We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing wedding week!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort to your Saves list
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
West Bay Beach, West Bay, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in West Bay
San Diego, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing wedding week!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

We had an amazing wedding week at Bananarama/Island Pearl with our family and close friends the week of April 10-17th. Last year, my then boyfriend and I had traveled to Roatan and stayed at Bananarama. We had such a great time that when we got engaged we knew we wanted to get married down there. From the moment I made the first contact with the resort, we were given the upmost level of service. Louise was our primary contact and we can't sing her praises enough. She was phenomenal in organizing our group of 20 people and went out of her way so many times to make sure it was a special week for everyone. For instance, in addition to the wedding we were celebrating 4 birthdays in our group. She helped line up a delicious home baked birthday cake for the evening of our celebration made by Jessica, one of the resort staff. This is just one of the many things she did for us.

The staff is amazing. Starting with the one of the owners, Guy. He is incredibly friendly and was always checking with all the guests to make sure everything was perfect. Housekeeping was great and kept things clean and sand free daily. Every day they would leave cute 'towel art' on the bed in the shape of all sorts of animals. The bartenders, waiters, and waitresses were super fun and had us laughing all week. Although we didn't go diving this time, we recognized the same professional staff from last year. They're not only extremely knowledgable and competent but also very friendly.

The beach is absolutely gorgeous! I've traveled around the world and the beach at Bananarama/Island Pearl in West Bay is one of the best I've ever seen. Crystal clear, warm ocean water with powder white sand beaches, coupled with a light tropical breeze makes this place paradise.

Our group of 20 stayed mostly at the Island Pearl Villas with one family at Bananarama in the King House. The way the villas are arranged together in their own private area made it an ideal family trip. We daily would get together in the middle at the picnic tables/hammocks or convene at one of the large decks at one of our villas. Everyone had ample room and the layout worked great for each family.

The location of this resort is ideal and made it the perfect location for us to venture out on a few excursions. We had our rehearsal dinner at the “Hole in the Wall” on the other side of the island. Louise lined up all the transportation for us with Omar and his excellent drivers for the day. It was such an incredibly fun adventure and a day no one will forget soon.

In sum, Bananarama/Island Pearl is the type of place that you can either book yourself solid with fun activities all day or chill out on a hammock with a good book. For us it was a dream wedding week in paradise! We can't say enough good things about the resort and staff and plan to go back down again as soon as we possibly can!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    197
    52
    19
    8
See reviews for
183
353
47
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

We had our destination wedding in Roatan in March, 2010. A lot of family and a ton of friends showed up. We literally took over Bananarama for a week. From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty. A very attentive and accomodating staff. Want something? Just ask. Actually...didn't even have to ask for the most part.

They arranged transportation. They have a very fun and knowledgeable dive staff that catered to our diving needs. Our rooms were clean, comfortable, and plenty cold when it got hot outside. The grounds are immaculate. They work very hard to make this resort super nice.

On the eve of our wedding, we discovered that our wedding fireworks were being held "hostage" at the local cusoms office. THE OWNER, Guy, personally went there and paid the "ransom" He just left them in our room and never said a word about what he had to do to get them. When we found out and went to pay him, he said it was his wedding present to us! Thanks Guy....that's super cool.

When you stay here, be sure to check out the Vintage Pearl Restaurant located on premises. It is an excellent fine dining restaraunt. Great food, great wines, great ambiance.

We give Bananarama and its' staff the highest recommendation.

Robert Smith and Jessica Ghazal 3-21-10.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, Utah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

This is the 2nd time I have traveled to Roatan and the 2nd time I have stayed at Bananarama. The rooms are very clean, the A/C is very cold, the beach is heavenly, the cleanliness of the resort or excellent, the nearby reef is amazing, and the staff are at your beckon call. Adolfo and Gabriel were willing to help and provide ideas and quick service at the bar. I talked with other return travelers and we all agreed this was one of the best locations on the island!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

Now is my turn to write back, before deciding about Bananarama, trip advisor was a big help, and all the excelent reviews I read on Bananarama are so true, but once you get there you realize how wonderful and special this place is.
We arrived on april 17th 2010, and stayed for 2 weeks, We arrived in a group of 31 people, friends and family. when you think of a destination wedding, you think of everything that could go wrong, but thanks to all the wonderful people in Bananarama that made our day so perfect!!! it exceeded our expectations of a perfect wedding in paradise.

Everything in Bananarama is wonderful, rooms are nice, comfortable, clean, good AC good bathrooms. the staff is amazing, went out of their way to make you feel at home.
the bar, kitchen, mades, dive shop, vintage pearl staff, and of course Guy!!! what a wonderful group of people.
you can't go wrong by choosing to stay in Bananarama, located in west bay the most beautiful beach in Roatan!!! is absolutely paradise!!!
they have fun activities for you everyday, live music, movie night, games, karaoke, new menus, good deals on drinks!!!
When you call the office, they will make sure you get what you need, Dennise, Louise, Guy, Mal, Marco, Martin, Sophia, carolina, Alberto, Tim, Angela, and so many more thank you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

In recent years, my family has traveled to Roatan several times. My parents, who are in their mid-50s, decided on their last trip to the island to stay at Bananarama. Needless to say, when the whole family returned less than a year later, there was no question where we would stay. The accommodations are excellent, as is the service (they even did our dishes for us!), and the adjoining restaurant and bar, which has one of the most inviting and friendly staffs around, offers a great mix of food and beverages at very reasonable prices. Bananarama is the perfect place for a tropical paradise get-away, without all the hustle and bustle of a huge resort.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire gal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

We went to Roatan for 5 days from the 19th April. What an amazing place it really is the undiscovered part of the Caribbean. Most of the time the beaches were either empty or very quiet, the sea is incredibly clear and the weather fantastic.
We did not stay at Bananarama but went there most days for something to eat and drink. The atmosphere was great and everyone staying there said how good it was. The food was excellent and the service of "Carolina" was superb. She was really friendly and nothing was too much trouble, by the end of our short stay she was a friend! We would definitely stay at Bananarama when we return to Roatan which we definitely will!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

My boyfriend and I discovered this jewel on our first visit to Roatan a number of years ago. Since then we have brought others down to enjoy the charm and enchantment of both West Bay on Roatan and the accommodations of Bananarama and Island Pearl.
We all agree that what separates this resort from others is the PEOPLE!
From pulling up our usual bar stools at the Thirsty Turtle, or going to grab a chaise to enjoy the beautiful beach, enjoying a sumptuous dinner at the Vintage Pearl Restaurant, or visiting the office to request a movie or use of the computer, our experience is consistent. The people are generous with their time, and genuine in their desire to share their beautiful piece of paradise!

If you visit before we can get down there the next time, please say “hello” to our friends and family…

Guy and Tina, the owners, Louise, reservations, our best and ever so helpful buddy Phil… and the Thirsty Turtle and Restaurant staff to include, Tim, Edwin, “Puma”, Carolina, Jessie, Jessica, and the safest driver on Roatan, our buddy Omar.
My apologies for omitting some very hard working staff by name… but thanks for always keeping the beach looking as awesome as it does, and our accommodations as
Comfortable as you do!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort

Address: West Bay Beach, West Bay, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in West Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in West Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in West Bay
#3 Family Hotel in West Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on West Bay Beach, our Roatan Eco Friendly Dive and Beach Front Resort is blessed with the turquoise waters of the Caribbean shaded under an amazing tropical canopy. We offer an island dream vacation for those who want to escape the stress of everyday life and relax Roatan Island style. We offer clean, comfortable and affordable rooms with a hammock on every porch and offer free breakfast, wifi, beach chairs, kayaks and smiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bananarama Beach And Dive Hotel West Bay
Bananarama Dive Hotel
Hotel Bananarama Dive
Bananarama Beach And Dive Resort Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.