We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort to your Saves list
Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   West Bay Beach, West Bay, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Coronach, Canada
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great resort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is a small, cozy, and very friendly resort!! Every room is close to all the amenities, and every room has a kitchenette. The food at the buffet was excellent! Not a huge selection but what was offered was all very good and we never went away disappointed!! Every meal was great and we never tired of the buffet. The Luna Maya a la carte was also very good, but Calkett's a la carte was not so good. That was the only poor meal we had at the resort. But overall we were very happy with the food. Our room had a pillow top king size bed which was very comfortable. The air conditioning worked great and we were always very comfortable in our room. We were literally just steps away from the pool and restaurants. Being such a small resort, everything was just a short walk to get to. We took one snorkeling excursion from the dive shop, and for $20 per person it was well worth it!! Although the reef was just a short walk from the resort, it was nice to go out into the ocean to another reef and it did not disappoint! The staff was the friendliest we have ever encountered, Everyone spoke good English and were very courteous and helpful. We felt very safe with the resort security always making their presence felt. Richard the security guard was awesome!! I would definately recommend this resort.

Room Tip: We had a regular room that I think they called pool view. We were on the second floor and had a bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janeth T, Manager at Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your great review. It is always great to know what our guests think. We are very happy to know that you had a wonderful stay with us and that our staff was able to make your vacation so enjoyable. We hope to see you again. Enjoy your day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    200
    84
    35
    30
See reviews for
159
257
22
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
va beach
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Excellent service, great snorkeling, very friendly staff, the most beautiful beach you will visit. Perfect weather, water crystal clear. Great scenery, if you know what I mean, Just a wonderful time overall. We didn't do the tour from Carnival but hired a taxi and the driver stayed with us all day, watched out things while we swam and shopped. Then gave us a wonderful City tour. All for $80. I gave her a $20 tip and she couldn't thank me enough. Alicia has lived in CA & spoke very good english. Took us to good shopping places. Her phone # is 011+504+98121121
if you would like it. She is worth it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janeth T, Manager at Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your review and visiting us. We are very happy to know that you like our service, snorkeling, friendly staff, place, and outstanding beach. It seems that you had a great time and that makes us very happy. We hope that you can visit us again in a near future.
Enjoy your day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Myself And Wife, With Our Freinds Steve And Clarann.
Stayed At The Mayan Princess On 01-12-19-2013.
It Was Paradise. Good Bang For The Buck.We
Are Not Divers. But Love The Beach.Did Some Snorkeling,
The Barrier Reef Was Great. You Must Do The All Inclusive.
The Food Five Star.The New Chef (From Holland) Awesome.
We Are In Our 50's So Partying Till Dawn Is Not Our Deal But You
Can If You Like.Not A Lot Of Night Life.The Staff Treats You Like A King!
If You Have Any Questions Or Trouble Find Glenda She Works In The Buffet/Waitress
Perfect English Very Helpfull.Now The Resort Is Small (120 Guests) So No Waiting For
Drinks Or Food.The Rooms Are A Little Dated, But Being Remodeled. While We Were
There, Got New Beds And Mattress. Everything Is Super Clean.If You Can Get The Beach
Front Rooms (Lower Level) 16 Steps From The Beach 22 Steps From The Bar.
Now The Negative. The AirPort Only Flights In/Out On Saturdays. Remember Third World.
If The Visibility Is Bad No Flights In. We Rented A Car For The Day (Hotel Set It Up) Easy.
The Rental Cars Are A Little Beat Up. So No Worries If You Get Sand In Them.Drove All Over The Island Felt Safe. EveryOne Was Helpfull You Are A Tourist They Like Your Money.
If You Are Looking For Rest And Relaxing I would Stay At The Mayan.

Room Tip: Beach Front Lower Level.Close To EveryThing. Open The Door To Paradise.Super Close To Beach 16 St...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janeth T, Manager at Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate it. We want all our guests to have the experience of being in paradise and we are happy to know that we were able to create that experience for you. It was a honor having you as our guest and to know that you had a relaxing and enjoyable stay with us. We hope to see you again.
Enjoy your day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed at the Mayan Princess in December around New Years Eve. Nice size rooms, good food, nice beach, awesome seating around the pools and near the bar, and great service. We went to the New Year's Eve party and had an amazing time! Not only was there a ton if food, but the band was good, there were fireworks at midnight with a champagne toast, and we had a surprise performance by the Garifuna dance group. It was really fun. I recommend the resort to travelers. We have great memories from our stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janeth T, Manager at Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
It seems you had a great time at the resort! We are very happy to know, how much you enjoyed our New Year´s Eve party! Thank you for your recommending us and your great review. We appreciate it. We hope to see you again.
Enjoy your day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

You could never find a better place to spend a perfect time in paradise than in this resort. The personel is so friendly that it hurts a bit when it's time to back to reality. Everyone, and when I say everyone I mean everyone is really helpful and beyond just doing their job, because they have to make a living like everyone else, they appreciate to have you as a guest. You can't beat the location because it's the best. The beach is the best on the Island and the Mayan Princess has the best spot. The food is great, you have less choice but what's on the menu is great quality. I have been here twice and can't wait to go back.

Marvin

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janeth T, Manager at Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
We want all our guests to have the experience of being in paradise and we are happy to hear that we were able to create that experience for you! I know your second stay with us had a lot to live up to and it´s great to know we were able to meet your expectations. We can´t wait for your next visit.
Enjoy your day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We spent the week of January 7-14th with a group of 39 for our wedding and loved every minute of it! From the welcome drink, to the friendly front desk we knew we had made the best choice! The rooms were incredibly large and beautiful, the only minor complaint would be the noise of the air conditioner. The grounds are exceptionally manicured and very clean along with the rooms. The beach was like nothing we had seen and the snorkeling of the reef magical. Food was excellent and the buffet was a great variety, if I could suggest, a little more variety for younger/picky children ie. pizza, chicken fingers, burgers etc. The resort itself is quiet and intimate. We had a beautiful wedding setup and all the little details made it very special especially the fireshow which we would highly recommend. Excursions are plentiful and we enjoyed a snorkeling tour, Gumbalimba Park, catamaran tour and dolphin encounter at Anthony's Key Resort. We were worried about sand fleas from previous reviews but had minimal problems with them. From the bartenders to the waiting staff you couldn't ask for a better crew..miss your smile Darwin!! Our dream will be to visit again sometime and truly this is a hidden gem! Thank you Mayan Princess for making a lifetime of memories, for us, our family and friends!

Room Tip: We saw 16 different rooms at different locations and they were all incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janeth T, Manager at Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
We are so happy to hear that you had such wonderful vacation and wedding with us. It's great that we were able to meet your expectations and share that experience with you. With so many guests, we're ecstatic to hear that we were able to please everyone in your party. We always want to be sure that all of your needs are met and it seems the staff at Mayan Princess did just that! Thank you so much for your review! We hope to see you again.
Enjoy your day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed at the Mayan Princess for two weeks in January 2013. Our flight had been delayed and we were one day late in arriving. Due to the flight diversion, we arrived at an unusual time and not when the resort shuttle was expecting us.
I contacted the resort after landing, only to discover that they had already sent the shuttle to pick us up.
From our first ride with Carlos, the shuttle driver, (who expertly and quickly loaded all of our baggage and us into the shuttle) to our check out day we had wonderful experiences with the staff. Fernando, Alena and Phillipe at the front reception desk were helpful, professional and accommodating for everything from borrowing a hair dryer to translations from Spanish to English !
The housekeeping staff was polite and professional and always greeted us with a smile and a hello!
We had the inclusive plan that included breakfast. Since we were diving almost every day, we ate breakfast early (7am) each day. By just day three we were usually greeted at breakfast with a big smile from Joham and he recited each of our "usual" breakfast drink orders (2 cappuccinos, a large bottled water and a black coffee). He was wonderful! All the catering staff from the nice gentleman who operated the egg / omelet bar to the very nice lady who made our cappuccinos each morning, were polite, friendly, and happy to answer any question and made every effort to insure we were satisfied with our experience!
Because we were diving, the location of Mayan Divers on site was perfect (see review under Mayan Divers)!
The resort itself was clean, quiet, and located perfectly! We will return to Roatan, and would not hesitate to stay with the Mayan Princess again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janeth T, Manager at Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your excellent review. We are so happy to see that we were able to exceed your expectations and that our staff was able to make your vacation so enjoyable. I will be sure to send this review to them. They all will be happy to see it. We hope to see you again.
Enjoy your day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort

Address: West Bay Beach, West Bay, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in West Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in West Bay
#7 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
#7 Family Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant Roatan resort on the island's best beach, Mayan Princess Beach Resort features waterfront hotel accommodations and service. Just steps from your luxurious condo, a white sand beach leads to sparkling turquoise waters, perfect for scuba diving Roatan's spectacular undersea gardens. Nominated for Honduras' Leading Hotel Award in 2007-2010, this Roatan beach resort offers a variety of vacation activities, first-class amenities, and beachfront restaurant. Welcome to paradise and comfortable relaxation in a tropical oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayan Princess Beach Hotel West Bay
Hotel Mayan Princess Beach
Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.