We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Roatan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort

Save Saved
You added Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   West Bay Beach, West Bay, Honduras   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #6 of 11 hotels in West Bay
Laval, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best place in Roatan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

You could never find a better place to spend a perfect time in paradise than in this resort. The personel is so friendly that it hurts a bit when it's time to back to reality. Everyone, and when I say everyone I mean everyone is really helpful and beyond just doing their job, because they have to make a living like everyone else, they appreciate to have you as a guest. You can't beat the location because it's the best. The beach is the best on the Island and the Mayan Princess has the best spot. The food is great, you have less choice but what's on the menu is great quality. I have been here twice and can't wait to go back.

Marvin

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janeth T, Manager at Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
We want all our guests to have the experience of being in paradise and we are happy to hear that we were able to create that experience for you! I know your second stay with us had a lot to live up to and it´s great to know we were able to meet your expectations. We can´t wait for your next visit.
Enjoy your day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    222
    148
    67
    30
    23
See reviews for
121
201
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We spent the week of January 7-14th with a group of 39 for our wedding and loved every minute of it! From the welcome drink, to the friendly front desk we knew we had made the best choice! The rooms were incredibly large and beautiful, the only minor complaint would be the noise of the air conditioner. The grounds are exceptionally manicured and very clean along with the rooms. The beach was like nothing we had seen and the snorkeling of the reef magical. Food was excellent and the buffet was a great variety, if I could suggest, a little more variety for younger/picky children ie. pizza, chicken fingers, burgers etc. The resort itself is quiet and intimate. We had a beautiful wedding setup and all the little details made it very special especially the fireshow which we would highly recommend. Excursions are plentiful and we enjoyed a snorkeling tour, Gumbalimba Park, catamaran tour and dolphin encounter at Anthony's Key Resort. We were worried about sand fleas from previous reviews but had minimal problems with them. From the bartenders to the waiting staff you couldn't ask for a better crew..miss your smile Darwin!! Our dream will be to visit again sometime and truly this is a hidden gem! Thank you Mayan Princess for making a lifetime of memories, for us, our family and friends!

Room Tip: We saw 16 different rooms at different locations and they were all incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janeth T, Manager at Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
We are so happy to hear that you had such wonderful vacation and wedding with us. It's great that we were able to meet your expectations and share that experience with you. With so many guests, we're ecstatic to hear that we were able to please everyone in your party. We always want to be sure that all of your needs are met and it seems the staff at Mayan Princess did just that! Thank you so much for your review! We hope to see you again.
Enjoy your day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed at the Mayan Princess for two weeks in January 2013. Our flight had been delayed and we were one day late in arriving. Due to the flight diversion, we arrived at an unusual time and not when the resort shuttle was expecting us.
I contacted the resort after landing, only to discover that they had already sent the shuttle to pick us up.
From our first ride with Carlos, the shuttle driver, (who expertly and quickly loaded all of our baggage and us into the shuttle) to our check out day we had wonderful experiences with the staff. Fernando, Alena and Phillipe at the front reception desk were helpful, professional and accommodating for everything from borrowing a hair dryer to translations from Spanish to English !
The housekeeping staff was polite and professional and always greeted us with a smile and a hello!
We had the inclusive plan that included breakfast. Since we were diving almost every day, we ate breakfast early (7am) each day. By just day three we were usually greeted at breakfast with a big smile from Joham and he recited each of our "usual" breakfast drink orders (2 cappuccinos, a large bottled water and a black coffee). He was wonderful! All the catering staff from the nice gentleman who operated the egg / omelet bar to the very nice lady who made our cappuccinos each morning, were polite, friendly, and happy to answer any question and made every effort to insure we were satisfied with our experience!
Because we were diving, the location of Mayan Divers on site was perfect (see review under Mayan Divers)!
The resort itself was clean, quiet, and located perfectly! We will return to Roatan, and would not hesitate to stay with the Mayan Princess again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janeth T, Manager at Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your excellent review. We are so happy to see that we were able to exceed your expectations and that our staff was able to make your vacation so enjoyable. I will be sure to send this review to them. They all will be happy to see it. We hope to see you again.
Enjoy your day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oshawa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Travelled Jan 21 to 28, 13 from Toronto through Sunwing.
Arrived a little early, small airport underconstruction, got through airport no problems and onto bus. Airport to resort was about 1/2 hour on the worst roads iv ever seen and in pouring rain. Don't get scared by the drive way and entrance to the resotr lobby, looks terrible but pleasantly suprised when you get in.
Check in was a breeze, nice room 2nd floor tower. Rear where bedroom and entrance door is faced parking lot, bad smells and noise of trucks ect but not that bad. Aiar conditioning worked well but is in a closet in the room, very noisey at night. everything and more in this room inc huge balcony overlooking pool, coudnt quite see the ocean. Next time I would choose basic pool room, bit cheaper and just as nice, maybe a bit smaller.
Buitifull gardens, clean and a beach to die for. Staff were trying there best to maintain pool but with all the rain it was hard to do.
Food as everyone says is average, not much choice and most of it cold. The exception is the 2 resturants, very good. Bar service was excellent and drinks were good.
No activities and no real entertainment. Snorkilling is the best Iv seen,
Nice island typical of most, people freindly. Cattamaran tour through the resort was terrible not worth the money. All snorkling sites were great.
High point of this resort is the staff, Darwin in the bar and Angel who will take care of anything you need are fantastic, all other staff all do there best to please.
Rained 5 days out of 7 but still had a reasonbly good time. this resort is all about the beach and it is great but ypu will have to put up with the peddlars hocking everything from ice cream to knock off ray bans and wathches. also the usual necklaces and t shirts. the will not let up. The Myan does split the beach for the cruise ships when the come in three times a week but it doesnt really cause any issues. Age ranged from about 30 and up, not the place for younger crowd
They did just replace all the bedding and furniture prior to our stay, very good
Any questions?

Room Tip: all rooms are good and resort is small so location really does not matter, go for cheapest one
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janeth T, Manager at Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We sincerely appreciate it. It´s always good to know what our guests thinks. Thank you for your feedback and visiting us.It seems you had a good time at the resort. We hope to see you again.

Enjoy your day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We spent Jan. 16th, 2013 in Roatan with Victor Bodden Tours, who I would highly recommend! We toured the Island, visited the Iguana Farm and Monkey Farm and then asked to go to a nice beach that wouldn't be overly crowded. Rick, our driver, was awesome and so helpful to one lady in our party who has M.S. and had recently had knee replacement surgery. He would help her in and out of the van and was so great!! (I would hear him say to her "Come on Mama" - so cute!) He suggested the Mayan Princess and for $10 each we could use the beach and facilities. We chose a lovely cabana and ordered a bucket of beer for $12 - very reasonable. We also had some great Pina Coladas. The beach was awesome!!! Gorgeous, fine, white sand and not crowded at all. We felt that we had found a little piece of heaven. There is also a gorgeous pool and, although we didn't see inside any of the rooms - the buildings looked beautiful and well kept. We were on a cruise the day we were there but are considering taking a vacation and spending some time staying at the Mayan Princess which is an all-inclusive.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janeth T, Manager at Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. It seems you had a great time visiting The Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort and I am so happy to read how much you loved the resort. We hope you can stay with us in your next visit, it will be a great pleasure and honor to have you as our guest. Enjoy your day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Harbour, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My Husband Russell and I were privilaged and honored to be invited to our neice Heathers wedding in Roatan. We had never heard of Roatan so had no idea what to expect. Well I must say we were pleasantly surprised by the lush beauty of this tropical island paradise! The Mayan Princess is a small intimate resort with beautiful1 and 2 bedroom villa's. We paid a very good price for an all inclusive 1 week holiday. As always you worry that the food may not be up to snuff at the all inclusive resorts but the food was delicious and with different buffet choices everyday. The A-la-cart dinners fantastic and the drink selection excellant. Our villa as were most at the resort was poolside. The pool very beautiful with waterfalls, bridge's etc. The beach close to all villa's, and always a beach lounger available. The Staff was exceptional, courteous, friendly and went out of their way to make our stay memorable. The rooms always clean with fresh flowers daily cut from the lovely gardens that surrounded the resort. Excursions were plentiful, diving, snorkeling (amazing), zip lining, catamaran trips which included bar service and snacks, kayaking parasailing,dolphin adventures, you name it they had it. The wedding itself was one of the most romantic that I have ever been to. Thank you Mayan princess for a memorable time.

Room Tip: All Floors have good views of pool or beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janeth T, Manager at Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
We are very grateful for your excellent review. I'm so glad that we were able to exceed your expectation and make this an amazing experience for you. We are very happy to know that you had a great time at your niece wedding and at the resort. We want all our guests to have the experience of being in paradise and it´s great to hear that we were able to create that experience for you. It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we hope to see you soon again.
Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Mayan Princess last year for a week of some of the best diving I've ever experienced. We loved it so much we brought our two girls back for a week this year. Our 13 year old was certified two years ago, and they were more than able to accommodate her junior diving certification and kept the dives to within her range. I was a little concerned that there was no kids club, and that our 8 year old would get bored - but the wonderful, free-form pool, the hot-tub, as well as the beach kept her busy. She learned to snorkle and got an opportunity to see some of what we see diving.
The staff at the Mayan Princess are the best! A lot of them remembered us from last year, which really made us feel special. A hello to Tamara, Glenda, Dixon, Francis, Jonathan, Hazel, Darwin, Santos, Philip and a all the others( I'm sorry I forgot their names. ).
We had one of the few 2 bedroom condo's, which was perfect for us. The room is a little outdated, but while we were there some of the rooms were getting new beds and furniture, so hopefully by the time we get back that unit will be done as well. The food was good. If you're looking for a place with lots of restaurants and a huge buffet - Roatan is not the place for you. For us, there was enough variety to ensure our kids had choices of things they would eat, and for myself I could find things that were not shellfish (allergy).
The diving was the best part - Mayan Divers is a top-notch outfit, with the best instructures/guides. A special thank you to Janos, for the refresher for our daughter, and to our favourite guide - Sara....you are awesome!!!!! Thanks to the wonderful Captains and Crew who helped. Thank you Anja, for such a wonderful dive operation and crew.
I cannot wait till next year!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janeth T, Manager at Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review. We appreciate it. I´m so glad that we were able to make your trip so wonderful. We always want to meet the expectations of all our guests and I´m happy we were able to accomplish that goal during your stay. I will forward your review to all of our staff, including the Mayan Divers. For sure, you will see renovated rooms when you come back to visit us. It was a pleasure having you and your family as our guest.
Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort

Address: West Bay Beach, West Bay, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in West Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
#6 Family Hotel in West Bay
#8 Romantic Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant Roatan resort on the island's best beach, Mayan Princess Beach Resort features waterfront hotel accommodations and service. Just steps from your luxurious condo, a white sand beach leads to sparkling turquoise waters, perfect for scuba diving Roatan's spectacular undersea gardens. Nominated for Honduras' Leading Hotel Award in 2007-2010, this Roatan beach resort offers a variety of vacation activities, first-class amenities, and beachfront restaurant. Welcome to paradise and comfortable relaxation in a tropical oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayan Princess Beach Hotel West Bay
Hotel Mayan Princess Beach
Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.