We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another day in Paradise!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Paradise Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Paradise Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   West Bay Beach, West Bay IB3100, Honduras   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 hotels in West Bay
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Another day in Paradise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Second trip to Roatan this year and loved the island just as much as the first time. As for Paradise beach Club I will say it was well worth what we paid.

The room (1205 old side not the new hotel) was great, good size (king bed) looks like the bathroom was redone recently, clean, huge shower no complaints. Ceiling fan, AC, mini fridge, safe and massive balcony with tiny little furniture kind of funny actually. Yes we had warm water all the time, no not HOT but its 30C outside. :)

Odd things - No alarm clock of any sort, coffee machine and cups with no coffee or condiments(kind of sucked as I like my morning coffee and we walk the beach before the buffet opens) , no hair dryer (good thing we have short hair and well don't use one). Other than that pretty awesome oh and fix the lights on the stair case(not a problem for me but it gets dark back there)

Food was okay, and I am not picky trust me. I must say I was shocked at how small the buffet was to be honest, and the restriction on the all-inclusive drinks I thought strange. Then realized that all the restaurants at the resort are open to public as well, so the focus is getting people to pay but hey was fine by me as we have a bunch of places we like to go eat anyways(see list below). Sunday night the buffet was moved to the beach bar for their grill night that was allot of fun and really yummy don't miss that one.

Bananarama, Fosters, Bite on the beach, Argentinean Grill, Island Pearl (expensive but yummy), Light house in west end.

The grounds are kept in pristine condition, SPOTLESS! Great location on the beach but you really can't have a bad one in west bay. They do sell day passes to the cruise ships and such so it can get a little busy on the beach, we had 4 big ships in one day and well a touch busy considering there was maybe 30 people at the resort but hey what you going to do.
For the value it's a great place to lay your head and get some food in you while you use the incredible services of West Bay Divers who's shop is on the property and truly a top notch dive shop with an amazing staff.

If you're looking for fancy food, pools and extras this may not be the place for you.
As the title states I want first timers to Roatan to know a few things, West Bay Beach is about 1 Km or 0.62 mi and the "BIG" resorts (2) have about 150 rooms, the rest are under 50 rooms. So going between places on the beach is no big deal and you will find that you will be at other restaurants along the beach more than once. Also there are water Taxis($3US per person per trip) that will take you in to West End where you can spend an afternoon if you would like, some shops, good eats and some local culture, I highly recommend this. Don't hesitate to e-mail me with questions as this list can go on and on.

Safe travels everyone and until next time.

Kaykwok

Room Tip: One couple stayed in the new tower (The Oceanic) and actually moved to the old section, they said it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    107
    30
    15
    5
See reviews for
46
121
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The Paradise Beach hotel is the older cousin of the Paradise Oceanic hotel and is being refurbished. New deck furniture arrived while we were there, for example. Service was uniformly cheerful and good, although some don't have much English. Everybody tried very hard to please and went out of their way to help. Brittany greeted us with a warm and genuine smile when we arrived. She and Kristen at reception helped arrange cars, tours and otherwise were helpful when I fell ill with the flu.
The location is terrific, on a wonderful beach. Snorkeling is a short walk and a short swim from the beach. West Bay Divers offers excellent diving with modern equipment and sensible, English, French and Spanish speaking divemasters. Our room, on the third floor offered the opportunity for exercise - there is no elevator . It was scrupulously clean and well kept by Jenny.
We found the food just fine and there was always plenty of it. There is always fresh fruit at meals and choices of meats and vegetables. The re-fried beans for breakfast were yummy.
Roatan is a developing tourist spot and they haven't got all the bugs worked out yet. If you go there, go with a tolerant attitude and you will have a great time. Take lots of US one dollar bills for tips. We tipped at the end of the stay, but some people prefer to tip for each meal.

Room Tip: Try to get a room toward the beach side of the resort. The generator at the back is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

They could make great food in the restaurant, if you paid for it!
As you only get 1 restaurant visit for the whole week. The rest of the week you have to eat buffet, selection and quality were poor. There was also no beach snack service.
Other than that the place was great and location was great.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Just back from a 2 wk stay at Paradise Beach, dec 3-17 great place to hang out, staff very friendly and alway's smiling,the service is great they will help you in anyway they can,rooms are nice, clean and alway's done early, we stayed in a suite it 's perfect if you want some extra room, beach-bar great service, and on the beach, snorkelling and diving is excellent, the whole place is like a nice little hideaway.
But like many resorts there is always something to complain about, in this resort it's the FOOD, sad to say it needs a lot of improvement, breakfast, lunch and dinner, first week not so good, after a lot of complains it improved a bit the 2nd week, we where assured before we left that changes were being worked on, and I think they will.
We still highly recommend this resort, we'l be back.
Stoney Creek. ONT

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bumpass, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Great location, highly recommend the villas. We had a two bedroom two bath villa which was great. Our housekeeper, Iris, was wonderful. I do not know how she kept up with all the sand. The staff was very responsive: plugged toilet, hot water issue, locked myself out of the safe. We did feel there was a language barrier; most of the staff speaks Spanish and a little English. This is probably the biggest thing the resort could work on to improve, also the food. We had the bed and breakfast option and ate buffet each morning. I highly recommend it, great way to start the day. The head server Ermelinda was great; she made the start to each day very pleasant. The resort does not serve dairy cream for coffee, only dry cream or milk. The menu for the other meals did not intrigue us and the kitchen was far away from the beach area where we spent most of our time. The location is gorgeous, best beach around. The resort has security 24 hours a day this is very reassuring and is why we chose a resort rather than a house rental. Don’t arrange taxis form the resort they were way over priced compared to others. We did arrange some activities from the resort concierge which worked out well. This hotel is not as rustic as some in the area and is not the most expensive . It was clean, safe, and had an amazing location. I have to say the staff clearly wanted to please and made our visit most pleasant. We will return. Do not forget to bring your bug spray for the sand flys, bring any food/ coffe you cant live without there is not a large selection on the island

Room Tip: Go with a beach front villa, you will have an amazing view at your doorstep there wasn't a fitne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maia, Portugal
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Me and my family spent 2 weeks on this nice Hotel. The beach is fantastic (only a lot of sand flies and mosquito bites), but all other things are wonderful. The diving and snorkeling are superb. THe Hotel is on the beach. The meals wer a la carte and fine (you have to spend 5 US $ more for the lobster). The breakfast in medium. All the staff is very friendly and helpful. IT is ot a 5 star hotel but is very nice and clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

Very good! Always when I go to Roatan i stay there. Of course its not perfect, like the wireless system but the rest overcome any problem and people like Felipe and Vanessa are always helpfull and take a good care of you.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Paradise Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Beach Hotel

Address: West Bay Beach, West Bay IB3100, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in West Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paradise Beach Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on one of nature’s perfect beaches and nestled in verdant, mature, tropical gardens our family run resort was tastefully designed with the discerning traveller in mind. You want to sit back and soak up the sun with the occasional cooling paddle in the azure Caribbean Sea whilst being waited on by our attentive family of representatives. Maybe go diving in the unspoilt reefs or swim with dolphins? However you choose to spend your time, you can be assured of a warm welcome, superb air-conditioned accommodation, menus to suit all tastes and budgets but most of all, the holiday of a lifetime. A taste of paradise that will keep you going until the next time you can escape life’s realities and join us again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Paradise Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Beach Club Hotel West Bay
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Hotel Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.