We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort

Save Saved
You added Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
West Bay Beach, West Bay, Honduras   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Random Sunshine Special
Ranked #3 of 11 hotels in West Bay
Sparks, Nevada, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Look at the review by jatuggle she wrote an amazing review about our trip. The place was was great. Food was wonderful and the waiter that served us and took care of us where excellent. (wilson, albert, victor awesome waiters)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    518
    185
    48
    17
    8
See reviews for
170
334
45
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The diving is definitely the highlight of staying with Bananarama. The dive shop staff are very friendly and make sure you have a great time. The room (garden cabana) was small, but cute, sitting by itself as a stand alone cabin. No room to unpack your bag, but just enough room to sleep and shower between having fun. We did a all inclusive package, but probably would just do breakfast and lunch next time because the small basic menu got pretty old after a week. We would definitely recommend this friendly, basic, charming dive resort.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
la ceiba
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I just left bananarama they stoled my $300 carrera sunglasses in the beach lockersection went to the front desk and all they said was, we're sorry. The staff had something to do... stop robbing the tourists. Shameful spent my money in a place like that.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Where to start!!!! My husband and I had 2 friends come and share this resort with us on June 22-July 1 2013. We had one of the owners villas that is located over the The Pearl restaurant. It is a large 1600 sq ft villa. We had Danery check us in and took us on a tour. She is a lot of fun!! We really enjoyed her!! She is absolutely excellent!! What a great person. Everyday we had an animal on our beds from the maids. That was really cool. We even had a monkey hanging from the ceiling that was really cute. Every morning we had the same waiter or waiters. We started with Wilson!!! Such an awesome man!! We enjoyed him. He was fun and really quick. No matter where we were sitting he found us and took absolutely excellent care of us!! I can't say enough about him. Then there was Albert!! Wow. He was awesome too. He was fun and took excellent care of us. We also had Alex and Victor who were our other waiters and they were absolutely wonderful. They all treated us like we were there friends. The thing that stuck out was they would find us on the beach (Wilson!!) and they brought us breakfast to our room!!(Wilson and Victor). What an amazing group of men!! The bartender let us make up our own drink, we called it shutthef....up and we added Edison and Wilson's name!! It was a great drink too. So we renamed it The Sonoran because we are from Sonora. It as great fun watching these men laugh at our drink name! We had fun with that. None of them would say it because they didn't cuss. Very professional. Then there was Elder. He set up our zip line and our snorkel boat tour. We gave him a hard time, especially my husband. He was great. He even took us out snorkeling the first day right there at the resort. The boat tour and snorkeling trip was great. The tour guide offered to take us on a car tour so we went on a tour with him the next day. That was the best ever. His name was Joshua. We went to a town called Punta Gorda. Met lots of wonderful people. The restaurant we went to was Garifuna Living Food. We had Machuca (thanks Albert for the spelling)!! That was amazing!!! This little town was just what we wanted to see. We wanted to see how the hondurians lived. We met the owner of the restaurant, Jeimy Nerriza Thomas. She spoke some English and was a lot of fun. She introduced us to her neice Jeiseny who is almost 2 years old. She needs surgery on her back to remove a tumor. She is not able to walk because of it. The surgery is only $3000 but it is taking them a long time to save the money since they don't make much. I have bunches of pictures of the place and the little girl. That trip pretty much made our week. We snorkeled ALOT!! We did not use their dive shop but we are thinking next time we go back we will. We also went to Jungle Top Zipline. That was so much fun!! This place is on their property and we assumed the family runs it. We had William Rivers who is 19 that was our guide. He was absolutely wonderful. First time on a zip line and I want to do it again and again. I am extremely afraid of heights too. Also, it was our 27th wedding anniversary. We ate mainly at the Thirsty Turtle. But we did try the Island Pearl restaurant. On our anniversary Robin and Jeff took care of us. We had an amazing steak, shrimp fettucine and a cake they had for us for our anniversary. It was an amazing night. I will never forget it. The food was absolutely excellent at these restaurants!! The pizza is amazing, especially the breakfast pizza they make on sunday mornings. We stayed 10 days and so we saw the crab races twice(I won a shirt and my husband won a banana split). We listened to their bands, played music trivia, fire dancers, movie night with POPCORN! The great thing that we knew about before we went was about the crab races that supports their efforts for the HIV/AIDS kids and moms called Familias Saludables. All the proceeds go to help them. The women can not breastfeed so they have to use formula. These women are working hard on teaching these women. They accept donations too. We took formula and some clothes, blankets. Next time we go one suitcase will be donated to just that cause. These women, Valerie and Jane helped the kids be able to go to school by buying their clothes and books and supplies for school because they can't afford to go because either the mom's have HIV/AIDs or the kids do. They are outcasted. Such a remarkable thing they are doing. If you go take stuff for them. We wish we would have taken school supplies too but now we know. Overall this resort is worth visiting again!! The water is clear and the sand is soft. In fact right in front of the resort is the best spot! And from what we heard they have the best food. We did try one other place on the beach to eat but we weren't impressed by the service or the food. The owner was really nice but their server we had was a young lady but she was not friendly or helpful at all. We did try the sandwich shop on the main street Hungry Munkey. Very good!!! Wonderful food and excellent service there!! We shopped at Penelope's. She was American. She also had jewelry from the Garifuna women so it was actually made on the island. Most of the stuff that the people on the beach try to sell you are not actually made by them. We found that out. So we bought quite a bit of stuff from Penelope's. So much to tell!!! If you are able to go visit this place!!! BUT if you go on a Wednesday you will run into the cruise ship craziness. So go on a trip or snorkel all day. When you leave you have to have $39.24 each person to leave the country. So put that money away as soon as you get there. Also, it is $25 roundtrip for the taxi to and from the airport so just know that going into it as well. Great trip!! Thank you Bananarama!!! Can't say enough great things about this place!! You guys are the bomb!! Hope we see all of you again soon!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This was by far the best vacation we have ever been on. My husband and I came to Bananarama for our anniversary trip. We came to Roatan on a cruise last year and fell in love with the island. We decided that this year this was our vacation location.

The staff of Bananarama is top notch. First, Sarah at the reception desk was incredible. She remembered our names from the second we checked in! She constantly greeted us and made sure we had everything we needed. We stayed in a private garden cabana. It was VERY clean, decorated nicely and was cozy for our romantic getaway. The best part about this cabana was the hammock in the front of the house. The rooms are not luxurious, but the point of Bananrama is to enjoy the resort not be in your room!

The beach here is nothing short of paradise. The beach staff would set up our chairs and brush off any sand that had accumulated. We didn't want to be in the sun all day so we set up our chairs in the Island Pearl area and it was perfect! It was like our own secluded beach!

The staff at The Thirsty Turtle was PHENOMENAL. Alex, Wilson, Carolina, and Alberto were always making sure we were taken care of and had everything we needed. They would bring drinks and food to our chairs and were always so kind and helpful. These people truly made us feel like we were family.

I cannot say anything bad about our trip to Bananarama. We stayed for 7 days and I wish we could have stayed for 7 more. I would HIGHLY recommend this resort to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway away from the hustle and bustle! We cannot wait to return to this wonderful place!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemet, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The best vacation EVER!
If you want tile, stucco, manicured plants and aloof staff; don't stay here.
If you want clean rooms, good food, great diving and to be made to feel like you're the center of attention at the home of a favorite relative; this is your home away from home.
Starting with Jane who dealt with three of us trying to each organize the trip. I'm amazed at how well she kept things sorted.
Steve picked us at the airport and gave us a lot of options for activities on non-dive days.
Then Sara, Silvi and Brittney in reception got us settled in and were very patient all week each time we locked ourselves out of our room.
Carolina served us lunch. She made us feel like long lost family and went out of her way to make us feel at home. All week she met our special requests for things not on the restaurant or bar menus.
Victor was also amazing. Sorry Victor, if it wasn't for Carolina you would have been the best waiter ever. She's a hard act to follow.

Now the dive shop.
If you want cattle boats and canned diving; don't use these guys.
If you want diving tailored to your interests, small dive groups and an experienced, helpful crew; look no further.
Zoe, thanks for your wonderful work with the kids and for letting us grandparents hang around and photograph your class.
Martin, you always know where to find the good stuff. The pace of the dives were perfect for us.
Manual, thanks for always having the boat near and for dragging me out of the water when I was feeling to lazy to climb the ladder with my gear still on.

And last but not least, housekeeping. It was great to return after a morning diving to a sparkling room, fresh towels and all the sand gone. The sculpted folding of the towels was amazing. They added an extra feeling of someone having gone out of their way to make us feel special.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms. Upstairs gives you a better breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Bananarama was the perfect place to stay. Delicious food, beautiful beach, fantastic snorkeling, nightly entertainment and great service sum up our stay. Brittney, Sarah, and Silvi in the office were extremely helpful and cheerful. Julio was great at scheduling excursions without pushing us to do anything extra. Loved everything about our week long stay. Highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: The Villas are right on the beach and a great place to stay. Close to the action yet far enough awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort

Address: West Bay Beach, West Bay, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in West Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in West Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in West Bay
#3 Family Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on West Bay Beach, our Roatan Eco Friendly Dive and Beach Front Resort is blessed with the turquoise waters of the Caribbean shaded under an amazing tropical canopy. We offer an island dream vacation for those who want to escape the stress of everyday life and relax Roatan Island style. We offer clean, comfortable and affordable rooms with a hammock on every porch and offer free breakfast, wifi, beach chairs, kayaks and smiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Otel so you can book your Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bananarama Beach And Dive Hotel West Bay
Bananarama Dive Hotel
Hotel Bananarama Dive
Bananarama Beach And Dive Resort Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.