We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort to your Saves list
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   West Bay Beach, West Bay, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Post Falls, ID
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Honeymoon Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2008

The staff at Banarama made us feel very comfortable and welcome during our stay there. The new restaurant was under construction at the time but the beachfront service and food we did have was excellent. Ther bar was fun in the evenings and the Monkeylalas they served us were excellent! The staff provided us with excellent advise on what to do and where to go while touring the island.

Although we did not dive while we were there, we did partake in snorkeling everyday and spending time on the beach and in the water. The reef was within swimming distance and the fish and underwater life was amazing. There is a dock located walking distance to the left of the resort that you can swim off of and in five minutes you are in exotic fish paradise.

We stayed in a Garden Suite and it was very comfortable and clean. We felt very safe and enjoyed our stay at the Banarama. Their prices are very affordable and accomodations were comfortable. We would recommend this resort to anyone.

  • Liked — The bar and beach were very close and the food was excellent.
  • Disliked — On a general note Roatan seemed to have a lot of mosquitos and sand fleas. Bring your spray and dress at night.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    209
    57
    20
    13
See reviews for
194
369
49
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
moesto,ca
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2008

My vacation to Roatan was enhanced all the greater by my stay at Bananarama. Its conveniently located right on the beach, and there is pleanty of shopping all around. A great deli around the corner, a bar 20 feet from my doorstep, hammocks, snorkle equipment, Dive lessons in the lobby, and sno cones, who could ask for more?? The rooms were always clean and the towels always stocked! All staff at bananarama were friendly and helpful. Also, there is a tourist booth on the property, so you can book all your island adventures with them or through the front desk. Roatan is a beautiful place with lots of fantastic things to offer, and I believe Bananarama is one of them!!! If I ever go back, I look forward to staying at the Banarama!!!

  • Liked — THe location and ammenities
  • Disliked — liked everything
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, MT
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2008

My husband and I went to Bananarama for our honeymoon and stayed there for 12 nights. While we were the we snorkled and both recieved our open water diviing certifications among many other things. The price to stay, eat, and drink were very reasonable and the views are fantastic. The onsite bar and restaurant had great food, delicious drinks, and awesome staff. The staff definitly made our stay that much better. We would highly recommend Bananarama and will definitly be going back!!

  • Liked — Cute and comfy bungalow
  • Disliked — Nothing actually!!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san luis obispo
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2008

I stayed at the Bananarama last June and it was everything I hoped for and more. It was my graduation present and I couldn't have imagined a better place to spend my Summer vacation. As a youner vistor I always had something to do. From the wonderful snorkeling which is conveniently right off the beach. To scuba diving in the 2nd biggest reef in the world with the great instructors. I went scuba diving and just walked out of my room into the water and the reef was right there. I had a blast! the weather was not that hot when I went. It has american owners that are super nice and invite u into the resort and give it a homey atmosphere. They are very knowlegdeable of where to go and what to do.
The room i stayed in was the one above the gift shop. i recommend that room if u want a spacious area. It sleeps twelve but 5 comfortably. It has a full kitchen and Fantastic views of the sunset, right on the water. The lush green vegetation surrounding the rooms makes it feel like paradise. I recommend this place to divers, snorklers, and just peole who want to relax. i am planning to go back hopefully next summer.

  • Liked — How friendly everyone was
  • Disliked — ?
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, WA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2008

Best vacation I ever had. Super fun snorkeling on the reef. Great boat ride around the island. Natural beauty unsurpassed. Gorgeous wild birds. Resort prices uncommonly reasonable so lots of bang for the buck! Everything you could possibly need is available at the resort. Staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. Wonderful food, cocktails and beer. I even went metal detecting on the beach with some interesting finds. Rustic air conditioned suite with deck among lush tropical trees. Crystal clear water and pristine white sands. Local village shopping. Diving classes and trips are their specialty. I enjoyed myself thoroughly, made new friends and plan to go again.

  • Liked — Resort staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2008

Bananarama is a quaint resort that enhances the change of pace that offers relaxation.The resort is located just yards away from the waters edge,reached through a court yard with coconut trees.Past a open air bar with a kitchen where a small but wonderful menu of coconut shrimp,chicken strips,a hamburger that could serve two.Wonderful Island drinks and at resonable prices.
The staff is friendly and excursions can be arranged for on location.Eager taxi drivers wait for fares.The water taxis are like sightseeing tours.
The evenings are a delight at the resort.Most nights there is live music in the courtyard.
We also dined at fine dining room ,Vintage Pearl.There we dressed up a little.
The resort is attractive to scuba divers because of the corral
reef.The Dive shop is on site and staff is ready to take you diving.However the clear warm water of the ocean are a delight for all.
Travel light and bring cool,light clothing.flip flops and a goob pair of walikng shoes.Dont forget the shopping bag and camera.
Lightladie

  • Liked — Great location
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida,ca
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2008

Bananarama had great customer service and was a great place to stay to experience the island. The food was good and the view was perfect, what more can you ask for? The beach is beautiful and clean and the sunsets are amazing. We ate at the Vintage Pearl Restaurant and it was to die for. I recommend everyone go, there is nothing else like it on the island. Overall I had a wonderful vacation while staying at Bananarama and plan to stay there again next time.

  • Liked — The atmoshpere
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort

Address: West Bay Beach, West Bay, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in West Bay
#3 Family Hotel in West Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on West Bay Beach, our Roatan Eco Friendly Dive and Beach Front Resort is blessed with the turquoise waters of the Caribbean shaded under an amazing tropical canopy. We offer an island dream vacation for those who want to escape the stress of everyday life and relax Roatan Island style. We offer clean, comfortable and affordable rooms with a hammock on every porch and offer free breakfast, wifi, beach chairs, kayaks and smiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bananarama Beach And Dive Hotel West Bay
Bananarama Dive Hotel
Hotel Bananarama Dive
Bananarama Beach And Dive Resort Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.