We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gong Show at Henry Morgan” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Henry Morgan Resort

Save Saved
You added Henry Morgan Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Henry Morgan Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Pavimentada Ppal, West Bay Beach, West Bay, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 11 hotels in West Bay
wallaceburg
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Gong Show at Henry Morgan”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

A rainy week at the Henry Morgan, Eight of us went, and were met with rain the first night. The food was ok, but needed a few things, cheese, butter, and some real fruit juices. But eating off the resort was cheap, and real good. The entertainment at the resort was like going back in time to the Gong Show. And the fat little Italian women topped it off with a cheesy flare, for greasyness at it's finest. The hotel staff were friendly, spoke english, and were able to help with anything you needed.If you charter one of the resorts bus,,be sure not to have Victor as the driver,,he's on the take with every loser on the island. On the other hand , Josh the driver was a complete gentleman,,,he escorted us,,interpreted, and helped with anything. Make sure you have flashlights,,because the low voltage lighting goes out on a regular basis. Roatan is very beautifull, but go after the rainy season,,,and avoid the Gong Show, and don't forget the peanut butter

Room Tip: Second floor,,,with a belcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    161
    296
    130
    83
    60
See reviews for
164
340
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Lambton, ON
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We had 8 people go to the Henry Morgan from January 17 to the 24 and landed to perfect sun and lots of heat. By 6:00 it started to rain and it really never stopped. Our luck. We were the last bus to arrive at the resort out of 4, and thought for sure our rooms would be all over the resort. They put us exactly where we wanted to be on the second floor side by side. Thank god for the balconies, due to the rain, cause we spent a lot of time out there.
The resort staff were the best!!!!! Lets face it the weather sucked but the staff all spoke English and tried their best to keep us entertained.
Could use another restaurant that wasn't smorg but we didn't starve. Not a cheese place. Bring margarine and peanut butter for your toast. The restaurant down the beach to the right, (not the Argentine Grill) keeps going one; Beaches I think. The best ever lobster tails (3 ) and coconut shrimp (8) for 15 bucks. So no one should go hungry ever! $100.00 extra for the week will get you some prime food.
They could definitely use some more lighting throughout the resort. Because it was storming and very cloudy it was really dark in the resort. Bring your flashlights cause hydro is at a premium and they loose it once in awhile.
All in all, even though we had the worst weather Roatan has ever experienced in January, we still managed to have a good time! I will go back but not in January.
The snorkeling was great when we had a chance to do it. Watch your times when you rent a water taxi; they will rip you if your not careful.

P.S. Where are you Dave V?

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor, it's noisy from the wood walkways on the first. Ask for two chairs fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We just returned home from our honeymoon at the Henry Morgan Resort. We stayed from Jan 17th to the 24th 2013. We were looking for our first try at snorkeling on a pristine beach with sun and warm weather, good food and drinks. I rarely took off my coat or sweater, was cold and damp the whole time. We are not into diving, which was our biggest mistake when researching for a hot, sunny destination. If you are not into scuba diving and just looking for beach time and all inclusive meals, this is not the place for you. Spend some extra money and go to the Dominican or Mexico.
Our entire week stay was rain, rain, rain.....and torrential rain plus temps in the mid 60's farenheit ! You can't control mother nature and we were told this was very unusual, so what can you do. Day trips were cancelled because of the road washouts, we had bad service in our room with a broken tv and there is only one buffet restaurant in the resort which served the same monotenous meal every day. You won't starve, but if you don't like fishy fish (which is in everything), there is always rice and rice and rice. If you have the extra cash to eat out at different beach restaurants, we were told they were good but we never ventured off the resort. The beds are hard as rock and springs poking out but the rooms are clean. The resort is very dark as they rely mostly on daylight. Take a flashlight. We wish we had brought our laptop as it seemed everyone was using their i pads, i phones etc and we had to resort to the lobby computer which was terrible to connect with home periodically.
Anyway, to make a long story short, we were bored to death, felt like we were trapped, the weather....well , no one has control over that, but we thought that going that much farther south would guarantee us sun and warm temps. If you are Canadian and like your beer, you will be disappointed. All drinks are served in paper pepsi cups. We found the reception staff unfriendly and unhelpful. We will never go back.

Room Tip: ground level rooms get a lot of noice from units above them
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simcoe, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We travelled with a family group of 13, people ranging from 2yrs to 79 yrs.When we first arrived in Roatan I new this was going to be an excellent vacation. The airport is under renovations trying to catch up to the explsion of new tourist looking for something new. The customs is abit slow , but it is only a short drive to the hotel over some really cool views and wondering if the bus will make it up the mountain. The H.M is built right into the foliage,and blends so well into the environment. When we arived all guest were welcomed with a cool rum punch , trust me you will need it ,Roatan is really hot and humid.Check in was real easy as we were given our bracelets and info on the bus.All you had to do is get your room key and towel tags.
The hotel has a real rustic layed back feel with the way it is layed out and all the natural wood and plants around.Our room was just as nice,very clean and comfortable.There is no bathtub but the shower is double sized and lots of hot water and great pressure.( I will remind you Roatan has brownouts once in awhile and it takes abit before water starts back up).No worries go have a drink and relax. it is a holiday right ! There is one buffet and the food is allways good , being the hotel is small the selection is not huge but always hot and fresh.For lunch we usually ate at the beach grill. They make great honduran food plus also has a great buffet set up, For the kids there is your usual hotdogs and fries. Now to the beach what can i say it is gorgeous white sand and stretches for quite a distance.If you feel adventures there is a ton of things to do.I can not mention everything or i will be here forever, Trust me there is something from everyone from snorkelling to parasailing to shark diveing.Go see orin at HM for all your tours, he is a very honest person and will get you the best deal around. He works right on the resort out of theT.G.I dive shop, also excellent people.The staff at the H.M are probally the best and friendliest staff I have ever come across in my travels,and this was unanimous amongest our family and anyone i talk to. Remember this is a small but really well run resort and if you like glitz and glamour of those big concrete jungles in the D.R or Jamaica the H.M may not be for you. Oh yah go to gumbalina, for 55 us you can zip line over the canopy and go see the monkees and macaws in the jungle setting,super cool and fun it is safe my 9 yr old boy had a blast.Ask for brian and wilson excellent guys who know thier lob.If you are thinking about Roatan definetly give the H.M consideation you will not be disapointed.CAIO.

Room Tip: try to get on the upper level as the floors are all hardwood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I was sold on Henry Morgan the second I saw a picture of hammocks on the balconies. But the rest of the hotel was great too! We had a second floor room at the corner with a lot of light in the afternoon. The room and the bathroom were a good size with a ton of storage room. I also absolutely loved the beds (see pictures). We had no issues whatsoever, except for a little bit of water dripping from the roof right on my side of the bed on our last morning. The rain was especially strong that day.

The food was a bit repetitive but good overall. If you are going there, try cappuccinos from the bar - they are super-tasty!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

WOW
This was our fifth stay at the Henry Morgan and all I can say is: what a good change!!
During the last two visits we realized that probably the property had some problem maybe because of the Economic Crisis worldwide but this time everything was perfect and even better than three years ago. A lot of good food, good wine, good service and a lot of improvement such as the deck connecting the pool and the beach (we spent there most of the time) and the beach Restaurant.
The staff? Always the BEST…all of them.
We are planning to join them again in September (some fishermen we meet told us that those are the best days of the year and there is also an important fishing tournament.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a great week at the Henry Morgan. As seasoned travellers, with more interest in local foods, sailing and diving than high end hotels and gourmet food we were pleased with the quality of the meals, activities, accommodations and service. As our Nolitour representative Diane put it best, Roatan is NOT Mexico or Dominican Republic. It's definitely more developed than it was 10 years ago when I was last on the island but the infrastructure and economic investment are still a work in progress. Arrive with an open mind and you'll have a great time.

We arrived with plans to dive and sail. Unfortunately we couldn't locate any sunfish to rent in West End or West Bay. We found lasers however in West End (beside Sundowners) for $20/day. There are also several catamarans that you can book for day sail but all of them are with a captain and crew and usually lots of people.

TGI, the onsite dive operation at Henry Morgan is well run, very professional with newish equipment and inexpensive packages. Divers are mostly hotel guests. Great for independent travellers or groups. I'd recommend doing some research before going as there are at least 10 other dive shops within walking distance but TGI has a great reputation and really amazing staff. Google TGI and Roatan Tourist info for details about the prices and dive sites but here are a couple of things that I didn't find while doing my research: TGI organizes 3 dives per day plus arranges night, shark and other speciality dives throughout the week. The dive shop is well organized with a locked area at night for guests to store/dry personal and/or rented equipment. There's a tank for cleaning equipment that is emptied daily and a large shaded area with tables and chairs. The boats hold about 20 people, are comfortable and easy to get onto from the beach. With Nolitours./Canjet you can also take a 20 KG gear bag so no need to leave your equipment at home. I was impressed with the entire team. A big thanks to Lindy, Denis, Arthur and Rudy.

I also spent a lot of time snorkeling. A quick 5 minute walk down the beach in front of Infinity Resort and I could enter the water to the left of the pier and snorkel out to the 1st or 2nd white ball and then head south (left) along the reef towards the wall at the end of the cove. Lots of marine life and a good healthy reef. I saw turtles, barracudas, eels, porcupine fist etc..No problems with the current. Bring your own gear as the resort doesn't provide "free" rentals.

Finding original, local art is challenging but not impossible. Most of the gift shops and beach kiosks sell the same south American paintings and masks found on other Caribbean islands. We were most impressed with Penelope's Island Emporium (www.penelopesislandemporium.com). Located at the West Bay Beach Mall, you can get to it by either the road that goes past Henry Morgan toward Bananaram Dive Shop (watch for the pink mall on your right) or from the beach take the sand path at Bananarama 100 yards and turn left onto the paved road and you'll find the pink mall on your left. Penny Leigh represents about 6 local artists, selling items such as hand painted tin fish, jewellery, wind chimes and women's hand woven purses. Ask for details about the artists. Each piece is very unique!

Additional suggestions:
- Walk along the beach to La Rocco or Bite on the Beach for a drink and meal.
- The food in the restaurant isn't labeled so if you have food allergies bring your epi pen and be careful.
- Take the water taxi or book the Henry Morgan shuttle ($5/person return) to the West End for a drink at Sundowners.
- Pack music and an alarm clock for your room
- If you don't mind stairs request a second floor room for higher ceilings, less noise and more privacy.
- Purchase wifi for $20/week when you arrive. It's only available in the lobby but the cappuccino bar is close by.
- Try the chicken, beef and bean burritos and hand cut fries at the beach bar
- At night the beach bar is transformed into the a la carte restaurant. Book 24 in advance at the front desk.
- When you arrive, ask for a registration form, complete and submit it and you'll immediately get your room key, safe lock, tv remote and towel cards.
- The airport is tiny, with almost no air conditioning, few shops and is very very slow in processing travelers. Arrive early, take a book and just be happy that it accepts international flights.
- Dining is fairly casual so save the dresses and high heels for another trip.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Henry Morgan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henry Morgan Resort

Address: Carretera Pavimentada Ppal, West Bay Beach, West Bay, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Henry Morgan Resort 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Henry Morgan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henry Morgan Hotel West Bay
Hotel Henry Morgan
Henry Morgan Resort Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Henry Morgan Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.