the thousands of black bugs floating on the top of the water. It was really gross to push them aside as you tried to swim.
The food was, well, awful. The meals were virtually identical every day with the exception of a different mystery meat. There was a long line each morning for the eggs and omelettes and nothing at all is refrigerated or even on ice. The bacon was odd-smelling and very wiggly. They had no real juices like orange juice. The fruit was the same every day--watermelon, cantaloupe, pineapple. Had bananas only once the whole week. We were puzzled why they wouldn't have bananas every day since they grow tons of them there? Breakfast closed at 9:30. Lunch was pasta every day and pizza with some rather odd toppings. Huge platters of sliced cucumbers, carrots and tomatoes every single day and a bowl of iceberg lettuce. Tasteless white rice with same vegetables in it. Beach bar did have lunch buffet also, with same stuff as in dining room. They did have a grill where they fixed quesadillas, fresh cut french fries and strange tasting hot dogs. One day they did grill hamburgers. Dinner was also the same every night with the same recycled giant platters of cucumbers, carrots and tomatoes and the bowl of iceberg lettuce. Same tasteless rice salads and pasta and pizza every night. Different meats and whole fish. Grouper was served often which was strange because there was a sign at Las Sirenas which told people not to eat grouper as it was protected because it was over-fished! Desserts were pretty good, but same all the time also.
There are plenty of nice restaurants with tasty, fairly priced food nearby, just a short walk down the beach. We ate at Foster's twice and it was delicious. There are numerous restaurants within walking distance on the beach, all of them advertising food at reasonable prices. Believe me, you will get very tired of the food!
One night, they had dinner on the beach. It was an all day process carrying chairs and tables outside. It looked beautiful, but the food was exactly the same as it had been inside, plus it was cold. It was truly a gigantic task for the staff as they spent the entire day carrying all that stuff outside in the heat. Plus, they had to haul it all back inside again that night.
They have nightly fogging and you will want to get away from it quickly! It smells terrible and it can't be good to inhale it. There were sand fleas at the beach and we saw numerous people who were bitten very badly. Several people had what looked like hundreds of bites all over their bodies. We used Off with Deet and only had a few bites.
You should know that this resort caters to French-Canadians and Italians and there were very large groups of each there. The shows at night were difficult to enjoy as they only translated small bits into English. It was all presented in French and Italian. There were not very many Americans there and few guests were speaking English. There were some other Canadians there who spoke only English.
The all-inclusive drinks are very limited and consist of mostly sweet, frozen drinks. They are served in paper Pepsi glasses. If you are a beer drinker, there is only one kind and I'm not sure what it was. They will not let you take the can, but pour it into the paper cups. The wines offered are indescribably awful. There is a charge for anything not on the drink menu and all premium liquors you must pay for.
The resort itself looks as if it was built atop a swamp. There was a canal behind our room which was covered with slime and certainly mosquito larvae. There was standing water everywhere around the resort, even in the driveway of the approach to lobby. You do not walk on actual ground anywhere on the resort except for the beach. There is no lush landscaping, just boardwalks to walk on to get to your room, etc.. And people walking on boardwalks and rolling luggage on wood is very, very loud. That and the thin walls between the rooms will make you wish you had brought a sound machine!
The beach is narrow with lounge chairs side by side. I honestly didn't think the beach was anything special. Our beaches in Florida are much more beautiful. The water, however, was quite gorgeous and unbelievably clear. A little chilly for swimming in February though.
My daughter who traveled with me is a scuba diver and made several dives. She said she has never been diving anywhere where they made you carry your own weights and set up your own gear and rinse out your own wet suit. They did here. On the snorkel trip, there was no obvious protective of the coral reef. People were touching it and one rather big man was boasting of actually standing on it! There is nothing said about reef protection during the scuba certification training. Other countries which are lucky to have a coral reef in their waters have multiple programs to protect it. Bracelets are purchased each day you dive and the money goes specifically for reef preservation. On parts of the island where there aren't resorts, the beaches are littered with all manner of debris.
There were armed police officers on the beach at every resort and they made several people leave the hotel grounds. If you're planning on visiting here, do some good research.
Our expectations were not lofty in coming here. We knew it was a third world country and did not expect a luxurious resort, but we paid a large amount of money to stay here! The same amount as staying at all-inclusives in Riviera Maya, Cancun, Belize. The least one could expect is that the resort would be in good repair. This resort needs lots and lots of work and you don't ever see anyone doing any sort of repairs at all. I can't imagine that it will be in business for very much longer.
Feel free to contact me regarding any questions you may have!








This was a difficult review to write because the only reason I gave the resort one star was because of the outstanding staff employed there. Every single person there was kind, helpful and always smiling! Special shout-outs to Edwin, George, Rosita, Leslie, Nelson, Fredy, Mario, Victor and the beach employee who was deaf (I'm so sorry I forgot his name)! Thanks to all of you!
This is a long review, but please take the time to read it. I know that people like different things, but I cannot believe that staying here would be a positive experience for anyone. My review is completely honest and I think you should have strong reservations about going here!
We arrived at the Henry Morgan after a pleasant trip from the airport in the shuttle. My daughter and I travel together once a year on a mother/daughter trip and had reserved a room with two queen beds. They told us that they didn't have that available and offered a room with a king bed. We showed them our reservation with the two queen beds. Still said not available. We asked to speak to the manager, but they said HE wasn't available but would be there all day tomorrow. Then they offered to show us other available rooms and took us down a long boardwalk to rooms adjacent to a road. The first room they showed us was VB4. It was, quite honestly, the worst hotel room I've ever seen in my life! A small room with a bed and TV and nothing else. It smelled strongly of mildew and had chipping paint. It resembled a prison cell. We told them this type room was totally unacceptable, so they made arrangements for us to spend one night at their sister resort, Las Sirenas. They assured us that a room with two queen beds would be available the next day when a Canadian couple checked out. They then charged us $3.00 for use of the internet to notify our families that we wouldn't be at that resort until morning.
The next morning we went to the office to see when the car was coming to pick us up to bring us back to Henry Morgan and was told that we could stay at Las Sirenas until afternoon when our room would be ready. We told them we wanted to come back and wait there for our room. So we did that. Check out time is at noon, so we figured we'd get into our room shortly after that. Wrong! We were told that the couple in the room had made special arrangements to stay longer and there was nothing they could do. We again asked to speak to the manager and were told that SHE wasn't available. We finally got into our room at 4:00, 26 hours after arriving there.
At first sight, the room looked okay, especially after seeing the prison cell type rooms. The TV didn't work right--we only got one channel and it was a Spanish comedy channel. The phone didn't work so they brought us a loaner phone. The toilet ran constantly and the shower and tub didn't drain properly so that you were standing in about 3" of water by the end of your shower. There was mildew in the bathroom and a leak in the wall below the shower that squirted out when the water was on. The lighting was poor in the bathroom and it was not possible to put make-up on in the bathroom. The electrical outlet is oddly placed and my curling iron wouldn't reach the plug. Lighting was also very poor in the bedroom and it was difficult to put make-up on or read anything. The bed was extremely uncomforatble, hard with well-worn linens and thin pillows. Towels were almost never left and you had to call for them. The drawers all stuck terribly so it was difficult to get clothing in and out of the drawers. There were crazy ants all over the room. The in-room safe was the oldest I have ever seen and about the size of a baby's shoe box, so don't expect to be able to lock up your lap top, iPad or anything much bigger than a wallet. Plus you had to carry around the key which was a large skeleton type key.
The maid left our patio door open twice! And she came every single morning at 8:15although I told her every day that I wasn't ready to have my room cleaned at that time. She would then come back in a half hour. Hello? I'm on vacation! What if you were on your honeymoon? Do Not Disturb signs are defintely needed. I never got to sleep in once.
Wi-fi is available for a fee of $20.00 a week, but you must purchase it separately for each device you have. So I had to spend $40.00 to have Wi-fi available on both my iPhone and iPad. The Wi-Fi is weak and spotty and doesn't even work everywhere in the lobby, nor by the pool or on the beach.
The lobby is exceedingly dark, even in the daytime. At night, you really do need a flashlight. The steps in the resort are uneven and has an odd step-up into the restrooms. Very steep last step to go up and down to dining room. Which is another issue! If you have trouble going up and down steps, this is going to be difficult for you to do this 3 times a day. I saw a few older people really struggling.
The no smoking in the lobby was not enforced. There were several people smoking inside and the smoking on the beach was quite excessive with most of the smokers using the beach as their ashtray.
The pool was vacuumed on the bottom daily, but nothing was ever done about the thousands of black bugs floating on the top of the water. It was really gross to push them aside as you tried to swim.
The food was, well, awful. The meals were virtually identical every day with the exception of a different mystery meat. There was a long line each morning for the eggs and omelettes and nothing at all is refrigerated or even on ice. The bacon was odd-smelling and very wiggly. They had no real juices like orange juice. The fruit was the same every day--watermelon, cantaloupe, pineapple. Had bananas only once the whole week. We were puzzled why they wouldn't have bananas every day since they grow tons of them there? Breakfast closed at 9:30. Lunch was pasta every day and pizza with some rather odd toppings. Huge platters of sliced cucumbers, carrots and tomatoes every single day and a bowl of iceberg lettuce. Tasteless white rice with same vegetables in it. Beach bar did have lunch buffet also, with same stuff as in dining room. They did have a grill where they fixed quesadillas, fresh cut french fries and strange tasting hot dogs. One day they did grill hamburgers. Dinner was also the same every night with the same recycled giant platters of cucumbers, carrots and tomatoes and the bowl of iceberg lettuce. Same tasteless rice salads and pasta and pizza every night. Different meats and whole fish. Grouper was served often which was strange because there was a sign at Las Sirenas which told people not to eat grouper as it was protected because it was over-fished! Desserts were pretty good, but same all the time also.
There are plenty of nice restaurants with tasty, fairly priced food nearby, just a short walk down the beach. We ate at Foster's twice and it was delicious. Other people talked about the other restaurants along the beach and we heard good things about all of them, Argentinian Grill, The Vintage Pearl, A Bite on the Beach, Beachers, Pizzarama, Thirsty Turtle. Believe me, you will get very tired of the food!
One night, they had dinner on the beach. It was an all day process carrying chairs and tables outside. It looked beautiful, but the food was exactly the same as it had been inside, plus it was cold. It was truly a gigantic task for the staff as they spent the entire day carrying all that stuff outside in the heat. Plus, they had to haul it all back inside again that night.
They have nightly fogging and you will want to get away from it quickly! It smells terrible and it can't be good to inhale it. There were sand fleas at the beach and we saw numerous people who were bitten very badly. Several people had what looked like hundreds of bites all over their bodies. We used Off with Deet and only had a few bites.
You should know that this resort caters to French-Canadians and Italians and there were very large groups of each there. The shows at night were difficult to enjoy as they only translated small bits into English. It was all presented in French and Italian. There were not very many Americans there and few guests were speaking English. There were some other Canadians there who spoke only English.
The all-inclusive drinks are very limited and consist of mostly sweet, frozen drinks. They are served in paper Pepsi glasses. If you are a beer drinker, there is only one kind and I'm not sure what it was. They will not let you take the can, but pour it into the paper cups. The wines offered are indescribably awful. There is a charge for anything not on the drink menu and all premium liquors you must pay for.
The resort itself looks as if it was built atop a swamp. There was a canal behind our room which was covered with slime and certainly mosquito larvae. There was standing water everywhere around the resort, even in the driveway of the approach to lobby. You do not walk on actual ground anywhere on the resort except for the beach. There is no lush landscaping, just boardwalks to walk on to get to your room, etc.. And people walking on boardwalks and rolling luggage on wood is very, very loud. That and the thin walls between the rooms will make you wish you had brought a sound machine!
The beach is narrow with lounge chairs side by side. I honestly didn't think the beach was anything special. Our beaches in Florida are much more beautiful. The water, however, was quite gorgeous and unbelievably clear. A little chilly for swimming in February though.
My daughter is a scuba diver and made several dives. She has never been diving anywhere where they made you carry your own weights and set up your own gear and rinse out your own wet suit. They did here. Outside of the USA, every dive operation has valet dive service. And there was no obvious protective of the coral reef. People were touching it and one rather big man was boasting of actually standing on it! There is nothing said about reef protection during the scuba certification training. Other countries which are lucky to have a coral reef in their waters have multiple programs to protect it. Bracelets are purchased each day you dive and the money goes specifically for reef preservation. Reefs in other countries are designated a protected marine park and its usage is monitored. The reef is being destroyed and when it is, the cruise ships will stop coming there. The reef will no longer attract divers and snorkelers from around the world. On parts of the island where there aren't resorts, the beaches are littered with all manner of debris.
Many people asked us if we felt safe there. There were armed police officers on the beach at every resort and they made several people leave the hotel grounds. If you're planning on visiting here, do some good research.
Our expectations were not lofty in coming here. We knew it was a third world country and did not expect a luxurious resort, but we paid a large amount of money to stay here! The same amount as staying at all-inclusives in Riviera Maya, Cancun, Belize. The least one could expect is that the resort would be in good repair. This resort needs lots and lots of work and you don't ever see anyone doing any sort of repairs at all.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Henry Morgan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henry Morgan Resort

Address: Carretera Pavimentada Ppal, West Bay Beach, West Bay, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Henry Morgan Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Henry Morgan is an All Inclusive Resort located in the best beach of Roatan, West Bay. Our mission is to anticipate and deliver on the dreams and expectations of every guest's perfect holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Henry Morgan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henry Morgan Hotel West Bay
Hotel Henry Morgan
Henry Morgan Resort Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Henry Morgan Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.