We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Port Destination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort to your Saves list
Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   West Bay Beach, West Bay, Honduras   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Fiesta de Año Nuevo
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in West Bay
Big Pine Key, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Port Destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I have been to this wonderful beach resort several times on a daily breather while cruising! It is a great place to come and unwind for the day! I am hoping that I will be able to spend the day at your beach next week with friends that have never been there! Usually there are taxis at the pier that will bring you there and pick you up at when you want. I love this place!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janeth T, Manager at Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for the taking the time to review us and visiting our resort for several times. We appreciate it. We hope to see you again with your friends.
Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    169
    74
    32
    23
See reviews for
130
225
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The rooms have been updated some. New comfortable bed. New dressers. New comfortable couch. New tv with lots of channels. New furniture on our patio.We did stay in the same room as last year that we requested which was great. The food was good.They now have wine served all day. Although times they were out of the wine for hours at a time.They had a meal by the pool one night which was nice. The ala cartes were excellent. The service was excellent from all the staff in the restaurant,bar and front desk.I find the staff very friendly. The gardens are beautiful and the gardener got us coconuts to eat. The activity girl was very nice. They tryed to have a meal next door at the other bar they have but the wind picked up and it had to be cancelled.There were a lot of repeat guests I noticed so you know that says a lot. We had a great time diving with our friends that came with us this time. We had a lot of fun. I will do another review on the diving which was excellent. We went ziplining through sunwing what a fun time we had a great team there.The eastern island tour was not what we expected. The mangroves had a lot of garbage there. The garfuna dance was good from the women but when the man danced they did not look at the audience and it looked made up. Also the kids were asking us for money not impressed. The one good thing was the meal we had at Charlie's Chill n Grill.The food was excellent, lobster,shrimp and beef. Great service. Nice view.My husband and his friend went on the shark dive and loved it. Ask Ana at the dive shop. They have a great video from there experience.I would go back again for sure to this resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janeth T, Manager at Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your great review and visiting Mayan Princess Beach & Dive resort again. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We can see that you experience zip lining and that you had a fun time, as your husband taking an adventure diving with sharks! We hope to see you both again!
Enjoy your day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is an excellent resort for those who really want to relax and have an out-of-this-world experience. People from Roatan are really nice and caring to the tourists.

Snorkelling, diving, and dolphin encounter, among others, are very cool experiences. My wife and I spent our honeymoon and we are very happy for having chosen this magical place.

Greetings to the Hotel Staff and I hope for many people to visit this island.

Room Tip: The best rooms are those in front of the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janeth T, Manager at Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review! We appreciate it. I'm glad you and your wife had such a fantastic honeymoon and that we were able to share that experience with you. I will share your review with our resort staff. We hope to see you again.
Enjoy your day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jubail, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I have stayed here for 2 days and a night with my friend and his wife..
i was a tripadvisor for him anyways and suggested him to go this place.
it was really wondefull stay in the Mayan Princess Beach Mention not about the dive resort.i just had 5 days and 4 night stay in honduras where half of my Trip was fullfilled by Mayan Princess...Thanks for their wonderful service and everything,...The only drawback is that unlike most of the tourist/trip places there is no more bad things to pin point...hehe....Just for a joke. wish i come back again... :) once again.Loved the speedy service of yours

Room Tip: get a room in higher floors so that you get an awsome View and Fulfilled like a Paradise.Happy stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janeth T, Manager at Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We are so happy to read that you had such a wonderful stay with us. Your mention is very encouraging and helps us to ensure that we continue on this track of service to all of our guests. Thank you so much for your kind review. We appreciate it. We hope to see you again!
Enjoy your day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melville, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Have been staying at the Mayan Princess each year for 8 years. Recent upgrades have made our vacation even better. It's a beautiful resort with a very attentive staff. We made reservations for next year already & am very much looking forward to returning. The diving in Roatan is the main reason for our annual visits & the dive shop, Mayan Divers, which opened 3 years ago is fantastic. They have 2 nice boats with a crew as good as it gets. It's very wll organized & very convenient. Overall the resort offers very good value on a beautiful beach.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janeth T, Manager at Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review! It´s amazing to read that you have been staying at the resort for the last past eight years! What a great honor! We are so happy to know that our upgrades made your vacations even better and how much you enjoy diving with the Mayan Divers. Thanks for booking with us again and see you next year!
Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our 6th trip to Roatan on February 28. Our stay at the Mayan Princess was great as usual. We were pleased to see that they had made many great upgrades since our visit last March,. Having visited so many times before we booked direct with the hotel and substituted our customary "all inclusive" package for a B&B. Opting to cook a few meals in our room and dine at the many restaurants along the beach we taxied to by groceries and beverages in Coxen Hole and were pleased to find the grocery store had everything we can buy at home. The Mayan Princess condo needed some appliance repairs, the range and oven did not work, toaster semi worked but once reported were dealt with by maintenance staff to the best of their ability very, very promptly. We understand that most of these items are scheduled to be replaced in the next phase of the renovations.
We had 2 lobster dinners at the hotel, both werre delicious. The breakfast buffet was ok, the omellettes and eggs cooked to order but lacked variety after a few days. Same old hashbrowns and fruit day after day. Staff are pleasant, friendly and helpful especially Tamara, Glenda and Frances. The restaurant Manager lacked personality and could maybe benefit from some interaction with the guests to get their feedback on overall satisfaction, (maybe smile and say good day!).
There are always staff changes so we are happy when we see familiar faces upon our return. It was really great to see Jen back at the hotel. While she tries, there is still a lack of entertainment, not even much in the early evening so this is not the place for you if you expect that on your holiday. It is quiet but you can find entertainment at some of the establishments along the beach if you desire. Due to the lack of enterrtainment the newly constructed bar lacks character and the staff could use some personality, more animated characters or better conversationalists. The bar closes early due to local laws so if its party all night that you want you won't find it in Roatan.
Victoria in reservations was wonderful. She responds to emails promptly and is very accomodating. We had 6 friends join us through Sunwing and she did her best to accomodate their requests even though they did not book direct with the hotel. Fernando was a great addition to the front desk staff. He is pleasant, friendly and most helpful. Always smiling, greeting the guests and making everyone feel welcome.
We've had the same maid (Aracely) for the last few trips and she always takes good care of us. While English is not her strong suit, she tries and manages to communicate. She never seemed distressed when we ran late and disrupted her schedule, always pleasant and happy to accomodate.
Overall we had a great time. We enjoy the quiet, relaxing environment and will definitely return to the Mayan Princess. We are already planning our next trip, hopefully in December. The resort improves a little every time we return. We are seasoned travellers and we do visit at least one other country every year, but our hearts are in Roatan. The people are what makes your stay pleasant and this country has some of the best. Sun, sand and beaches can be found elsewhere. We would recommend the Mayan Princess in a heartbeat and have sent many guests their way. Its not perfect, its not 5 start Mexico/Dominican but it is one of the best on the island. If you want to be pampered, have turn down service, robes and slippers, not the place for you. It is clean, comfortable, great condo units and has one of the best beaches in the Caribbean.

To all our friends at the Mayan, thank you, you guys are great. To Juan, we know you read these, thank you. Hopefully you find it helpful. You are doing a great job!

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the resort! All are just minutes from the beach. Request a ground floor if you ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janeth T, Manager at Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We really appreciate you posting about your wonderful stay at Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort! We want all our guests to have the experience of being in paradise and we are so happy to hear that we were able to create that experience one more time! Thank you for your feedback, I will forward our staff and general manager your review. We hope to see you one more time in a near future!
Have a nice day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed at the Mayan Princess between Feb 4 and 18. We flew in direct from Toronto via Sunwing. Overall a great experience with Sunwing.
The resort and grounds were beautiful. Updates to the resort had been made prior to our visit. New furniture and new beds made for an even more comfortable stay. The condos were cleaned daily with great care. The food was very good with a number of choices. The restaurant and bar staff were always friendly and accommodating. Service with a smile every time. The Luna Maya a la carte restaurant was an absolute treat. Best steak on the island!
The beach is amazing. There are vendors on the beach but we never found them to be annoying. A simple 'no thank you' and they moved on.
We want to send out a special thank you to Martha, Yuen and Fernando for making our stay memorable! We will be back next year so be ready for us. Haha

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janeth T, Manager at Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review! We appreciate it! It seems you had a great time at the resort and that makes us very happy and encourage our staff to continue doing our work the best way possible to make all of our guests feel the same way you do! I will be sure to forward this kind and great review to our staff. We look forward to see you next year!
Have a nice day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort

Address: West Bay Beach, West Bay, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in West Bay
#6 Family Hotel in West Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant Roatan resort on the island's best beach, Mayan Princess Beach Resort features waterfront hotel accommodations and service. Just steps from your luxurious condo, a white sand beach leads to sparkling turquoise waters, perfect for scuba diving Roatan's spectacular undersea gardens. Nominated for Honduras' Leading Hotel Award in 2007-2010, this Roatan beach resort offers a variety of vacation activities, first-class amenities, and beachfront restaurant. Welcome to paradise and comfortable relaxation in a tropical oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayan Princess Beach Hotel West Bay
Hotel Mayan Princess Beach
Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.