We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“after dinner nothing to do” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort to your Saves list
Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   West Bay Beach, West Bay, Honduras   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Premium All Inclusive
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in West Bay
Oshawa Ont
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“after dinner nothing to do”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

stayed at mayan princess
jan. 2013
large groop
2 weeks

resort is small, grounds are kept well, rooms
are large and all have new king beds.

staff was helpfull and friendly.
stayed in room 221 perfect location pool was 40 ft. away.

food was ok but very repetitive.
requested cabbage rolls and cook did surprise me with them. thanks again.

this resort is very quiet and the night life is almost non--existing.
the resort offers nothing to do regarding pastime.
no games , no lobby to sit and relax , no pool table shuffleboard , next door bldg. part of the resort is empty wasted space most of the time.

mayan princess you have a lovely resort that needs attention.
people want things to do during the day, as well as the evenigs.

dont pay attention to water problems regarding amount of bottled drinking water,
there were 17 of us and they gave us plenty.

i would return to this resort but these concerns would have to be dealt with

Room Tip: all rooms are great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janeth T, Manager at Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are very glad to read that you liked our friendly and helpful staff, as our location, beach, and pool. We really appreciate your feedback, it's always very important for us to know what our guests think. We hope that you will afford us an opportunity to exceed your expectations during a future stay with us.
Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    159
    70
    32
    23
See reviews for
126
219
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roatan, Honduras
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Staff is very helpful when you bring an issue to them the issue is there was a lot of issue they had to deal with. Nothing ever done on time herd a lot of it Honduras time. The pool and room great access to the beach perfect the cost for extra like spa is over twice the cost off the resort grounds. Security is good. The wait staff at there indoor dinning needs major improvement wait over 1.5 for food and when the power went out on the island the could not keep the back up generating working. They have few things they can fix and perform with more excellent and this would be a first rate place.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janeth T, Manager at Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. We're happy to read that you enjoyed our beach and grounds. Unfortunately, it seems we were unable to meet your expectations regarding our service. We always want to ensure that all of our guests are satisfied with their stay. We have notified the relevant departments of your concerns so that they can take necessary action. We hope that you will afford us an opportunity to exceed your expectations during a future stay with us. Enjoy your day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I chose to bring 21 people here for the day for an excursion from our cruise. I prepayed for the day passes. Our cruise was not able to dock because of high winds. I emailed them immediately to tell them the situation at 8:30am. They would not refund my money. They said they had saved the seats. Who are they turning away at 8:30am? I am sure they were able to fill the lounge chairs at the beach that day. They were very rude trying to deal with them too.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janeth T, Manager at Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of us. Unfortunately, it seems we were unable to meet your expectations regarding your day passes. We always want to ensure that all of our guests are satisfied.We have notified the relevant departments of your concerns so that they can take necessary action. We hope that you will afford us an opportunity to exceed your expectations during a future visit.
Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We just got back from a lovely vacation at the Mayan Princess in Roatan. This is a small quiet and peaceful hotel. The staff are very helpful and friendly. We had two suites in the tower. The rooms were recently updated. I did not have a safe in my room but there was one in the other suite that we all used. I enjoyed having a full sized kitchen to cook a few meals for my 6 year old daughter. There is a small market close by, where we bought fresh milk, ragu spagehetti sauce and kraft dinner. We had a lovely view of the pool and the iguanas that hang out in the gardens. The food was good with fresh fruits, vegetables and beef, chicken or fish options at the buffet. A chef was there to make omelletes in the morning and pasta, tacos or bbq in the afternoon and evenings. The a la carte meals were presented wonderfully however I did not like my choices (avoid the mashed potatoes). There was no need to worry about finding a spot at the pool or at the beach as one was always available and the staff were more than willing to put up an umbrella for you in the sand. I wish there was more entertainment in the evenings at the hotel but there is plenty of action along the beach if you are interested. We enjoyed the glass bottom boat that is advertised on the beach and the trip to Gumbalimba Park. Just avoid the suspension bridge if you have small children. Watch out for bug bites. I never saw them coming but I am still scratching today!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 216 which was up two flights of stairs - no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janeth T, Manager at Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are very happy to read that you had a lovely family vacation with us and how much you enjoyed your stay. I'll be sure to send this post to our staff. They all will be happy to see your review. We hope to see you again!
Enjoy your day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I spent a couple of days at the resort after a mission trip to the Honduran mainland as sort of a trial run for a family vacation. I had a very pleasant time.

The rooms are actually small condos with separate living areas and very ample bathrooms. My room was very clean, if somewhat dated in its appearance. The staff was super friendly and helpful. And the location is jaw-dropping beautiful.

I also enjoyed the food at the hotel. My only other feedback would be that, for the money, the hotel should have nicer towels and toiletries. And, again, the room and its furnishings could use a shot of Botox.

But all in all, a very pleasant stay. I will be coming back with the family!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janeth T, Manager at Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are very happy to know that you had a pleasant stay with us. We appreciate your feedback, it's always very important to know what our guests think. It´s great to know that you want to come back and bring your family. We hope to see you all in a near future.
Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guatemala city
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We absolutely loved this hotel. Unfortunatley, we were met with bad weather, but had such a wonderful room, no problem staying on the terrace reading, looking at the ocean. The staff, Fernando, Elena, Irwin, Ivan, and Roberto could not have been more accomodating. They were ALWAYS ready to help, with a smile. Our stay was just a wonderful, wonderful experience all around. Would definitely go back!! Actually, this is the only one I would go back to!

The suite has a nice living room, with adjacent kitchenette, and bathroom that can be accessed either from the bedroom or living area. There is a really nice terrace. Comfortable table and chairs. We were lucky enough to have the upper floor of the hotel, beach front.

Thanks again to the wonderful staff!!!!

Suzanne Steele

Room Tip: would definitely recommend room 228, beach front, or any others in the area. I believe there are 6...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janeth T, Manager at Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We are so happy to read how much you enjoyed and loved your stay at Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort! It´s great to know that our staff was able to make your vacation so enjoyable and that you were comfortable in your entire stay at our suites. We hope to see you again!
Have a nice day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Pine Key, Florida, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I have been to this wonderful beach resort several times on a daily breather while cruising! It is a great place to come and unwind for the day! I am hoping that I will be able to spend the day at your beach next week with friends that have never been there! Usually there are taxis at the pier that will bring you there and pick you up at when you want. I love this place!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janeth T, Manager at Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for the taking the time to review us and visiting our resort for several times. We appreciate it. We hope to see you again with your friends.
Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort

Address: West Bay Beach, West Bay, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in West Bay
#6 Family Hotel in West Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant Roatan resort on the island's best beach, Mayan Princess Beach Resort features waterfront hotel accommodations and service. Just steps from your luxurious condo, a white sand beach leads to sparkling turquoise waters, perfect for scuba diving Roatan's spectacular undersea gardens. Nominated for Honduras' Leading Hotel Award in 2007-2010, this Roatan beach resort offers a variety of vacation activities, first-class amenities, and beachfront restaurant. Welcome to paradise and comfortable relaxation in a tropical oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayan Princess Beach Hotel West Bay
Hotel Mayan Princess Beach
Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.